We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Wynyard Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wynyard Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Billingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I got married at Wynyard on 10th May. Could not find fault, the venue and service are amazing. The staff were so accommodating and could not do enough for us. The food was fantastic.

Can't highly recommend this place enough. Will most certainly returning on many occasions.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evey1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

I visited Wynyard Hall on Saturday 1st February for afternoon tea with two of my friends who are both pregnant. It was to celebrate one of their birthdays. When we arrived we had noticed the strong smell of firewood burning and were informed that we couldn't be seated in the room where our table was originally reserved as the smell was too strong. We were instead seated in the library next to one of the fires. The smell was very strong in the library and the room was very hazy with the smoke which became worse. When one of the waiters came to refill our tea I commented on how strong the smell was and the fact that the smoke was getting worse. He apologised and said that he thought it was due to wet logs being on the fire and offered to move us to the original room. We agreed to change rooms and the other room was a little better however we had to move half way through our afternoon tea which wasn't ideal. Once we left Wynyard Hall our clothes and hair stank of the burning smell. We decided on Wynyard Hall as my friend who's birthday it was for has also booked to have her wedding there next year. This did cause her concerns as there was a wedding on that day when we came and the smell was so strong even in the foyer area where the wedding party were all having their drinks reception. I tried to reassure her that its not always like that as I stayed over on 28th December for my sister in laws wedding which was amazing. I have also been a few times before for afternoon tea and to use the spa and have never experienced the smell to be so over powering. I don't usually complain however i felt as though I should as its important that you receive customer feedback. It wasn't a pleasant experience for a birthday celebration and especially not with them both being pregnant and being sat so close so the over powering fumes. I originally sent this feedback on 10th Feb and received an e-mail on 11th Feb saying: "I would like to apologise for the experience with the fires, this is certainly not the atmosphere we expect or want for our guests in general, let alone those that are pregnant. Please be assured that your queries and concerns have been passed onto further management who aim to respond in seven working days" I didnt receive a response at all and then sent another e-mail on 1st March asking if anyone had looked into the above but didn't receive a reply. One of my friends was visitng the spa on 11th March and offered to take my feedback which she did. She handed a printed copy to the reception at the hotel. To this day i have still had no feedback. I think this is poor customer service and a shame really as Wynyard Hall is a fabulous place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A lovely hotel, a wonderful panorama, a gorgeous place for the wedding weekend. Attentive staff, Our only complaint was the restaurant. Very slow service and the food was not great. The staff needs training and to pay attention to the guests. Breakfast was better than dinner. However, the wedding breakfast and tea was excellent. Only other issue was the silly arrangement with the shower. The curtain is too small for the bathtub and gets stuck to you. Not good.
Recommended.

Room Tip: All seem to be lovely. If you can afford it , the suites are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OAPsfromSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This was my 2nd visit to wynyard hall spa & I was once again impressed by the facilities & the service!!!

Afternoon tea was amazing, staff were friendly & the spa was immaculate! Only complaint - robes are looking a bit shabby but other than that all in all had a fantastic day & left fully relaxed!!

Will be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louscotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our children bought us gift vouchers for afternoon tea and we enjoyed tea in the library. It was wonderful. Tasty finger sandwiches, a light cheese scone and a delicious fruit scone with cream and jam, as well as a selection of wonderful cakes. All this was with a nice hot pot of tea each (there was a good selection of teas to choose from) and a glass of very enjoyable Prosecco. The staff were attentive, but not overbearing, and very friendly.
The surroundings are beautiful and it was a very pleasant way to spend a Sunday afternoon. You don't feel crammed in or too close to other diners. Would definitely recommend it and we will be going back again. Great idea to do gift vouchers as well, as we were delighted to receive these as a present.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AllisonH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked our wedding here in February 2012 for a date in October 2013, after several visits to the Wynyard Hall. We were impressed by the peace and tranquility, the splendour and grandeur of the Hall and its surroundings.

Our problems started in February 2013 when we attended a wedding fayre at the hall, where we were informed by an exhibitor that the next wedding fayre was scheduled for the day after our wedding that October. No one at the hall had the decency to inform us of this which we considered to be of material importance. We complained to the duty manager that day, who assured us we would be contacted the next day. FOUR days later we were contacted, and only after we presented ourselves at the hall. We were subsequently told the day after that, that the fayre would not be moved to an alternative day, by an extremely obnoxious manager.

We wrote a letter to the highest ranking member of the hall's staff, which was again responded to by another manager/owner who this time mid conversation HUNG UP the phone!
We pushed for a written response to our 2 page letter of concern, and received a brief email.

During the course of the next few communications we were offered gestures by one manager, then over turned by another. They offered our wedding deposit back if we would prefer to cancel, but with 6 months to go before the wedding day, there were no alternative locations available.

We visited the hall with our parents and other members of our family several months before our wedding. We waited 20 minutes for coffees to be served, and when they finally arrived they were barely warm. There was no Wi-Fi signal to conclude a business transaction, and the mobile phone signal was practically non-existent. Not ideal for a wedding, let alone a venue which promotes itself as a premier business and conferencing location.

We attended the food selecting & tasting evening where our food was served in the library, as the restaurant was not available. We selected our wedding breakfast based on taste and presentation. We made several changes which the wedding manager was happy to accommodate. We were again served cool bad tasting coffee.

The hall promotes its wedding exclusivity, and assures you there will be no other weddings on your wedding day. There wasn't - but there was a large party Birthday celebration in an adjoining room.

The welcome drinks were not ready, and our pre-arranged music was not playing when any of the guests or wedding party arrived back at the hall from the church. They blamed us for being early, and their audio system for 'jumping' for this.

The dessert served was totally unrecognisable to that which we had selected and approved. It looked like a slice of something they had been out and bought from Asda that morning. It certainly wasn't the round 'individually baked' option that should have been served. There was no mention of this, and they did not make us aware until it was placed on the table on the day. They thought this was an improvement and we would be 'impressed'

It was well documented in our pre-wedding meetings that absolutely no bottles were to be served from any of the bars. This request also fell on deaf ears, and our complaint in the evening led to dismissal of the bar staff and a free round of drinks! They claimed at a later date that there were only 'three' bottles removed from tables - We produced photos to prove otherwise.

The Wynyard Hall's managers offered us numerous free stays and spa session for all the issues we have had with them, but not being in any rush to be served cold coffee yet again, we declined them all.

Finally we made a suggestion they made a donation to charity in lieu of the offers of hospitality for their shortcomings, and refunded the cost of the dessert. This was met by a response that they 'don't respond to threats' and any further correspondence from us would be referred to their legal advisors!

Would we recommend? - Absolutely NOT

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Chris_and_Sonia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Wynyard Hall was a special venue and the staff couldn't have done anymore especially Chris and Richard. They get 11 out of 10 for the best day of our lives!

The chapel, hotel, food and staff were superb.

Thank you for making our day so special.

Mr & Mrs Race

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank darrenrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Billingham
5.2 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
952 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton on Tees/Hartlepool Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton on Tees/Har...
#3 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
479 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Coatham Mundeville
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
15.4 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,581 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees/Middlesbrough Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees/Mid...
#1 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynyard Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynyard Hall

Address: Wynyard Hall Hotel | Tees Valley, Stockton-on-Tees TS22 5NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Stockton-on-Tees > Billingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Billingham
Price Range: £145 - £683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynyard Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wynyard Hall is the premier venue in the North East for weddings, events, conferences and accommodation.Set in its own beautiful and private grounds, Wynyard Hall, has a charm and character that captivates all who visit. Unlike any other venue in the North East guests feel relaxed and privileged from the moment they sweep over the lion bridge and the magnificent 4-star Country House Hotel comes into view until the time they leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wynyard Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynyard Hall Hotel Billingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing