We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dockside Guest House
Ranked #6 of 27 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Our room was more like a suite in a 5 star hotel, great view across the marina. Breakfast was perfect. This really is a little gem. The hosts were great company and gave us good advice on places to visit and to eat out.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you for your review. It was lovely having you to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

Dockside is a beautiful guest house with an outstanding view of the pretty marina and harbour at Port Alfred. Our room was very large and comfortable with a kingsize bed, easy chairs, lovely bathroom, huge picture window and direct access to a spacious and relaxing patio. Travellers should be aware that there is some traffic noise from the road below the guesthouse, but the pluses far outweigh any negative and the property is extremely well located for all amenities and attractions. Pat and Des are lovely, welcoming hosts and Pat went out of her way to help us with any arrangements we wished to make and in recommending sights to see and excellent restaurants. She is extremely knowledgeable about the area and takes a sincere interest in her guests having a lovely stay. Breakfasts are outstanding, with a wide variety of freshly prepared and delicious dishes. Guests enjoy a great deal of privacy and yet help is always at hand if needed. All in all an excellent and professional bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

It was lovely having you to spend time in our lovely part of the world. Thank you for the kind words - we enjoyed having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Our room at Dockside was rather a suite with a very comfortable king sided bed, a couple of lounge chairs and a massive bathroom with corner bathtub. We also had a big patio overlooking the harbour. Everything was very tastefully furnished and clean. The only little downside is that it is facing the street where not just cars but also trucks go through. So if you have a light sleep you cant leave the window open at night.

Pat made us a very nice and yummy breakfast in the morning which we shared with the other guests chatting away in the big communal lounge room. There were veggie options like fried tomatoes, potatoes and eggplan along with bacon, toast with jam, juice, coffee or tee and we could choose what type of eggs we would like.

The hosts were also very helpful in giving recommendations for dinner and drinks and what to do around town. We had some nice chats and interesting talks. Just what you would expect from a B'n B. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planetbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Hi Barbara and Steve

Thank you so much for selection us and we enjoyed your company. Thank you very much for the wonderful review. Trust you had an lovely time during the rest of your holday.

Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Thank you!!! Pat and staff of Dockside Guest House. we never felt that we are away from home, your place is warm, friendly and very welcoming. The views are stunning and Dockside is situated perfectly central to all amenities, as first time visitors to Port Alfred we found our way around quiet comfortably without the need for gps. Thank you once again, will definitely be back!!! (thank you Graham for the cruise!!!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you - it was lovely having you to stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Excellent views of the port alfred marina, could lie in bed and watch the world go by. Breakfast is excellent value for money and Pat and Des made us feel like part of the family. Wish I could have stayed there forever. Will be back for Easter.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

On an extended holiday last year my wife and I travelled from Cape Town along the Garden Route and through the Karoo to Johannesburg. We have stayed before and again received a warm welcome from Des and Pat. We were very happy with our spacious room with en suite bathroom. We even had our own parking and entrance.
We particularly liked sitting on our own verandah with a glass of wine and enjoying the sunset with views of the Marina and the west bank of the Kowie.
Lovely and clean, imaginative decor, super breakfast and most attentive hosts! We'll be back, and thanks to you both.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Enanbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I have stayed at Dockside twice recently and both stays were excellent. The welcome was warm and friendly, the views over the harbour were great as were the walks along the beach. Des and Pat made us feel at home straight away. Pat knows everything about the local area and Des cooks a mean breakfast. First rate, certainly coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superspur65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.2 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 5 in Port Alfred
343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Alfred
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 5 in Port Alfred
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
0.2 mi away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 27 in Port Alfred
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#7 of 27 in Port Alfred
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Guest House

Address: 1 Caxton Lane | East Bank, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range: £47 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dockside Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dockside Guest House is situated directly across the picturesque small boat harbour on the East Bank of beautiful Port Alfred, in the Eastern Cape - situated midway – exactly 150km between the cities of East London and Port Elizabeth.Dockside Guest House is managed by owners Des and Pat Riggien, and you will experience warm and friendly hospitality throughout your stay. We measure our success since we opened by the high return rate of our guests, time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dockside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing