We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private accomodation amongst the dune vegetation.”

Rugged Rocks Beach Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Alfred
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rugged Rocks Beach Cottages
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Private accomodation amongst the dune vegetation.”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We only spent a night here - but had a great time. We stayed in Sand Castle and enjoyed the double story. It was close to the beach and we also used the nearby resort swimming pool. We are definitely going back and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncleRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Loved every minute of our stay at Rugged Rocks. Will definitely make use of them again.All the rooms were great. Quiet and very private accommodation. whether travelling with the family or just a romantic weekend away, rugged rock beach cottages is the place to stay and its worth every cent.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great. Quiet and very private accommodation. whether travelling with the family o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antinnamibia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokstad, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Always lovely to stay at Rugged rocks with the beautiful sea views. Lovely beach cottage, we have stayed in most of the cottages at Rugged rocks but our favorite is sea forever which is right on the beach. Very safe and relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777SarahS777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed in the Sea Forever cottage. The cottage was lovely. Very spacious and equiped with everything you need. The cottage is on the beach an you just have to walk over the dune to reach the beautifull beach. I would definately recommend this cottage for any one who loves a beach holiday and would like to relax. Our family will always have fond memories of Port Alfred and the lovely Sea Forever cottage.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanelJoubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We arrived to this hidden gem with stunning sea views, and easily accessible to the beach. Glass windows all around, and a great spa bath to help you relax at night. We spent four days in this self catering resort, and were all sorry when it came to an end. One of the people sharing the accomodation with us left his Apple laptop in one of the rooms, and this was found and returned to us. 10 out of 10 for honesty. Thank you!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdselect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
2.0 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
276 reviews
1.9 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
274 reviews
7.3 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
302 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
88 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 25 in Port Alfred
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rugged Rocks Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rugged Rocks Beach Cottages

Property: Rugged Rocks Beach Cottages
Address: 38 Freshwater Road, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Port Alfred
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing