We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$803
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$755
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
49
42
9
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
42
9
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housethe kitchen staffexcellent servicenight stayenjoyed our stayfriends and familythank you so muchevery morningtop classthe riverleoportaccommodationnoyspecialsamenitiesmanageress
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Royal , rooms are neat and very confortable , staff pleasant and professional. We spent time there in Feb and I will definatelly refer the Royal to friends and family. We will definatelly return in the future. Natasha thanks for the lovely stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tenahead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We were given a lovely spacious room with windows on 3 sides and views of the sea and river beyond the roofs below. We enjoyed the 'bedtime stories' of local tales that were left on the bedside tables. The breakfast was beautifully presented (again, great attention to detail) and delicious. The staff were friendly, interesting and very helpful. A good find.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed nice but not all had views. There are lots of stairs so if mobility is an issue make sure you tell them.
Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Hayhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

As the manager of The Royal Guest House I would like to offer our sincere apologies to the MeierCS couple. It is most unfortunate when a guest departs without informing management that they were unhappy with their accommodation but then go and post it on a public website, not giving us a chance to make amends. Stained linen is unacceptable and had I been aware of this I would've made sure that this was fixed immediately. As for the bathroom, walk-in guests are always shown the room first - so if the bathroom size was an issue I would've been able to offer you a luxury room which has a bigger en-suite bathroom with corner style bath and shower facilities. We will gladly consider giving you a complimentary stay as compensation for your unfortunate experience. Please contact me directly to discuss this.
Kind regards,
Natasha Haller,
(Proudly) Manager of The Royal Guest House.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsNatashaHaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Me and my family stayed there for a whole week. We had a really great time. You would be amazed by the view. its such a unique hotel. really loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Location was amazing. Me and my wife had a really great time there while we were in South Africa. We stayed almost a week. We loved it. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews