We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Villa de Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Villa de Mer
Ranked #3 of 25 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have stayed here many times over the past 4 years and have always had the most wonderful service. Rooms are spotless, bedding and linen are superb, and the service from Memory, Magda and staff has always been exemplary. A further bonus:- They have an emergency water supply which is an absolute must in Port Alfred!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrovskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    29
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
77
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had such a lovely time the Villa de Mer, I would definitely recommend it to others. The rooms are absolutely stunning, breakfast was amazing staff was friendly and very helpful. We will definitely visit again, we will make it our guest house every time we visit Port Alfred.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pumeza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The accommodation was great - I've stayed in two rooms and have seen the others - they're all spacious with quality finishes. Quality linen and bedding!
The service was very friendly and professional. Magda, the hostess was kind enough to serve us breakfast at 6h30.
Good location, close to the beach.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is fantastic !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Villa de Mer was absolutely fantastic. It was exceptionally clean and very peaceful. I stayed for 5 nights and slept like a baby on the most comfortable bed and best duvet i have ever slept under. The rooms are spacious as is the bathroom. Breakfasts were lovely as were the odd suppers i had there. ALL the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. I would recommend it to anyone want a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chimia001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at A Villa de Mer, our second visit to this guesthouse. Memory and her staff were fantastic, once again, and go out of their way to make one feel comfortable. We will certainly stay at A Villa de Mer again when next in Port Alfred.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent two nights at A Villa de Mer on our way from Durban to Port Elizabeth.
The staff were wonderful - friendly and helpful and most accommodating.

Our room had a great view of the sea and was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
Breakfast was great - a fruit platter followed by a choice of breakfast which changed each day.

It was a two minute walk to the beach which is magnificent.

If you are passing through Port Alfred, make this your B & B of preference!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

A beautiful, immaculately kept, contemporary property situated a stone's throw from the beach. Everything throughout this property is of top quality, the decor, the furnishings and eye-catching artworks.

Memory, our host, was without doubt or exaggeration the very best of all those we met during our two month tour of S.Africa. A truly fantastic lady who made our stay as good as it possibly could have been.

It would be wrong to leave a review without particular mention of the exceptional breakfasts we were served in the spacious, airy dinning room, alongside the pool area. The presentation, quality and service were all 5 star.

Thanks Memory for a great stay.
Jill & Chris

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.2 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
6.0 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
1.0 mi away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 25 in Port Alfred
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Villa de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Villa de Mer

Property: A Villa de Mer
Address: 22 West Beach Drive, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — A Villa de Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Villa de Mer Guest House is situated on the beachfront in Port Alfred, South Africa and is in a class of its own. Established in 1996, this modern Mediterranean style Guest House has been awarded four stars by the Tourism Grading Council and, rated according to the high parameters set by the AA of South Africa, as Superior grading.A Villa de Mer is a stylish, spacious and upmarket Guest House and a haven to relax. Located opposite the beach, with panoramic views of the Indian ocean, this guest house comprises of six en-suite bedrooms, with 19 channels DSTV and, offers luxurious accommodation at affordable prices. The wide corridors, large upper lounge that leads onto a balcony with stunning sea views and pristine white beaches, library and reading room downstairs overlooking the sheltered swimming pool, A Villa de Mer creates an atmosphere of tranquility and peace. The spacious TV lounge offers a 19 channel DSTV Bouquet and DVD Player. FREE WI-FI. You can relax and enjoy sundowners on the balcony whilst taking in the beautiful views over the Indian ocean. Fall asleep to the smell and sound of waves breaking on the beach. Cross the quiet road and walk the endless white beaches.We offer comfortable home-from-home accommodation. Enjoy the spacious and unpretentious setting of A Villa de Mer. Whether on business or holiday, A Villa de Mer offers its own brand of local hospitality and is a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday living. It is the ideal place to simply relax or to use as a base from which to explore the many sights of Port Alfred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your A Villa de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing