We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”
Review of Halyards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halyards Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We booked into the Halyards Hotel for 3 nights after Christmas. The pool and deck area is very nice, and the service there is good. The room, however, was disappointing. The bed (2 singles pushed together) was very soft and uncomfortable, the fixtures are old and outdated, the bathroom is tiny and they only leave 1 toilet roll when servicing your room!! The room (bathroom) was also not very clean on arrival.The breakfasts were quite nice and the room a good size with a nice view over the marina. For the price paid, it was an expensive stay which didn't match up to expectations. Next time we would much rather book a B&B or smaller more modern and comfortable lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Halyards Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

Nice modern hotel with good sized rooms with balconies overlooking an attractive waterside development. Large beds, separate loos, sport filled TV, nice bar (very slow service with 30 thirsty punters & one bar staff) reasonable buffet supper & large, good breakfast too. Nice decked area with pool.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblesEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We found the white (reception) staff to be fairy abrupt - bordering on rude, however the black staff within the hotel were lovely and so friendly. The town itself is nothing special but at least the hotel had views of the gated canal estate which temporarily made you forget about the very run down town on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We decieded to treat the kids to their first hotel stay, one that we could sort of afford and where we thought we could enjoy the kiddies program and have some Mom & Dad time for our 12 year wedding anniverssary. Needless to say, the kiddies program so wonderfully advertise consisted of a jumping castle & a conference room (not mentioned on check in) filled with toys - great - but in a state, no supervision etc. The 'kiddies co-ordinator' was unfriendly and unhelpful and because we did not stay Friday and Saturday night (but Sat-Tues), the kids were not included in any activities. The rooms were lovely and the managers on duty fairly helpful. I never complain about places we stay and most times we are invited to top lodges all over SA for free, here we paid a fortune and were treated as if we were a mission. We still waiting for the ice......

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulovane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

The Halyards Hotel is located in the marina in Port Alfred. This is a superb location, right on the water and away from the main road. It is a very attractive location and surrounded by boats and other stylish properties.

We stayed for 2 nights in the Luxury suite (room 28) with a lounge and 2 upstairs bedrooms. The views from the balcony were superb and, if you can afford the extra, take one of the two luxury suites.

The food is excellent, with a magnificent evening buffet and a good breakfast option. The waiting staff are very pleasant.

Port Alfred itself is pretty ordinary except for the beach (wicked sand dunes) and harbour. It is, however, a fantastic location for visiting the game parks and surrounding areas.

The hotel has, apparently, recently changed hands and this may be part of the reason why the managerial and reception staff are so rude. We arrived at noon to be told that we were early and that there was no where to store our bags. They eventually agreed to put them in reception but we were told there were no porters, so we had to move them ourselves from the car park.

When our rooms were available, we asked for some help to be told that they did not employ porters but that housekeeping will bring our bags to our room. Fortunately we were there where a poor old black lady was asked to move all of our heavy bags to the room. The reception staff were rude to us and her. Needless to say, we took our own bags but is just goes to show that, whilst there may have been elections and a new political agenda in South Africa, the attitudes of the whites in this area are yet to catch up. This was even more surprising, as the place holds itself out to be a Christian owned organisation.

The reception staff are more interested in their social lives than helping the guests and the only time we saw a member of management was when we almost parked by mistake in one of the prime parking spaces they reserve for themselves by the reception building.

There is an outdoor pool at the hotel and an indoor one at the Halyards Lodge (which is about 500m away and is free to use for hotel guests). The Lodge, unfortunately, is very poor quality, the pool changing rooms are filthy.

What is a great shame is that the attitude of the white staff here is the only thing stopping this from being a world class establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWB2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 894vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank giorgio1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alfred
0.5 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
357 reviews
15.8 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
18.7 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
0.5 mi away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halyards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halyards Hotel

Address: No 8 Albany Road | ., Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: £42 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halyards Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Halyards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing