We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Many rounds enjoyed here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Port Alfred Golf Club

The Royal Port Alfred Golf Club
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Port Alfred
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Royal Port Alfred Golf Course is one of the oldest and best known in South Africa and was established in 1907.The undulating course snakes its way through thickets of pristine coastal forest and over hilly dunes always with the smell and sounds of the Indian Ocean close by whose blue waters offer the most panoramic views from many of the fairways. In true links tradition every slope, mound and dip remains untouched, demanding creative shot making and deft reading of angles.Adding to the allure and charm of the course is its resident wild life. Normally shy bushbuck will continue grazing contently as you walk by while springbok and impala pronk with delight. The blesbok, fallow deer duiker and giant tortoise peer at the golfers with suspicion and there is bird life in abundance.Visitors are always most welcome.
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Many rounds enjoyed here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a very scenic and historic course. The layout is fun and the scenery outstanding. The rough should be avoided and when the the wind blows it becomes a little more than tricky. I continue to enjoy many rounds on this course.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank uncleRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lahr, Germany
Level Contributor
280 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Course with Pro's and Con's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

This course is nicely located and not very crowded. Wonderful meet-up with Springboks, other deer, turtles and different bird species; all are tame.
The course is not too ambitious, with the exception of 3-4 holes, where you have to drive over bushes: broad fairways, some bunkers (not in good shape) only, no water obstacles, partly untended greens. Many hidden holes and no drafts, which could give you an idea how and where to play. So lots of guessing.
Green fees are not pricy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dils2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muntelier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value for money and stunning views and game on the course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had a great round of golf in Port Alfred. The weather was warm at first and then got really stormy so we had a tough game on this beautifully situated links course. The course was quite dry and yellow but it was compensated by the fantastic view of the sea and the dunes from a great number of holes. You also see antilopes and tortoises on the course. We rented Clubs and a golf car and payed a very good Price for this. the Clubs were not the best and I needed to Change mine because of the grips after 9 holes but it was still a very good deal. We also had Sandwiches and a Snack after 9 holes and the Service was ver friendly and also here very good value for money!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Member at The Royal Port Alfred Golf Club, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is our intention to offer good value for money to both our visitors and members and we are ver pleased that you enjoyed our facilities. Since your visit we have had good rainfall and the course is now in great condition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Golf at the Royal PA GC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Greens were poor and fairways dry and brown. However I scored well, as the ball went further! The added features were the many springbok etc... on the course who were not in the least bit shy, and the friendly staff in the clubhouse. The bacon and egg sandwiches were excellent, and the members' prize-giving, for their competition that day, was hilarious!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louis and Judi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, member at The Royal Port Alfred Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for the review and your comments. We agree that the greens are not good. Over the Xmas holiday period they were very bad. However we have recently appointed a new green keeper and the improvement in their condition has been remarkable and they should soon be as good as any in the area. Port Alfred has a perennial water shortage and we rely mostly on rain water for the fairways.The recent hot weather and wind has dried them out. As you mentioned the plus side is that the ball has plenty of run which has lead to a number of good scores been carded recently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always a great outing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Still one of my favourite courses, challenging but fair. The course is well maintained and the greens offer good putting surfaces.The club house staff are always friendly and offer great meals before and after.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Port Alfred Golf Club also viewed

 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Royal Port Alfred Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing