We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement.”
Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chequers Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Room for improvement.”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I have just returned from a 3 night stay in this hotel for a wedding. It is well situated and the wedding was excellent. However if you are staying for a wedding, or happen to be there whilst there is one on, then do not bank on much sleep. This is due to the fact that guests congregate directly outside many of the rooms as there is a type of courtyard between the main function area and the accomodation block. This is not good as most are a bit tipsy and the weddings do not finish until about 2am. Also there was a constant problem of no hot water.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggyjeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kosakova, General Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you for your comments about our hotel, as you can see by the previous reply the water problems have been resolved.
We are always looking for ways to improve our customer service, since your comments about people congregating between the building we are trying to find another location for smokers.
Meanwhile we endeavour to put none wedding guests in our quiet rooms which are located in the main building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    80
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
50
119
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed at the hotel for three nights for a wedding. The wedding was amazing. However, we had a problem with our room, along with many other guests - the shower was ice cold for the full three days we were there, despite reporting this from day one nothing was sorted. We also only had one towel in our room for two of us. The breakfast was fine, when you eventually got served, the poor women at breakfast were pleasant and friendly but rushed off their feet.
On the morning if checkout we did complain about the shower and the manager gave us a discount. However, he was very rude to the other people from the wedding party, who had stayed in the same block of rooms and had cold showers. He accused them of trying it on!! Not very professional and friendly at all.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_siboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kosakova, Owner at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
We are very sorry to hear of the problems you experienced whilst staying at Chequers Hotel. We take all comments very seriously. We would like to let you know that we have been having problems on and off witht he hot water for a couple of weeks. Each time we have had a problem the service engineer has been called out and each time he has said the problem has been resolved. It would appear that the water is not cold all of the time, but there is a problem with it keeping up with demand. Since your stay we have had a different engineer on site and the problem has been sorted. Two towels are supplied to all residents. We have a green policy so if you put your towels in the bath tub you will be given fresh towels daily. I have spoken to housekeeping about the lack of towels in your room. Had we been aware of the lack of towels we would have happily supplied you with more. It was the owner you spoke to on your departure, he had been the one trying very hard all weekend to get the boiler put right. he does not normally deal with customer service issues and apologises for any offence caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Well my partner, my daughter and I stayed in this hotel just for one night. As we arrived, we were delighted with the appearence of the hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and as we arrived early they provided info of where we could dine whilst we waited for our room. There is a pub walking distance from the hotel which serves BIG portions of food all day. After our meal, we went back to the hotel, the room was ready so off we went! We stayed in room 11. It consisted of a double bed, bunk bed and a cot. Our daughter is two, so we put her in the bottom bunk and lay the cot mattress on the floor next to the bunk. The room was very clean, furniture dated- but relevant. Everything seemed fine. We took our daughter to the zoo, popped to the shop and returned to the hotel................ just as we were settling we heard church bells. There is a church situated behind the hotel up the hill. The bells stopped and started (I'd say every 15-20 mins) up until 9pm. We had the TV low as our daughter was asleep so the bells were very annoying. Apparently this isn't all of the time! Another problem was the room upstairs, as someone walked across the room the floor boards squeked quite loudly! Also quite annoying! But despite these small disadvantages, we would definitely stay in the hotel again. We had breakfast in the morning which was very nice, and staff were very very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shev79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kosakova, Owner at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and staff. We pride ourselves with our customer service and friendliness. Our housekeeping team are very conscientious and it is good for them to get such positive feedback. The church bell ringers have rheir practise night on a Tuesday, unfortunately the peel of church bells can be either pleasant to your ears or very annoying. Please watch our facebook page for special offer weekends as we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

This is my first visit to the Chequers Hotel in Dalton-in-Furness and I was very impressed. I stayed for three nights and was allocated one of the 'outside' rooms, just a few steps from the main building. These ground level rooms would particuarly suit visitors who wanted to avoid stairs. The room was spacious, delightfully decorated and very clean. The flat screen TV and free wi-fi worked well. The bed was comfortable with a selection of pillows. The food provided, both at breakfast and in the evening, was first class; there is an extensive selection, it was well cooked and beautifully presented. Food was available in the bar area or upstairs in the restaurant. The bar appeared well stocked and the bar area had satellite TV and national and local papers available. The staff were cheerful and attentative and quickly made you feel like a member of the 'family'. This hotel has shot to the top of my places to stay when in this area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnStott89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kosakova, General Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Hi John
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Chequers Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found your room comfortable. Our team works very hard to make our guests stay with us as welcome and comfortable as possible and it’s always good for them to hear such positive feedback. We look forward to hearing from you again. Don't forget to check our website to get up to date information and special offers for future stays. Thank you again for reviewing Chequers Hotel
Best wishes
Kerry Kosak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

...as there's not a lot of business choice around here.

Working up in Barrow we were normally put up in the Abbey hotel, but occasionally some of us ended up in Chequers. The hotel is made up of two parts - the original scheel house type building - and the new wing. I think it would be unfair for me to score the original building, as in the frequent visits I have made, I've always been in the new wing.

The new wing : a room number lottery.
Room 2 - OMG, you don't want room 2. A very nice room with 3 beds and nice bathroom and furnishings - but it's under the wedding suite. And before you say it, no it's not the noise of the bed springs that keep you awake at night. The wedding suite has a jacuzzi - and you'll hear nothing but circulating water all night long.

Room 14 - Whoohoo - paydirt. The family room on the ground floor at the other end. A king size bed, bunk beds and a cot. Quiet and away from the road - the perfect room

The facilities
Parking - plenty of parking, unless of course there is a function on, in which case, get in quick as hotel guests don't have reserved parking.

Food - great. Good prices - a variety that is frequently updated and locally sourced, great tasting, decent sized dishes ( Are you reading this Abbey Hotel ???) . Breakfast - great. Standard english breakfast menu, but the waitress remembers you from months ago, is pleasant and the whole experience starts your day off well.

The bar is a bar - standard pub prices, which it has to be when there is the Brown Cow next door.

Wifi was good across the hotel.

overall - pleasant stays for short visits or long term business.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torres Novas, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We stayed one night at this hotel in Dalton in furness because we were unable to get three nights at the Clarence House. This is a nice enough motel. It has an excellent restaurant and a nice bar. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was in an annexe in a loft conversion which was fine. The bathroom was ok and the furnishings although a bit dated (pine bed and wardrobe) some thought had gone into adding cushions on bed etc. I personally think it is a bit overpriced for what it is but we were on business expenses so that didn't really matter. The bed was really comfortable but we had one really major problem. The noise of an extractor fan from one of the rooms below. When we went back aftern dinner this was going on. we though it would go off after a few minutes but an hour later it was still there and our floor was even vibrating. We asked at reception for it to be turned off. After much messing about with turning off extractors in the wrong room, we finally got some peace after 2 hours and went to bed. Unfortunately it got turned on again at 5 am, this time only a few minutes but it had woken us up. Then it went off again at 6 am and continued. We decided it was time for an early breakfast and to leave. We were tired and had to drive all the way back to Kent. On telling reception that the problem still persisted they gave us just £10 off the bill. I personally would have paid them £10 extra to get rid of the noise and have some sleep and no headache. However, I would heartly recommend the restaurant here if you want a nice meal.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — The noise of the downstairs extractor fan
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linedanceangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We stayed at this property in June for a family wedding.

Whilst the wedding itself went very well , and it was well catered for, our own personal stay was ruined by the attitude shown to us, whilst there and moreso on our return home.

We stayed in the Dalton end of the hotel , and took the 3 rooms that were together. On arrival all looked ok and we took the bottom room.
There were lights out in the room , but we could still see with the bathroom light and the one bedside light , and as we were there for a wedding we didn't want to make a fuss. HOWEVER , in the morning of the weddding, my husband was taking a shower when he shouted out that there was water POURING through the bathroom light fittment. HOW DANGEROUS IS THAT ?
Extremely alarmed , we ran to the phone to call reception to inform them , but the phone didn't work either.. My husband changed , went to reception and asked to change room , to be informed that they did not have any other rooms. By this time the wedding was due to start in an hour and we couldn't relax getting ready , as the floor was covered in water , and we had to soak it up by using towels . We also informed the staff of this and were told they would be changed during the wedding. We had run upstairs to ensure our grown up children had not left anything running , and as they are both respectable and intelligent adults , we saw no dampness , or anywhere that was soaked . So the problem was not with them. Even the staff confirmed this when they examined the rooms. They said they could not identify the problem, and they saw there was no evidence of water on the floor upstairs.And they also saw that a few hours later the water was still dripping through our light fitting.
Coming back for a break in the wedding , our towels were still sopping wet on the floor , and again asked for them to be changed , again promised they would , and at 1am when the wedding finished , still no towels. In the morning we asked for a discount , as we were also unable to shower, and had no dry towels. but were told to take it up with the manager. When we returned home we emailed the manager.
The manager MR KARL [--] , as stated on the emails he sent, , said the fault laid with my son having a shower and not placing the shower curtain within the bath.. How proffessional is that to blame your guests ? Especially as his own staff had verified they could find no evidence of any water in the rooms above ours.. Then he blamed the housekeeping for not having the bulbs for lighting checked , as the housekepping was off,even though his hotel was booked out., and a wedding was taking place. He offered recompense , which did not arrive and when i asked 7 days later where it was sent to , incase it had been sent to the brides address in error, then we received a barrage of patronising , childish and un-neccessary emails . I am quite happy to share this with anyone wanting to see how the management of this hotel treat guests..
We HAVE stayed at this property before and it was ok , but after this time we would not cross their doorstep again.
Is this an unfair review ? I don't think so , especially as i have the original emails sent by the hotel and like this one , all my other reviews on this site are constructive, and fair.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone ,and we would advise you stay at Abbey House or another hotel whilst in the area, who respect their customers and deliver a professional service.

  • Disliked — The managers attitude
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank happycamperGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
0.2 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
707 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
#5 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
329 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
351 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#8 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Property: Chequers Hotel
Address: 9-10 Abbey Road, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chequers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional, family run hotel close to Barrow-in-Furness, Duddon Valley, Lake District and South lakes Wild Animal Park. Offering a warm welcome, friendly service, clean and comfortable surroundings to corporate guests, holiday makers and families alike.• 25 well appointed en-suite bedrooms• Flat screen televisions• Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel• Free car park • Room service• Restaurant open 7 days per week offering fresh, seasonal ingredients freshly cooked to order.• Real ale available in our lounge bar• Function and meeting rooms available • Unique wedding room (Civil Weddings & Partnerships). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chequers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing