We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but badly managed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Brighton On The Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Ironbridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location but badly managed”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the Quest Brighton at the end October 2013. We had travelled from Sydney for a family party in Melbourne. First impressions were good as the hotel is situated close to the sea front and has good parking facilities. Our room as spacious with a comfortable bed. However, there was one hand towel for two people, one shower gel, half the lights in the bathroom were not working and there was no cover for the duvet. The safe was broken and we couldn't deposit any valuables. We discovered that no evening dinner was being served in the restaurant and the bar had no draught beer though there were two beer taps. We asked for a plate of sandwiches and were told that they could not be for made us. We were offered a room service meal and we asked if this could be taken in the restaurant area ( which was empty ) as we wanted to eat as a family. The response was " 'fraid not". One hour later our food arrived at our room. Our sea food pasta was barely cooked, cold and piled high with pasta. We returned most of it to the kitchen with a complaint. We experienced stomach ache during the night.

We are frequent world travellers and this has to be one of the worst hotel experiences we have had. It was our first visit to Melbourne and a gave a very poor impression.

On the Sunday morning we found that there were no cups in the room so we couldn't prepare a drink. Fortunately we spent the rest of the day at the family party. The attitude of the staff ranged from irritable through incompetent to helpful. We asked to speak to the manager but were told he was not available. We have since written to the company who own the hotel but have had no reply. The impression was of a staff that could not cope and had no management support.

Room Tip: Check the room first and make sure that everything as advertised is available and in place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    64
    32
    21
    10
See reviews for
41
66
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the Quest in Brighton and was frankly disapoointed with the service. The room was adequet and clean but the front desk service was poor and inconsistent. The restaurant (Verve) was incredibly poor - we waited over an hour for our food and when it arrived it was over-cooked and burnt - response from the hotel and chef was non-existent and I had to fight hard to get any recompense at all....In addition, we had coffee in the bar on the mroning we left which was changed twice because it was made so poorly....overall not great at all for the money.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I have stayed at the quest Brighton in the bay around 10 times and found it a good hotel. Rooms are decent in quality, beds are comfy and bathrooms are modern. I find the in hotel restaurant over priced with a small menu. A bad experience at my last stay was the burger from the room service menu that made me sick all night. Thankfully I didn't have to pay for it when I checked out. The hotel itself is good, but I may steer clear of the food from now on.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and won't again. The room aren't serviced on Sunday we only had 3 towels for 5 people never got a roller bed for our third child for both the nights she had to sleep on the floor and the bathroom was disgusting with brown resadue behind the sinks and the base of the shower screen was filthy with scum but the main bed was very comfy overall 3/10

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melsy_dunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Nice hotel with a good restaurant. The hotel is really a serviced apartment which is directly across the street from the beach.

Pro's - Very nice restaurant and helpful, attentive staff.
Cons - It is in a mostly residential area so there are no restaurants, stores, etc. within close walking distance. Also, the front desk is not open 24 hours so very early or late check-in is done via a keybox. Make sure you have your confirmation number to access the box.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigD_the_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

everything from check in to check out was a breeze. breakfast is great and the rooms are spotless (a little pricey, but worth it). extra mention goes to the receptionists Phil and Harry for their service. will return

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank scott d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drouin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Ideally situated on the great Port Phillip Bay opposite the Royal Brighton Yacht Club and the famous Brighton Sea Baths this Hotel is convenient both for quick access to the City and South East Suburbs of Melbourne whether for business or pleasure.
Ideally it would also suit the avid golfer as it is located within minutes of some of the best Sand Belt courses in Australia.
Highley recommended

Room Tip: Executive Suites have balconies and meals facilities with good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.4 mi away
Brighton Savoy
Brighton Savoy
#1 of 1 in Brighton
225 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
3.0 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
446 reviews
4.4 mi away
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#26 of 159 in Melbourne
2,726 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Buckingham International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Brighton On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Brighton On The Bay

Property: Quest Brighton On The Bay
Address: 250 Esplanade, Brighton, Bayside, Victoria 3186, Australia (Formerly Rydges Brighton Beach)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Bayside > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Brighton On The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Brighton on the Bay (formerly Rydges Brighton Beach) is located in one of Melbourne's most desirable and well-known suburbs.Quest Brighton on the Bay is a modern 4 star rated (anticipated) property with apartment style guest rooms. Only 20-minutes from the city, Quest Brighton on the Bay allows guests to enjoy the seaside suburb's atmosphere while being close enough to the city to stay in touch.Quest Brighton on the Bay features meeting facilities, onsite car parking, Verve restaurant, guest laundry and Endota Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Brighton On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing