We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”
Review of Royal Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Guest House
Ranked #8 of 26 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Gonubie, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I did expect more as the Guest House is rated with four stars. (Some confusion there, as all the advertising boasts 4 stars, the plaque outside the Guest House has one). In my opinion, the establishment should be no more than one star.

We stayed in room 1 and found it to be very average, with various maintenance issues in the bathroom (toilet seat broken, shower door stuck and not closing properly, shower head spraying the ceiling, bath plug not fixed to bath). The towels were truly horrible, resembling sandpaper, and very painful to use.
The room itself was spacious, with aircon, DSTV selected, hairdryer, radio (great!), bar fridge (still water was open and half empty - No!) coffee/tea available (not refilled on the second day) and a safe. Unfortunately the bathroom window opens onto the patio/pool area, and is very awkward to use when other guests are around.
The room had no noteworthy view, except a glimpse of the marina through the bathroom window.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and deserves a thumbs up.

Will I stay there again? Definitely not, a very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not in the main house, as it can get noisy with other visitors and staff movi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieDeKock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca G, General Manager at Royal Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Good day Melanie

Firstly I would like to thank you for the feedback as it is always valued.
We are in fact a 4 star establishment and the star you saw on the plaque outside is the SA tourism gradings logo.

I did realize on your check in that you were disappointed as you asked if we had another entrance because you were not happy with the stairs and unhappy with not having a view as you phoned us when you went out for supper that night. As said via telephone unfortunately we were unable to move you as we had a full house of guests that evening and our executive rooms were specifically booked and paid for. I do however want to apologize if you expected a room with a view.

I took note of your feedback and will be using it towards bettering the Royal Guest house.

Kindest Regards
Bianca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    36
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
30
36
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were warmly welcomed by Rosemary and shown to our rooms. The room did not have a view but the views from the deck were stunning. The breakfasts were grean and nothing was too much trouble from either Rosemary or Natasha. Thoroughly enjoyed my 3 night stay at the Royal Guest House.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrbeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The Royal Guest House in Port Alfred is conveniently located not far from East Beach. It is within walking distance of the new marina. My room was on the lower level. It had no views to speak of, but the room was lovely and large, with a very ample corner bath/shower room. The outside temperatures were in the mid 30s and the air conditioning kept up fine. The housekeeping was perfect. Breakfast was all right -- much better when they offered menu service, less so with the breakfast buffet on my last morning (there was next to no food left at 7.30 am, there was no brown bread, and the butter and jams I had had on my table the other days were nowhere to be seen on any of the tables). I didn't say anything -- partly because I shouldn't have had to, but also because I was willing to make do with what was there. That said, I was in the dining area for a good half hour and no one ever bothered to check under the lids of the buffet items. Apart from that, though, this was a very comfortable, clean establishment. Recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for one of the rooms on the higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Tucked away on the side of the Kowie river in Port Alfred is a delightful Guest lodge that welcomes you with open arms. The views from the decks are stunning and the rooms clean and well presented. All facilities are in good working order and comfort and cleanliness comes first. The hearty breakfast prepared by the smiling staff gives you a start to a day spent outdoors in this charming little fishing village. I can recommend this Bed and Breakfast to all couples looking for a lovely weekend away from the hustle and bustle of city madness.

Room Tip: The luxury rooms are larger and we certainly enjoyed our noise free stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were warmly welcomed both when we arrived and later in the evening, the night watchman was very pleasant and opened up for us. Our breakfast was excellant and very nicely presented,
we will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Friendly staff. Attempt to meet individual needs. Have been staying there for short visits for a number of years. There have been problems before with shorting of shaver plug and kettle not automatically switching off, but seem to have been sorte dout.

Room Tip: Try for view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_Nicol1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have stayed at the Royal Guest House more than once and have enjoyed each visit more. The friendly but professional service from all the staff is definitely a differentiating factor at this small but classy boutique hotel.

Room Tip: The executive suit has a balcony with a beautiful view of the sunset over the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoniS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.8 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
0.5 mi away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 17 in Port Alfred
97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheilan House
Sheilan House
#9 of 26 in Port Alfred
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Guest House

Property: Royal Guest House
Address: 8 Beach Crescent, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Guest House is an elegant, exclusive Guest House set loftily high on the East bank of the Kowie River. Due to its prime location this guest house offers stunning panoramic views of the peaceful Royal Alfred Marina and our quaint little town. With 12 stylish en-suite bedrooms, each elegantly furnished with natural weave and dark wood furniture, finished off with 100% percale linen for that light relaxed feel. The cosy lounge area with self-help bar opens up to an inviting pool deck with loungers. This charming guest house is an oasis of peace and tranquility where friendly staff awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing