We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend the night in an Oxcart with Gambit looming....”
Review of Mansfield Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mansfield Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Spend the night in an Oxcart with Gambit looming....”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

On arrival you are almost certainly going to be greeted by Gambit a 30foot + adult Giraffe. Gambit was brought up around humans and just wants to say hello... not chase you off like some insane guard Giraffe.

Once past Gambit we found our Oxcart. Although on first glance it looked run down it turned out this is all part of the experience. Once inside we found a bed big enough for 6.

Facilities nearby are defiantly to a camping standard, this is a camping experience not a night a the Hilton!

We fired up a nearby Braai (BBQ) and sat on our Oxcart balcony (the front bit) and enjoyed watching the sun go down.

Once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: It's an oxcart or an oxcart... can't see it making any particular difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2people1lifecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    41
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Humansdorp
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The experience was amazing, the staff are the best friendly, helpful, effecient you can not ask for better. The reserve brings you back to nature as you enter the gates. The game drive was awesome we saw all the wildlife on the reserve, the camping and picnic area very well kept and the venue for wedding receptions and conferences are excellent. We will defenatly be going back to Mansfield with friends. The Mansfield reserve are very highly recommended for a breakaway.
Thanks Guy's for a awesome time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diedre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Beautiful location and wildlife experience! We stayed in the Main lodge which gave us a real old African feel. The animal sighting were excellent and with Gambit(Giraffe) joining us on a few walks you could not ask for a better experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

What an amazing experience. The views are out of this world! We saw most of the animals in the 1st hour of arriving had an awesome game drive with JP too!

No electricity, paraffin lamps, fire, donkey boiler wow what a special experience, perfect bush experience! Service was great would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kar89300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfieldr, General Manager at Mansfield Reserve, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Eagle's Nest cabin.

Eagle's Nest is our romantic little gem and I am so pleased that you got to experience all that Mansfield has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back for another visit soon!

Kind Regards

Lida Noach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed at the lodge in the reserve it was a bit like turning the clocks back quite a few years - the lodge is very comfortable and clean with large rooms. When we visited unfortunately there was issues with water or lack of it which meant we had to be careful - that is Africa.
Given the chance we would stay again its a great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfieldr, Manager at Mansfield Reserve, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Good afternoon Ian,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Lodge.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and very pleased to let you know that our water shortage is now something of the past.

We would love to welcome your family back to Mansfield again, if you are ever in the area.

Kind Regards

Lida Noach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.5 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
15.5 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
0.3 mi away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 26 in Port Alfred
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansfield Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansfield Reserve

Property: Mansfield Reserve
Address: 6km Alfred Street, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mansfield Reserve 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mansfield Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing