We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of MyPond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MyPond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I booked an evening at MyPond for my birthday in November. The hotel is picture perfect and right on the river resulting in a stunning view. There was a wedding on the day of our arrival, and the set up outside looked beautiful. Despite the festivities we wern't inconvenienced by any noise.

The staff were very pleasant and the room was okay. The location was perfect as we made our way to Barmuda, a restaurant/pub which was a few steps away. Also found a lovely restuarant - the Brewery 1 min drive away.

Great getaway!

Room Tip: We were in a normal room, but snuck a peak into one of the suites which looked stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natelie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Natalie,

First off, happy birthday for the weekend you were with us. Although is was your birthday, you were kind enough to gift us with this review and we thank you for that.

I'm glad you had a pleasant stay and I will pass your comments on to the team.

Kind Regards,

Thulani Xhali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

The MyPond hotel in Port Alfred is an ideal venue for a single or 2 day conference for medium sized groups.
The hotel is staffed by students from the local Stendon hospitality school - a model which clearly is working very well. The service is courteous, prompt and nothing seems to be a problem. Every request was handled with a smile and friendly assistance.
The food at lunch was delicious and the weather was perfect for eating outside alongside the river.
The coffee at arrival and breaks is freshly brewed and dispensed and really good for hotel coffee.
The conference room has a view over the river and has a built in projector and 2 large air conditioners. A built in PA system is also available (which is needed when the aircons are running at full speed).
A minor irritation is the limited and cramped bathroom facilities - especially at breaks.

Well done and we will use this venue again.

Room Tip: Although I did not sleep at the hotel, the rooms that look out over the river will give a lovely vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJD_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear CJD_D,

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are committed to our guests comfort and this type of feedback is always a pleasure to pass on to the of the team.

I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Thulani Xhali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Unaware of the structure of the hotel (ie students running the establishment), we received great service from the moment we set foot in the hotel. The gentelman at front desk was attentive to our every need and made sure our stay was pleasant. Even at front desk, he was able to upsell the facilities of the hotel (restaurant, bar, spa, etc). The hotel is spotless, the room was clean and fresh and the aspect of environmental friendliness added so much more to the experience. Friendly staff. Unfortunately, we didn't have much of a view but the parking lot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the riverside have more sunlight for winter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anathi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Anathi,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write such wonderful words about MyPond Hotel. We'll certainly ensure that your sentiments are shared with all involved.

Should you be in the area again, I trust you'll consider us for your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Thulani Xhali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We came across MyPond Hotel quite by accident while travelling from Cape Town to Joburg through the Garden route. We were greeted by very friendly staff who welcomed us and made sure that we had everything that we required. The rooms are well furnished and very comfortable, fixtures and fittings are top quality. The location by the estuary is beautiful, allowing us to sit by the waterside enjoying sundowners and watching the local boating enthusiasts pass by. The Hotel restaurant was first class and the service was to match.
An excellent stay and we would highly recommend to anyone passing by this sleepy little town.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the estuary would have been ideal, but all the other rooms are more than satisfacto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Tony,

Thank for choosing MyPond Hotel, if only by chance and I'm glad that we could meet your expectations. Your feedback is very encouraging and I will relay it to the team .

I trust the remainder of your trip was as pleasant and should you come past our area again, I hope you will afford us the opportunity to host you.

Kind Regards,
Thulani Xhali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed at the hotel during the weekend of 19 to 21 July 2013.

When I arrived at the hotel, I was given a suite with a river view at the price of a standard room.

Before my stay I read about the water problems at the hotel. The hotel does have water problems, but that is no reason not to visit the hotel.

Service was great, staff friendly and very nice room with coffee and free wi-fi. Great location near pubs and restaurants.

Also had dinner at the hotel. Food is good, wine list not so good.

Will most certainly go back.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank braets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Mr Braets,

Thank you so much of taking the time out to write and for your kind words. I'm pleased you enjoyed you stay with us and that you would come back.

I will most certainly pass your sentiments on to the Team who will undoubtably find your review encouraging.

I also look forward to your next visit when we pick pick your brain about your thoughts on the wine list over a glass of cab.

Once again, thank you!

Kind Regards,

Thulani Xhali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We deliberately aimed to stay at My Pond to experience how a Dutch based hospitality institute went about the process of providing on the job training for its South African students. The staff, all between first year and third year university student age, were managed by a small team of tutors who, throughout our stay were completely unobtrusive. Needless to say, there was no shortage of enthusiasm or lack of attention and we found the overall experience to be very enjoyable. The students were willing to interact with clients who expressed interest in the structure and content of the hospitality course they were undertaking. The compensation to clients for being a part of the education of others is, exceptional value for money and a professional head chef who ensures that all food is to the highest standard. The ensuite rooms and common areas of the hotel are all crisp, clean, uncluttered and very tastefully finished with ornamentation. It would be a little disconcerting for a guest to just turn up, not knowing the basis on which My Pond delivers its client service. We guess that the close service attention together with the youthful exuberance might be a little overwhelming for the unaware!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FulmerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Mr Fulmer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and include such favorable comments in your review. Woking with youth, one may not fully appreciate how much positive reinforcement does to motivate spirits and for this I will ensure that your sentiments are passed on.

I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and should you revisit the area, it would be our pleasure to host you again.

Kind Regards,

Thulani Xhali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel is most definitely a little gem on the Kowie River! We were welcomed by a stunning, modern reception area and the hugest smiles from the reception staff. Every staff member we encountered, down to cleaning staff, was friendly and polite and went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The rooms are contemporary, beautifully decorated and have everything you need in them. (Mini-fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, flatscreen TV's, aircon) My husband was particularly pleased with the ipod docking station and the interchangeable shower head!
The dining area is crisp, clean and so relaxing overlooking the Kowie River. Breakfast is a buffet style continental breakfast and then also an Ala-carte menu to choose from. And service, once again, impeccable! I will definitely be visiting again and recommending this hotel to all family, friends and clients.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChantelleS98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.9 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
311 reviews
16.1 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
0.6 mi away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 27 in Port Alfred
170 reviews
1.2 mi away
A Villa de Mer
A Villa de Mer
#3 of 27 in Port Alfred
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MyPond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MyPond Hotel

Address: 33 Van Der Riet Street, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: £30 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MyPond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MyPond Hotel is a beautiful 4 star boutique hotel situated at the Kowie river bank in Port Alfred. MyPond is operated by one of the most prestigious Hotel Management Schools on the African continent: Stenden South Africa. As a guest you may therefore expect excellent service standards and warm and dedicated hospitality in a beautiful setting. The emphasis of the accommodation is on comfortable, affordable luxury, with stunning, spacious river-view suites, family rooms (approx 50 m²) and classic rooms (approx 25 m²). The rooms are all en-suite, air-conditioned, with LCD televisions (10 satellite channels), telephones, universal plug points, safe, fridge and tea/coffee facilities. The Suites are equipped with I-Pod docking station radios, heated towel rails and sleeper couches. There is wheelchair access to all our rooms (via lift in the outer wing) and a full wheelchair friendly toilet in our lobby. Our award winning in-house restaurant Lily offers a contemporary menu selection with a wide variety of South African cuisine. As a guest you can look forward to a relaxed and welcoming dining atmosphere on the banks of the Kowie River. Choose from our extensive wine selection of top South African wines to compliment your meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your MyPond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing