We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Julie F
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom

Faulty Towers

Review of Wynyard Hall
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Jan 2024
Review written after messages left and an email sent to the hotel sadly no response
I can not put into words my amazement that you offered us a 50% off our stay as compensations due to the faulty hot tub in November only to find the hot-tub was again broken - bubbling only in one corner
All heating valves broken off the radiators making it too hot to sleep in the bedrooms
Showers not working correctly, barely warm
Scruffy fences and outside furniture
Basically as I mentioned on my last stay the attention to detail in your lodges has gone
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Don’t go unless refurbished
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
2.7 miles from Wynyard Hall
£42
  • Trip.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.8 miles from Wynyard Hall
Free parking
Restaurant
Double En Suite
£87
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    £87
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £87
3.3 miles from Wynyard Hall
Free Wifi
Free parking
£385
Easy and fast booking
  • eDreams
0.0 miles from Wynyard Hall
Free Wifi
Free parking
£42
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
4.8 miles from Wynyard Hall
Free parking
Restaurant
£73
  • Expedia.com
    £73
  • Hampton
    £73
  • Tripadvisor
    £73
4.4 miles from Wynyard Hall
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £36
  • Travelodge
5.5 miles from Wynyard Hall
Free parking
Restaurant
£72
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • HIExpress.com
    £72
5.8 miles from Wynyard Hall
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£40
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £40
4.6 miles from Wynyard Hall
Middlesbrough Double Room
£68
  • Priceline
    £63
  • Agoda.com
    £62
  • Expedia.com
    £68
5.8 miles from Wynyard Hall
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Billingham
Reviews (1,590)
Filter reviews
1,590 results
Traveller rating
982
251
155
110
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
982
251
155
110
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea scones wedding coordinator wedding breakfast from start to finish wedding venue well worth a visit rose garden sir john glass of prosecco stately home quiche farm shop master of ceremonies wynyard spa surroundings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,590 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2024

Wynyard Hall exceeded all expectations for our wedding. The venue's timeless charm and picturesque setting were complemented by a staff that went above and beyond. From meticulous planning to seamless execution, their hard work and flexibility made our day truly magical. If you want a stress-free and enchanting wedding experience, I highly recommend.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bethany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wynyard Hall Manager, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2024

Dear bethanycK5991RU,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review on your wedding.
We're so pleased you enjoyed your special day and we wish you a lifetime of happiness together.
We will ensure that your feedback is shared with the whole team.

Kindest Regards,
Wynyard Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2023

.
Just returned from a Christmas Eve afternoon tea at Wynyard Hall.
Fabulous setting, with a window table. Our table waitress, Daisy a very helpful, friendly lady. Daisy made sure we had the best afternoon tea experience. The food was amazing with piping hot tea. Wynyard Hall is a great place to visit at anytime. Will try to book again next year.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wynyard Hall Manager, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your visit to at Wynyard Hall. We are delighted to hear that you had a positive experience with us.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team.

We hope to continue providing you with exceptional experiences in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Once again, thank you for your generous feedback.

Warm regards,

Wynyard Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2023

A little time away for my wife and I, a prosecco afternoon tea was delightful, no phone signal and just the two of us with drinks, delicious nibbles and sweets, it was great and I would recommend when available. The staff are attentive and polite.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wynyard Hall Manager, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Dear James,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your visit to at Wynyard Hall. We are delighted to hear that you had a positive experience with us.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team.

We hope to continue providing you with exceptional experiences in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Once again, thank you for your generous feedback.

Warm regards,

Wynyard Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2023

Had afternoon tea at Wynyard Hall, it was exceptional, delicious sandwiches, pastries and cakes, excellent waiting staff, very attentive, nothing was too much trouble, would definitely recommend visit

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hygem65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wynyard Hall Manager, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your visit to at Wynyard Hall. We are delighted to hear that you had a positive experience with us.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team.

We hope to continue providing you with exceptional experiences in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Once again, thank you for your generous feedback.

Warm regards,

Wynyard Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2023

We booked afternoon tea at Wynyard Hall hotel. Having waited 10 min for our table, we were told it was ready. It then turned out that there was only one chair so they took another chair from a different table ( turned out our table was not ready, was it? )
Anyway, we were given orange juice in a dirty glass (lipstick mark)
would be expected in a social club but not in a place where you pay £70 for the afternoon tea.
Then I asked one waitress for some Earl Grey tea and then she asked another waiter to get me some and I ended up with English Breakfast one 🙄
Moreover, some staffs’ waistcoats were too tight and the shirts were just coming out of them and it looked scruffy. Not to mention that all the people dining could hear and see all the waiters chatting in the kitchen when everyone was waiting either for bills, food, drinks etc.
As I said I’d expect certain flaws in a social club and not in an expensive and elegant place like WH. Sadly won’t be booking again as the poor service ruined the afternoon tea for me.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KingaG833
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wynyard Hall Manager, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Dear Kinga,

We are sorry to hear that your recent visit to Wynyard Hall did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is important to us, and we will address your concerns with our team to make necessary improvements.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please reach out to our team at reception@wynyardhall.co.uk or call us on 01740 644 811.

Thank you for your feedback, and we hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to provide you with a better experience in the future.

Sincerely,

Wynyard Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews