We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible service”
Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chequers Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
barrow in furness
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“terrible service”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

my partner and i had the misfortune to book a meal at this hotel 2/02/13. My first impression as that the place was quiet.we ordered the drinks and the menu was presented and the order taken one starter chicken wings second course surf and turf (king prawns) for me and a sirloin for my friend.After the first course which was decidedly mediocre we waited half an hour for the main.I complained about the wait and was assured twice that it was on its way.Well after receiving it it would have been better if it didn't arrive at all, the steak was small & greasy and swimming in something called a sauce which in reality looked like something from a bottom of a bin.The prawns (three) were the frozen variety and the mushrooms were from a tin even a free bottle of wine did,t placate me.All in all the evening was a disaster i.v had better meals in witherspoons for less than half the price.i will warn all friends and family to steer clear of this place.oh and the place was cold !!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    79
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
48
119
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
barrow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

stopped here with my wife to be food was excellent rooms were lovely just one thing the bar can be a bit hetic at times need more bar staff on and the bar was some what cold overwise very friendly and would stop again

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

work in barrow a lot and always try to book in at chequers. The rooms are clean and tidy and well looked after, a nice bar which is not overpriced, breakfast offers you a great choice of juices, cereals and free flowing coffee. The hot options allow you to pick and choose from a long list of freshly cooked local produce. The evening meals are very good, not a large selection but very well presented with large home cut chips. it is a pity that not many people use this excellent restaurant.

Room Tip: room 5 is excellent for family's
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed at the hotel on business trip last week i was pleasantly surprised at the size of the rooms the quality of the evening meals and the friendly staff serving both in the evening and at breakfast , just round the corner was a nice pub The Brown Cow (i think that was its name) the decor in the room (8) was good and the use of free WiFi was a bonus overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stay here regularly on business so as a returning customer that is a positive recommendation. Most of the rooms are good, those on the first floor in the main part of the hotel particularly so. Room Nos 1 to 15 (I think) are in an annex and tend to be small, less well decorated and suffer from traffic noise. Room Nos 18 and above are good. Whatever the room number they are always clean and the staff are friendly.

I have not eaten in the restaurant, preferring to eat in the bar area. The bar food can be a bit hit and miss. It is all reasonably priced and the service is very efficient but the menu is vary 'ordinary' and quite limited. I have had a couple of meals that were almost inedible but mostly they are quite tasty. If you want a different eating experience then go the Brown Cow pub which is literally only one minute's walk away. Huge choice, beautifully cooked, massive portions - hardly fine dining but you only need to eat there once each week!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the annex if you can. Room Nos 18 and above are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgsmg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Beautiful hotel, Excellent location. I stayed for two nights and attended a wedding in the hotel also. Rooms fabulous, attention to detail great, beautiful setting for a wedding. Unfortutantly, staff appeared uninterested in looking after their guests and did not appear to be able to cope with large numbers of people in the hotel. Service at the bar and the wedding meal was terrible. Food delicious when you eventually got it but huge gaps between cources, nobody got their food together and one ladies meal was forgotten about at our table!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bouncer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just arrived back from a 2 night stay at Chequers for a friends wedding! We had room 21 which we believe was a newly renovated part of the hotel! Very classy, decorated beautifully and very clean. The wedding itself was lovely, the food, the service and the room. Breakfast was good 2, they make to order so can have anything. Pretty flexible with times as well. There is only one very small negative, as it was a busy wedding day, the service at the bar was pretty chaotic, with food also being served to the public through the bar area, but other than that, bar was very reasonably priced for a hotel! Lovely stay n would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
0.2 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
325 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
698 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
340 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#7 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
110 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
#5 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Property: Chequers Hotel
Address: 9-10 Abbey Road, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chequers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional, family run hotel close to Barrow-in-Furness, Duddon Valley, Lake District and South lakes Wild Animal Park. Offering a warm welcome, friendly service, clean and comfortable surroundings to corporate guests, holiday makers and families alike.• 25 well appointed en-suite bedrooms• Flat screen televisions• Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel• Free car park • Room service• Restaurant open 7 days per week offering fresh, seasonal ingredients freshly cooked to order.• Real ale available in our lounge bar• Function and meeting rooms available • Unique wedding room (Civil Weddings & Partnerships). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chequers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing