We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“21 surprise for my daughter”
Review of Wynyard Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wynyard Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Billingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Booked the spa for myself and daughter as a surprise for her 21 birthday . We had a wonderful day . The spa was nestled over the river with lovely views. The spa was of a high standard and the staff were very helpful and polite . The sun was shinning and as it was a warm day soaking in the hot tubs then lying in the warm sun made it hard to believe it was the first of April.We had a lovely lunch then finished the day off with a fantastic massage . Overall a day to remember .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Called for afternoon tea, which we took in the library. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and seated the five of us in comfortable chairs and a settee.
The food was splendid and more than enough for us senior citizens. We were not alone and fellow guests were provided with boxes to take their surplus home for an evening treat. It was standard fare for afternoon tea - sandwiches, scones and cakes, but that said the quality was good, especially the chicken sandwiches, and cheese scones. The choice of teas was wide and we settled for Assam and Darjeeling, additional pots being provided on request.
Service was leisurely, which suited us and the occasion. Afternoon tea in magnificent Georgian surroundings is not to be rushed.
We will be back to repeat the experience and maybe extend it with a meal in the fine looking dining room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We pre booked 3 weeks in advance for Afternoon Tea for 4 people. When booking I asked for a window table and was told it wouldn't be a problem. On arrival we were herded like sheep (after the server couldn't find our name on the reservation list) into a heaving dining room. I pointed out this was not the library as stated in the letter that came with the gift vouchers. I was told the library 'was full and no window seats were available' - so much for booking in advance! Things didn't get any better as the table was set for Sunday Lunch for 3 people. The server started rearranging the cutlery etc. and dragged a chair from another table - so much for our beautifully presented Afternoon Tea table.
The server attempted to overcharge us for drinks even though the prices were in the menu in front of us.
The actual food served was fine and they did accommodate our request for no salmon.
All in all not a pleasurable experience and most definitely not worth in excess of the £110 paid for 4 people on this occasion.
The response from management at Wynyard Hall, a pitiful 'Sorry, this is not our usual standard' but absolutely no reason why they do not tell guests that you may have to sit among the masses tucking into Sunday Lunch when you have pre booked a 'tranquil Afternoon Tea overlooking the lake and gardens' as stated in their literature. What it should really say is ' if we manage to remember your booking we may find you a table set for 4 but don't expect any of your requests to be taken into account'.
Go on a quiet day and you will enjoy the beautiful surroundings and excellent food but go on a busy day and you may well be let down.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank 774JanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here 1night on the dinner, b&b and use of spa deal. Our suite was the Disrali. Large room with separate lounge area. Lovely bathroom, although shame about the power shower being placed in the middle of the bath with a shower curtain which was really annoying! Loved The Lord & Lady bathrobes. Big bed, but the mattress too soft for us. Decor really needs updating in the room. The hotel entrance and foyer was splendid. We had champagne afternoon tea, which was delicious, this was in the lovely library with views over the beck. Ate in the Wellington restaurant for dinner which was very good. Good choice on menu. Returned to the bar for drinks. Service good and staff very friendly. Breakfast excellent. Used the spa the next day, which was lovely, especially the outdoor hot tub. Fantastic location and lovely views. Enjoyed a spa treatment with my daughter, the Go Fatigue mud wrap was so relaxing, heaven! Definitely come back for me.

Room Tip: If you don't like soft mattresses when booking advise them and they may recommend a specific roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsDigibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My first visit to Wynyard Hall and thoroughly enjoyed afternoon tea. Service is exceptional and the food was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble and we'll definitely be back again soon. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Lovely afternoon with friends for afternoon tea. Service was outstanding!! Afternoon tea was beautiful and staff constantly ensured everything was to a high standard. nothing was too much trouble! Highly recommend and in the North East this is one of my favourite venues for afternoon tea. Beautiful hall with perfection from arrival!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanniDods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Visited wynyard spa today with my girlfriends - lovely setting but not 5 star. Staff were average, some not really cut out for the service industry ! Treatment was lovely and the therapist was excellent. Spa facilities were very average, but the very small unisex changing facilities took the luxury out of the day. Afternoon tea was very nice, but the spa is not big enough too charge the high price and it does not offer luxury. We had a nice day but I wouldn't go back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Asoumare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Billingham
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton on Tees/Hartlepool Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton on Tees/Har...
#1 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
472 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
921 reviews
15.4 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
12.8 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,650 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynyard Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynyard Hall

Address: Wynyard Hall Hotel | Tees Valley, Stockton-on-Tees TS22 5NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Stockton-on-Tees > Billingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Billingham
Price Range: £197 - £650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynyard Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wynyard Hall is the premier venue in the North East for weddings, events, conferences and accommodation.Set in its own beautiful and private grounds, Wynyard Hall, has a charm and character that captivates all who visit. Unlike any other venue in the North East guests feel relaxed and privileged from the moment they sweep over the lion bridge and the magnificent 4-star Country House Hotel comes into view until the time they leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Wynyard Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynyard Hall Hotel Billingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing