We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drab decor!”
Review of Milanos Tavern

Milanos Tavern
Ranked #104 of 126 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: US$14 - US$28
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Milanos Bistro offers spectacular bay views, delicious modern cuisine, fine wines and a superb selection of imported beers; it really is the perfect place to meet with family and friends. Our bistro is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner, and now on Saturday and Sunday for breakfast at 8.30am. The room takes on a different facade for each event. Daylight fills the room with a bright contemporary ambiance, allowing diners to appreciate the relaxing vista created by the closeness of the bay. Evening guests enjoy a sophisticated atmosphere whilst watching the sunset slipping beneath the horizon. This fantastic venue invites you to come and enjoy the wonderful facilities it has to offer, including an outdoor beer garden and wheelchair access. Bistro bookings are essential.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Drab decor!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Typical pub decor namely old fashioned and boring. Fish and salad was acceptable. Such an old crowd there on a Saturday afternoon, had to leave and head elsewhere for coffee! Only good feature was the sea view!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    34
    28
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Appalling Service - Poor Standard Food”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Were guests at a wedding reception at Milano's last Saturday night. Worst service I have struck at a reception anywhere. Close to two hundred people served by what appeared to be only two wait staff. Endless queues for a drink. What limited food there was was of poor quality and served on small plates, rather than large platters. This tired facility has a pleasant outlook over the Bay, but staff kept the blinds drawn all evening which, combined with a low ceiling in the reception room resulted in a claustrophobic atmosphere and very high noise levels.

I have not written a significantly negative review before - but Milano's wins the prize for the lowest rating I have given anywhere!

Anyone thinking of having an important function at this establishment should think again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keneverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great View - Poor food”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Whilst the view is great this doesn't make up for the poor quality food.
My husband and I received average service, but it was the food which seemed to take forever to arrive was cold and overcooked.
I myself have been unsettled the last few days since eating their woeful seafood.
Walk along the beach instead and eat elsewhere

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambery, France
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“An unexpected good surprise”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A couple of friends invited me there for lunch this afternoon, and I was pleasantly surprised as soon as we entered the big dining room. Obviously, they had made a reservation with a table overlooking the Port Phillip Bay,which I utterly enjoyed. Something that was new to me was also the existence of a senior's menu (coming from France, I knew kids menus but not seniors menus), very reasonably priced: 15 AUD for one seniors main dish + 2 AUD each for either soup of the day or the seniors dessert. We had a soup of the day, I had chicken Parmigiana and my friends choose chicken schnitzel, and the dessert of the day was a Danish pastry with whipped cream. I was very happy to meet my friends, the meal was very pleasant. (good food and good service), and the view very enticing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, great view, great service!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner here with our four year old twins. All our food was great, the view was great, the waitress looking after us was amazing! The kids were being 4 year olds and she quickly came out and gave them each an activity pack that kept them entertained for the rest of the night chatted with them each time she came past and was very attentive to getting drinks and removing plates. We will definitely eat here again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milanos Tavern also viewed

Brighton, Bayside
Surrey Hills, Boroondara
 
Brighton, Bayside
 

Been to Milanos Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing