We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”
Review of Halyards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halyards Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 1 night at this charming hotel on a road trip holiday.
The setting is lovely and our room had a great view of the Marina.
Unfortunately the dining room was being renovated but the meals served in the bar area were tasty and sufficient.
We had a very reasonable dinner, bed and breakfast special.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lieselle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

After walking out of the Safari Lodge we needed a hotel for just two nights, and arrived at the Halyards Hotel where the staff could not have been more attentive and courteous. Although only a three star, for some reason, the room was, effectively, a large suite, with separate loo and bathroom. We chose the luxury package, with welcome basket, massages, and B & B , and this was very reasonable at only ZAR 1800 for two. The location was perfect , altogether a charming place,restoring ones faith in South African hospitality. Although some of the installations looked a bit travel weary the hotel has just initiated a renovation program, which should put it in the top category for next season. Good luck, Halyards, you deserve it !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Lovely setting with beautiful views, clean rooms serviced daily, great food and exceptional service from all staff. Rented a boat from the hotel. Lovely pool area with bar. Will definitely visit the hotel again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Almarie529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night in November 2012.
The area is lovely. Very clean, well kept and beautiful. The views down the river are great, especially at sunset.
The room was clean, modern and spacious. No faults at all.
The doors opened out onto the riverbank which was lovely!

We didn't try the food but the restaurant looked very nice. If you don't fancy the hotel food there is a spur restaurant down the road.

Staff were helpful.

Overall a lovely area and hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klake4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We needed to stay at the Halyards for just one night and the receptionist at reservations was fantastic in ensuring that we got an EXCELLENT rate. The room was neat and very spacious and the beds were comfortable. We had a problem with our geyser and they were very efficient in opening another room for us in order to have a hot shower. The only negative is that the in-house brochure offers the services of an indoor pool and after travellingup the hill to the Lodge and then back to the hotel I was informed that the indoor pool had been closed years before and the staff member who told me where to go was new and misinformed... Breakfast was delicious and the views fantastic. All in all an affordable stay in a beautiful part of the world!

Room Tip: Ask for their specials and negotiate a good rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We had pre-booked and paid our rooms well in advance; therefore the hotel was fully aware of the fact that we were 2 families with 2 children each.
On arrival we were given 2 rooms, but no place for any of the 4 children to sleep. We mentioned this to reception and went to eat out (the hotel restaurant is sadly not an option with children, as they only serve a full buffet and nothing off a menu, which is a way better option with children)
After arriving back from dinner we found that each room only had ONE spare mattress on the ground = floor (remember we paid for this in advance) , so leaving 2 children yet again with out a place to sleep. Once again lots of urging from our side to get another mattress..... and then the plugs blew -leaving us with no fan, no bed side lights and giving us an insight into the very openly available fuse board which is situated in the children's playroom!!! (cables hanging loose).
Our room was DIRECTLY next to said playroom, which at 9.30 pm was still going full blast, leaving our children and us very restless before another long day's drive. This room should either not be hired out our come at a largely discounted rate and a warning!
In short re-cap: lactation is beautiful, but that's the only positive we have to say about the place.
Our advice to fellow travellers: look for a decent B & B elsewhere

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fauditrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Good location but i am afraid that is where it ends.Bath and basin and ceiling in poor condition.No telephone,room service with a toothpick in her mouth.All of this does not meet our expatations for a R1000.O0 a night.The breakfast was great with no service to clean tables.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank kougadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alfred
0.5 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
378 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
18.7 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
0.5 mi away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halyards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halyards Hotel

Address: No 8 Albany Road | ., Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: £39 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halyards Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Halyards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing