We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever”
Review of A Villa de Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Villa de Mer
Ranked #3 of 26 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best Ever”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed upstairs with our own balcony and the best sea views ever. Roomy and luxurious, everything was spotless. A good idea was having block-out curtains as we were able to sleep a little later.......not that we really wanted to - the beach was calling! Wonderful breakfasts with good strong coffee and lots of attention. We followed Memory's suggestions on what to do and where to eat in the area and had a thoroughly good break.
Thanks to her and her staff, we will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Upstairs for a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lizzanpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    33
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
83
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The staff at villa de mer were helpfull and super friendly, but still able to give me the quite time I needed.
Even going the extra mile and packing me a lunch, the one day it was really apreciated.

Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank charlie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

If you travel to Port Alfred, a stay at Villa de Mer is a must! Lovely big rooms, clean and light, beautiful courtyard to relax at the pool, balconies to sit on and enjoy the view.Situated next to the sea is another plus. If you are a breakfast person you get the best breakfasts EVER! Memory and her staff are organized in such a kind, great way, help wherever possible, give advice, book you into restaurants, golf and try to read your wishes from your eyes. We had the most wonderful, happy time with them and can hardly wait to return if possible next year. Thank you, Memory, and the kind staff for making our holiday such a happy event. Maya

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
It is always a pleasure to welcome such a lovely couple back to A Villa de Mer.
Many thanks for your kind words. It is much appreciated and makes it worth getting up in the morning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fouriesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Port Alfred without a booking. We were glad to find a room at Villa de Mer. The room was very clean and nicely furnished, but the bathroom was very small. The only problem in the room are the very thin white curtains that do not block the light at all. So even at 2am we could see perfectly well in the room. That might need to be looked into...
Another thing that surprised me is that the maids were doing the ironing and folding sheets in the downstairs lounge. The linen was also packed on the chairs. Surely they should have a laundry were to do this?
Breakfast was very nice.
In conclusion a good place to stay over night or on business, but not for a longer stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Very nice B&B with 5 Star hospitality. You will not be disappointed. A must for anyone travelling along the coast. We had an incredibly warm reception, true South African style. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank esceepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

A really good B&B on the road opposite the beach. Clean, well appointed rooms with enough hangars in the cupboards, friendly discreet service staff. I loved the open, light filled design of the house and the beautifully kept pool. The breakfast was delicious and freshly made to order and the welcome was friendly and informative. I'll definitely be back when next I'm in Port alfred.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cindy092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My 5 year old son and I recently stayed at Villa de Mer (our family's second visit) for 5 days while my mom was recovering after a knee op. I was most impressed by the warm manner in which every guest was welcomed and the caring attitude of the hostesses to ensure that each guest's needs where looked after. In my case, there was always an extra pair of eyes to ensure that my busy little boy would not wander off to the pool without my knowledge! The room was perfect for a busy little one without unnecessary clutter and objects that could easily break. Villa de Mer deserves it's 4 star rating.....they could even ensure continued water supply from their rain tanks during a water crisis in the area! The clean amenities and friendly atmosphere will ensure that we will make Villa de Mer our base during a next visit to PA!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Reinnette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
1.2 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
337 reviews
6.0 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
292 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 26 in Port Alfred
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 26 in Port Alfred
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Villa de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Villa de Mer

Property: A Villa de Mer
Address: 22 West Beach Drive, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — A Villa de Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Villa de Mer Guest House is situated on the beachfront in Port Alfred, South Africa and is in a class of its own. Established in 1996, this modern Mediterranean style Guest House has been awarded four stars by the Tourism Grading Council and, rated according to the high parameters set by the AA of South Africa, as Superior grading.A Villa de Mer is a stylish, spacious and upmarket Guest House and a haven to relax. Located opposite the beach, with panoramic views of the Indian ocean, this guest house comprises of six en-suite bedrooms, with 19 channels DSTV and, offers luxurious accommodation at affordable prices. The wide corridors, large upper lounge that leads onto a balcony with stunning sea views and pristine white beaches, library and reading room downstairs overlooking the sheltered swimming pool, A Villa de Mer creates an atmosphere of tranquility and peace. The spacious TV lounge offers a 19 channel DSTV Bouquet and DVD Player. FREE WI-FI. You can relax and enjoy sundowners on the balcony whilst taking in the beautiful views over the Indian ocean. Fall asleep to the smell and sound of waves breaking on the beach. Cross the quiet road and walk the endless white beaches.We offer comfortable home-from-home accommodation. Enjoy the spacious and unpretentious setting of A Villa de Mer. Whether on business or holiday, A Villa de Mer offers its own brand of local hospitality and is a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday living. It is the ideal place to simply relax or to use as a base from which to explore the many sights of Port Alfred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your A Villa de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing