We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hone Away from Home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disa Lodge

Disa Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Disa Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Darling B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hone Away from Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

From the beginning we were made to feel part of the family and welcomed with a cooling drink. Pat and Bobby are the perfect hosts. It is one of the older homes and as such the room had that "settled in" feeling, but was very comfortable with clean, crispy linen and towels. Would we go back there when in the area. Most definitely!

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements with Pat and she will provide you with the room to fit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed over at Disa Lodge on my way down to Cape Town. Pat and Bobby, who runs and owns Disa, certainly gave a great welcome. The room that I have is quite spacious.

Unfortunately the accommodation did not have a revamp in many years. My room was a tad mouldy and stuffy. The rooms have no air conditioning or fan and mine had only one very small window, which is quite uncomfortable with soaring summer temperatures in Darling.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColdAvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby B, Owner at Disa Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. The house was built in 1890. The small window you refer to is a sash window which may not be altered according to the Heritage foundation. All our rooms have recently been repainted and freshened up. We trust you will return and enjoy Darling hospitality once again. Regards from Bobby & Pat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We recently stayed at Disa Lodge in Darling and from the minute we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Pat and Bobby. They showed us around their garden and took a real interest in where we were from and what we were doing in Darling. We only stayed 1 night but it was a very comfortable night and we had an excellent cooked breakfast the next morning before heading off. Would recommend this accommodation if you are wanting the "no frills, no fuss" down to earth type of accommodation where you can either chat with the owners or sit on the stoep with a glass of wine and chill on your own.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabelle289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kommetjie, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

hospitality awaited my friend and I when we arrived late one Monday afternoon having driven over from Riebeek Kastille. Pat & Bobby made us feel straight at home -- our accommodation was perfect, as was breakfast the following morning. We had an excellent supper at the restaurant they recommended and thoroughly enjoyed the chats we engaged in during our stay. Pat & Bobby are excellent hosts, their hearts are in the right place and they're friendly and sincere without being intrusive. Thanks to both of you. Cathy -- Kommetjie

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I was among a large group of mountain bikers who "took over" the Disa Lodge for two nights, It could not have been better: Pat and Bobby are the warmest, most generous hosts you could hope for and they certainly make you feel at home. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and homely and the breakfasts we ate there were hearty and healthy - ideal for our hungry group. Thanks for a fantastic experience

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magaliesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We booked out the entire guest house for 2 days. Pat and Bobby made it so special for everyone. Most of the quests were doing the race, and obviously experienced a couple of injuries, stomach pains, etc. It was so amazing, all the athletes were treated so well by Pat and Bob, they recovered quickly and could finish the race. We watched the rugby, had great breakfast,clean bathrooms, lovely filter coffee, electric blankets and lots of friendly smiles:-) thank you so much for the wonderful experience, we appreciate you guys and we are so happy to have met you!! You will defenitely see us next year again!!Dankie Oom en Tannie:-) :-) xxxxx

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jacques d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Spent one night at Disa Lodge during the flower show. Pat and Bob Beckman are the most warm hearted people I have ever met. They made me feel that their home was my home too. The best night sleep I ever had in cosiest room with electric blankets on a chilly Darling evening.
Pat recommended and excellent restaurant for dinner, and her home made breakfast on Sunday morning, surely warmed the cockles of the heart.
Will definitely go back. Pat and Bob, you rock.
Catherine Cairns
Wellington.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darling hotels
0.1 mi away
Darling Lodge Guest House
0.3 mi away
Jacaranda House B&B
Jacaranda House B&B
#3 of 6 in Darling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Granary
The Granary
#6 of 6 in Darling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disa Lodge

Property: Disa Lodge
Address: 22 Lang Street, Darling 7345, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Darling
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Darling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Disa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing