We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not satisfied”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alpina Vals

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alpina Vals
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vals
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not satisfied”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Do not miss the Therme Vals when visiting central Switzerland. Based upon reviews we read on this website, we decided not to choose for the Therme Hotel, but the Alpina. Since prices in Vals are high anyway, we decided to go for the most expensive renovated rooms, designed by Architekt Gion A. Caminada which are CHF 110 per person per night (!).
When entering the room, we were disappointed by the very low ceiling and the unbelievable cheap floor covering. The rest of the interior was also quite cheap and the room looked out on a terrace on which the neighbours were having fun bbqing. Service was ok but not too friendly.
Breakfast and diner were really delicious, but we were unpleasantly surprised to learn that if you take halfboard, you are not supposed to dine on the lovely terrace in front of the hotel (but in the restaurant/breakfast room upstairs).
The next time we will try the Therme Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stijnv71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    24
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

We love Vals. Even if it's several hours away from home, the beautiful thermal baths will still drive us there for a week-end. And what better place to stay there than the beautiful Alpina?

If you're looking for kitschy chalet-style accommodation, you will be disappointed. If however contemporary architecture with a touch of Alpenchic is more your style, this is the place. Hotel Alpina was renovated by local architect Gion Caminada, who gave the "new rooms" a strict simplicity that is absolutely perfect. On a soft wooden floor rests a simple but comfortable bed, lit by windows that open into the beautiful alpine landscape and let in the pure air. A heaven of calm, mere minutes away from the thermal baths.

Choosing the half-board option will grant you an excellent 4-course dinner in the elegant in-house restaurant, boasting what might be the best wine selection in town... And after a good night's sleep, dive into the magnificent breakfast buffet sporting a variety of breads, local cheese and home-made müesli.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank timtom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

If you are interested in architecture / design and want to visit Peter Zumthor's Therme at Vals, you might want to consider staying at the Hotel Alpina instead. They have discounted public entry available for their guest to the mineral baths, and the hotel has been modernised now throughout (I believe) by local architect Gion A. Caminada. My girlfriend found it a bit 'pine-tastic' in our bedroom, but I actually found the room more humane and warm than the room we had had at Vals Therme Hotel. The shower room isn't the largest, but the beds are comfortable with great duvets, and the location, right in the heart of Vals, is better than Vals Therme which is perched on the edge of the town. Staff were far warmer to us than at Vals Therme Hotel, the breakfast at Alpina was better, and the cost per night, about half that of Vals Thermes.

The only advantage you have of staying as a hotel guest in Vals Thermes is access to the night swimming which happens three nights a week which non-hotel guests cannot attend. It is quite a good experience, bathing in silence, but you need to decide the price you want to place on that.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hartleyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake maggiore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

This small hotel in the central place of Vals is a hidden gem.Everything is so different in this hotel,even if it's difficult to say what's different(perhaps the customer,so fashionable and stilish-we had a very famous model in the same days we were staying there),you will miss the mood when back home.Room are clean and (mine) newly designed.They took us away a goat carpet(because of our dog):this left our room a little bit"naked" but nice anyway.Television are a little bit old,compared with the look of the hotel.Food is perfect.Breakfast memorable:try the smoked hams and the terrific muesli.I only noticed the lack of common parts in the ground floor.The owner seems a little bit distant,in the beginning but she is very nice and efficient.Only one reproach:the bells of the curch are so near and they play for such a long time at 7 o'clock in the morning,it's impossible not being awekened(but this it's not their fault.they should make an agreement with the church perhaps).But the view from my window was so nice(the church tower and the roofs of the old part of Vals.

  • Liked — the special mood
  • Disliked — the bells of the church in the morning
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank giocasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vals
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rovanada
Hotel Rovanada
#1 of 6 in Vals
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#4 of 6 in Vals
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Glenner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#1 of 1 in Lumbrein
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gasthaus Edelweiss
Gasthaus Edelweiss
#3 of 5 in Vals
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schnider B&B und Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina Vals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina Vals

Property: Hotel Alpina Vals
Address: Dorf Platz Vals 7132, Vals 7132, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Vals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vals
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned and run hotel directly at the historic village square of Vals in the middle of the Swiss Alps.The Hotel has been designed by the local architect Gion A. Caminada and offers 20 guest rooms, made out of natural material such as wood from the valley and stone from the local quarry. Furniture crafted by local craftsmen.Restaurant on the first floor overlooking the picturesque village square – styled with a discreet, sophisticated appeal.Our kitchens provide wholesome, market fresh, creative cuisine.The world famous Therme Vals - SPA by Peter Zumthor is only a 5-7 minutes walk away from the hotel.In summer and autumn - hiking options galore. In Winter skiing bus stop just in front of the hotel. Sledges for free rental at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alpina Vals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing