We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dockside Guest House
Ranked #6 of 25 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
King William's Town
1 review
“What a Break”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Thank you!!! Pat and staff of Dockside Guest House. we never felt that we are away from home, your place is warm, friendly and very welcoming. The views are stunning and Dockside is situated perfectly central to all amenities, as first time visitors to Port Alfred we found our way around quiet comfortably without the need for gps. Thank you once again, will definitely be back!!! (thank you Graham for the cruise!!!)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you - it was lovely having you to stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    18
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
36
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Excellent views of the port alfred marina, could lie in bed and watch the world go by. Breakfast is excellent value for money and Pat and Des made us feel like part of the family. Wish I could have stayed there forever. Will be back for Easter.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2013

On an extended holiday last year my wife and I travelled from Cape Town along the Garden Route and through the Karoo to Johannesburg. We have stayed before and again received a warm welcome from Des and Pat. We were very happy with our spacious room with en suite bathroom. We even had our own parking and entrance.
We particularly liked sitting on our own verandah with a glass of wine and enjoying the sunset with views of the Marina and the west bank of the Kowie.
Lovely and clean, imaginative decor, super breakfast and most attentive hosts! We'll be back, and thanks to you both.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Enanbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I have stayed at Dockside twice recently and both stays were excellent. The welcome was warm and friendly, the views over the harbour were great as were the walks along the beach. Des and Pat made us feel at home straight away. Pat knows everything about the local area and Des cooks a mean breakfast. First rate, certainly coming back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superspur65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My wife and I recently (December '12) stayed at Dockside for 3 nights. The welcome was warm and the stay was fabulous. The room was great with views of the Marina. Drinks on the patio after a wonderful day on the beach was the crowning glory. Des must have worked at Sun City for many years to perfect such a wonderful break. Thanks guys. We will be back soon.
Chris and Diana Jacobs

Room Tip: All rooms face the marina. All good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dockside in September and thoroughly enjoyed the views over the harbour and the river. The breakfasts are really scrumptious with a choice of cereals, fruit salad and yoghourts, a cooked breakfast with scrumptious potatoe cakes, sausage, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes and a choice of eggs - plus of course toast with homemade preserves and coffee plus orange juice. The atmosphere is friendly and Pat and Des go out of their way to ensure that you enjoy your stay and Port Alfred, recommending things to do, perhaps a cruise on the river with Graham, suggesting different restaurants and answering any questions you may have. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The harbour room is the best with a magnificient view, plus a walk through dressing area and massive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneandDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graaff-Reinet, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I've stayed at Dockside for 10 days. Wonderfull views of the harbour and Port Alfred, the view was even better at night.
The rooms are spacious and clean. Pat and Des gave me a warm welcome and let you feel at home. Dockside is an excellent guesthouse to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thank you. It was lovely having you here and sharing our little piece of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.4 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
0.2 mi away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 25 in Port Alfred
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kowie River Guest House
Kowie River Guest House
#1 of 25 in Port Alfred
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Guest House

Property: Dockside Guest House
Address: 1 Caxton Lane | East Bank, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dockside Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dockside Guest House is situated directly across the picturesque small boat harbour on the East Bank of beautiful Port Alfred, in the Eastern Cape - situated midway – exactly 150km between the cities of East London and Port Elizabeth.Dockside Guest House is managed by owners Des and Pat Riggien, and you will experience warm and friendly hospitality throughout your stay. We measure our success since we opened by the high return rate of our guests, time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dockside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing