We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wellington restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Wynyard Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wynyard Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Billingham
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wellington restaurant”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I always look to find praiseworthy aspects rather than otherwise.
James,maitre de,was excellent knowledgeable,a perfect host.
Regrettably,and not for the first time,this fabulous venue was let down by the appalling food.
Tasteless unappealing,unhealthy,the main course had poor vegetable options and the fish choice was bland colorless and totally unattractive.
They seem not to care as i have made them aware of this on past visits

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peterbrown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    166
    98
    60
    45
See reviews for
261
339
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Would just like to say the biggest thank you to all your staff. We stayed in the Vane Tempest suite last night and the whole experience from arrival to departure was perfect. The most pleasant, helpful friendly staff. I'd like to say a special thanks to Richard for our mini history lesson. Also, huge compliments to the chef. Our dessert was hand on heart the best I have ever tasted! (chocolate with coffee ice cream) We were so impressed with the experience that you will be seeing us again in July for both our birthdays. Many thanks and keep up the good work. Gemma and Owen x

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaTempest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I had taken my friend to Wynyard Hall for afternoon tea for her birthday and it could not of been any better. The food was lovely, service excellent and every member of staff was a pleasure to speak to and could not do enough for us. We were very interested in the background to the Hall and the waitress told us as much as she knew but then went an got Richard, the concierge who gave us so much information and background to the history and we really enjoyed listening to him. He was so polite and courteous as were all the staff. Thank you all so much for making my friends birthday so special. It was an afternoon I think she will remember for a long time to come.
A Roberts

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelrob4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livorno, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

In a beautiful park, oasis of relaxation. Antique furniture, a beautiful library where you can relax and have a drink. Breakfast unforgettable. Restaurant at the level of the structure. After eating so much beautiful jogging in the park as the end of a beautiful day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicusAurelii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed in the Woodlands cottage followed by the spa on a Friday night. The staff had gone to the trouble of putting up some birthday balloons and banners for our friends birthday wish she was delighted with. Champagne and chocolate coated strawberry's were awaiting our arrival. The cottage itself is beautiful! The views are fantastic and the hot tub was wonderful. Also had breakfast the next morning in Wynyard Hall which was fantastic. Will definitely be back shortly

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cw1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My mum, sister, sister-in-law and I went for afternoon tea last Monday for a belated Mothers Day treat. We have been a few times before and each time the service is outstanding, the food and drinks are excellent and the staff can't do enough to help! We were greeted by Richard the concierge who is both professional and personable. On our visit prior to this one Richard was even kind enough to give us a tour of Wynyard Hall, including the beautiful chapel and told us some history about the building and grounds which was very interesting and very kind of him to do. Also we like to be a little awkward and make some changes to the menu due to some dietary requirements and the staff have always been more than happy to accommodate our changes. The food is always fresh and tasty and the tea, coffee and champagne are delicious and such good value, we usually end up taking some cakes home.
I would recommend anyone to consider this place for afternoon tea or even an overnight stay in the spa which my sister did recently and said it was amazing. We are hoping to book a spa day (hopefully) soon to include afternoon tea and maybe even a cheeky glass of champagne. I do really want to thank Richard and commend him for making our visits fun and enjoyable, he really is a delight but also to the other staff who obviously work incredibly hard and are just a lovely helpful bunch!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 922Mrs_Holmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Booked the spa for myself and daughter as a surprise for her 21 birthday . We had a wonderful day . The spa was nestled over the river with lovely views. The spa was of a high standard and the staff were very helpful and polite . The sun was shinning and as it was a warm day soaking in the hot tubs then lying in the warm sun made it hard to believe it was the first of April.We had a lovely lunch then finished the day off with a fantastic massage . Overall a day to remember .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Billingham
15.4 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,277 reviews
13.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
12.8 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
11.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,030 reviews
14.0 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynyard Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynyard Hall

Property: Wynyard Hall
Address: Wynyard Hall Hotel | Tees Valley, Billingham TS22 5NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Billingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Billingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynyard Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wynyard Hall is the premier venue in the North East for weddings, events, conferences and accommodation.Set in its own beautiful and private grounds, Wynyard Hall, has a charm and character that captivates all who visit. Unlike any other venue in the North East guests feel relaxed and privileged from the moment they sweep over the lion bridge and the magnificent 4-star Country House Hotel comes into view until the time they leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wynyard Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynyard Hall Hotel Billingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing