We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night to Remember”
Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chequers Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Night to Remember”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

What a lovely place to stay, not to big and not to small. Very friendly staff, prompt & polite. The room was ideal, and the bathroom also with nice hot water for a shower, clean towels ( plenty of ) t.v in the room plus tea and coffee an iron and ironing board, what more could you ask for, oh and a nice double bed. People tend to say bad things about the bedroom etc. but how long do you actually stay in them ? Any way, me and the wife where down for a wedding whom i havent seen for 15 yrs, and it was great. There must of been about 50 guests and there was still room to manover, the staff worked really well to serve us, plus the food was excellent throughout. In the morning we had breakfast, and that aslo was brilliant, had cereal first with orange juice then they took our order for a full English and with in 10 mins it was served. All in all, it was brilliant.

Room Tip: room 22 which was on the right hand side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    79
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
48
119
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Hotel was easy to find in a quiet location with ample parking. Reception desk was directly in the front door with bell to call for service as the desk appeared to be unmanned at quiet periods; (when we arrived), we only waited 30 seconds for someone to come out. Helpful and polite receptionist gave quick easy check in. Entrance and bar decor traditional, clean and tidy. Room was a little difficult to get to on 1st floor through narrow doorways, no lift, though nothing to complain about. Bedroom and bathroom had very modern contempory decor which was in excellent condition, both very clean and tidy. Ample space to move around in the room, plenty of storage space; useful for anyone wishing to stay for a week or longer. Bed - comfortable with clean sheets. Only bad point about the room was that it was ridiculously hot when we went to bed at 1am and I was not able to turn the radiator down- though did not call reception to compalin. There was no wall window just a roof window (1st floor rooms were built into the roof), which only opened a small vent - not very useful to let in any air in the hot room. Had undisturbed nights sleep and breakfast was fresh and tasty served in clean, light and modern restaurant by a very happy, friendly waitress. Check out was smooth and timely. Overall had a lovely experience and would definitly reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask reception for rooms with windows that open
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed for business, last minute booking. Great customer service. Lovely quaint room. 5 min from dalton railway. Great breakfast in mornIng. Everything in room required.

Heating was on on arrival and room boiling, even once radiators were off woke up and room still very warm. Did mention on way out. Would still stay again

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I am reluctant to write anything negative about our one night stay at this hotel, but for some reason we left feeling just a little disappointed. That said, I find it really difficult to my finger on exactly why. The room was very clean, comfortable and adequate for a one night stay - so nothing wrong there. The staff were friendly, but in truth I felt they were all doing a bit more than one person should do and the service was perhaps therefore diluted. The restaurant meal was OK, but the restaurant lacked atmosphere and felt just a tad cold. Perhaps that is the penalty for a midweek overnight stay out of season. We had just returned from 'hotelling it' round Eire and Ulster and of all our hotels on the jaunt, this came lowest on the list.

We did find this hotel just a bit on the expensive side and in future we will stay further out at Newby Bridge and Lodore, but please don't let anyone else be totally put off by the tenor of this report - least of all the staff, who I am sure were doing their level best. On another occasion things might be totally different.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pplusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Just back from 2 nights at the Chequers Hotel, Dalton in Furness attending a family christening. What a pleasant surprise to find an extremely clean, modern hotel with well fitted out and decorated rooms. The standards were very high with very friendly and helpful staff. Had the weather been better we would have stayed an extra night. Good breakfast that could be a great breakfast with very little work. Didn't experience the restaurant but enjoyed a very good and hearty pub meal at the Brown Cow a 2 minute walk away (you may need to book). Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharkbait53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The Restaurant was very quiet for a Saturday night with just our table and another. The food was really good , although the menu was very limited, there was very little on it and no specials as there once used to be. The only negative point I have is when we went to the bar after dinner it was very noisy as there was a wedding which had spilled into the bar and the language was not what you really want to hear when your out for dinner , I think this is maybe why the restaurant is so quiet , as it used to be very busy once. It's a shame as this will stop me revisiting.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

this is the 2nd time we've stayed at Chequers, and the 2nd time we've been underwhelmed by the quality of the fittings and service. We book this hotel largely because the family rooms can accommodate ourselves and our two teenage sons. Whilst the room was clean, the furnishings and decor was distinctly dated, and with limited heating controls the heat of the room was unbearable. the first time we stayed we discovered that we were expected to make up the bunk beds ourselves - fine if you are staying in a hostel, not fine if you are paying over £100 per night. I was relieved to find the single beds were fully made up this time, but one of them was extremely old, worn and too soft. The facilities are pretty basic (small flatscreened tv hanging askew on the wall), and there is very little 'service' to speak of. Also, the function smoking area is directly outside the chalet-type rooms, which means that when there is a big do on it is very difficult to sleep for the sound of people socialising over their cigarettes. With the room stuffy and stifling, we were unable to sleep with the window open as we knew from previous experience that the smell of the cigarette smoke and noise of the party-goers would disturb our sleep. All in all, the hotel is ok and the building is pretty, but it is so not worth £100+ per night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethkilloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
0.2 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
323 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
688 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#7 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
110 reviews
16.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Property: Chequers Hotel
Address: 9-10 Abbey Road, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chequers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional, family run hotel close to Barrow-in-Furness, Duddon Valley, Lake District and South lakes Wild Animal Park. Offering a warm welcome, friendly service, clean and comfortable surroundings to corporate guests, holiday makers and families alike.• 25 well appointed en-suite bedrooms• Flat screen televisions• Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel• Free car park • Room service• Restaurant open 7 days per week offering fresh, seasonal ingredients freshly cooked to order.• Real ale available in our lounge bar• Function and meeting rooms available • Unique wedding room (Civil Weddings & Partnerships). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chequers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing