We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view from the bedroom window!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fort D'Acre Reserve
Ranked #5 of 26 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a view from the bedroom window!”
Reviewed 13 May 2011

A wonderful lodge,comfortable and very well equipped. Lammy made us very welcome and looked after our every need. The setting is beautiful with views over the Great Fish River Mouth and the game reserve. A good base for exploring the area or just relaxing with the odd trip to the beach lapa, a clamber over the dunes down onto a huge expanse of fine golden sand.
Pool available although we didn't use it. Breakfast excellent. A very relaxing place to stay.
Good advice on where to visit in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillandhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
39
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We stayed over at Fort D'Acre for only only one night but wish it could have been more! We had the whole of the Hunting Lodge to ourselves, which is not unusual, and were able to make ourselves at home. Mel very kindly offered to make a spaghetti bolognese for us so that we didn't have to go out that evening and we had a lovely relaxing time. Caught up on all our emails - there is wifi which was an added benefit . We both slept well and had a beautiful breakfast before we left. We had just travelled down from the Game Reserve, Hluhluwe/Imfolozi north of Durban, so didn't feel the necessity to go out on a Game Drive but I'm sure it would have been great fun. Altogether a wonderful stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

What a wonderful place we actually stayed on an extra 2 days,wonderful location only downside was the nearby road,but that really is not an issue ,excellent service from Lammie nothing too much trouble who rang local restaurants to book for us and recommended places to visit etc. Lovely clean rooms , the maid Slyvia came in every day and cleaned, if we made ourselves a drink the cups , glasses were washed and put away as by magic. In one word wonderful, hope to go 2011 for 2weeks.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Fort d'Acre exceeded our expectations in all respects. What's so great about it?
1. The lodge is beautifully situated with 3/4 rooms having views towards the Great Fish river mouth and over the reserve. Room size and ensuite were far bigger than I had expected. Servicing of rooms was top class.
2. The beach is fabulous. We are talking white sand and dunes, we are talking deserted, private, we are talking one beach house which belongs to Fort d'Acre. We are talking the stuff of dreams.
3. What a delightful change to make your safari on the back of a horse, and end up riding on the beach. The horses live in the reserve and the reserve animals know them, know their smell. That means you can ride close to rhino, giraffe, kudu, zebra, even buffalo (with our guide watching very carefully), but of course no predators.
4. This is a working farm, and feels like it. You feel part of the family. Marlow, Oscar, and Morris (the dogs) provide a great welcome. Breakfasts were excellent. Need some laundry doing- fine at no extra cost.
5. Mel can advise on excellent local restaurants, which again offer great value.
6. There is a lovely pool in the garden.
We spent 4 weeks in South Africa, staying at 11 locations. Fort d'Acre was one of the best, and certainly the best value. I made only one mistake in planning tghis vacation- and that was to spend only 2 nights here- it should have been at least 4.
Given what is on offer the price is almost unbelievable- I told Mel as much. And I don't mean +20%, at double the cost it would still be excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnwalker1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
1.4 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
6.9 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
17.0 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kowie River Guest House
Kowie River Guest House
#1 of 26 in Port Alfred
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.8 mi away
A Villa de Mer
A Villa de Mer
#2 of 26 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort D'Acre Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort D'Acre Reserve

Property: Fort D'Acre Reserve
Address: Fish River Mouth, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort D'Acre Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort D' Acre is an exclusive thatched safari lodge situated at the mouth of the Great Fish River, 25km. From Port Alfred. With sweeping views of bush and coastline it invites the visitor to explore the contrasting habitats. Game drives into the reserve offer opportunities to view 19 different species including Cape Buffalo and giraffe. Relax in our beautiful indigenous garden with a large pool or at our private beach lapa with exclusive access to a secluded beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fort D'Acre Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing