We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little surprise find in brighton”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Famire

Famire
Ranked #78 of 125 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Little surprise find in brighton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Found this hiding ( no lights on their sign) down from our hotel and had a great meal. Malaysian Chinese blend that had lots of variety. The women are charming so stop in for a lovely meal just across the street from the bay

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank M0mmaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The staff were delightful, food delicious. This is not your standard Chinese food, great menu, very tasty, very well presented. Would highly recommend coming here for a quiet dinner, or even a group dinner.
We were surprised by this little gem. Full points as well for service with smiles, lovely decor & great atmosphere.
The wine list is not extensive, but we choose the Sav Blanc, & it was good.
Our only criticism is that it is not clearly sign-posted. A neon sign or a bigger sign might help to attract it's presence. Location is great though, definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 247Robbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really tasty. A bit of a different flavour to other Asian restaurants.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have come here a few times now and the food never fails to disappoint. Everything I have had so far has been really tasty - recommendations are the Xiansuo duck and a crispy prawn dish (sorry, I can't remember the name of the dish). I am slowly working through the menu to try as much as I can.

The flavours here are a little bit different to other Asian and Chinese restaurants I've been to - difficult to describe because I am not a food writer but there seems to be something different to the dishes that makes it more appealing.

Its well done up inside with a pleasant ambiance and friendly service. A nice place to go to in a group, for couples, or on your own. They also do takeaway.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jw000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I've been here a couple of times with my family. The duck and the whole fish are so good we always get one or both of these. The interior is beautifully decorated and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Going again tonight now that I'm back in Melbourne.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wadja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New Exciting Local Asian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

A new exciting Chinese/Malaysian restaurant has popped up in Brighton (thank goodness)! We have now been back to the restaurant several times and have loved every visit. The food is fresh and delicious and a little bit different than your local Asian restaurant. The restaurant is very new and attractively fitted out and is a family run and owned business where the service is always warm and friendly. They also have a private room which we have used a couple of times for family dinners. It is also BYO which is always easier on the bill. We highly recommend this restaurant and feel fortunate that it has come to our suburb and don't want it to come and go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NMBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Famire also viewed

 

Been to Famire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing