We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chequers Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for one night following a trip to the Wildlife Park. Its a lovely quaint little hotel and the staff were very friendly and attentive. We had breakfast and evening meal in the hotel and they were both lovely. The evening meal was a decent price for a hotel and nice big portions. We stayed in a standard double room, it was a nice size and very modern and nicely decorated. I would defo stay again :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    80
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
51
119
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at Chequers recently when double booked nearby and they came to our assistance. Weather appalling but hotel warm and comfortable and very welcoming despite being busy with wedding at time

Extra Fresh linen provided as booked in which was itself quick and efficient though need to ensure all staff aware of any unexpected arrangements such as ours

Room comfortable with excellent en suite .and undisturbed by nearby wedding disco which we were made welcome to attend

Excellent breakfast next day set us up for long journey back down M6 and staff very friendly throughout

Convenient for village with number of pubs nearby and other facilities and both train and bus connections to Barrow and Lakes within short walking distance though hotel could have been more up to date with connection times and frequency

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celticboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had friends visiting the area and thought this would be ideal place to have our Sunday roast. What a disappointment and embarrassment.
Table booked for 5.30, bar service helpful and pleasant, drinks brought to us while waiting for our meal. Dining area lovely and comfortable.

Roast beef and yorkshire pudding arrived on the plates, very impressed. However then a dish of new potatoes covered in ? tomato puree and burnt roast potatoes. Seasonal veg consisted of beetroot, cauliflower cheese and mashed carrots squashed onto one serving dish. Had to ask for gravy as only small amount on the plate.

We were asked by our waitress if all was well however I didnt want to make a fuss or make our friends feel uncomfortable. So didnt say anything at this time. However I did tell her while the plates were being cleared away that we were very disappointed with the meal. Poor girl I didnt want to upset her as it was down to the chefs low standards.
We were happy to leave without ordering dessert or more drinks.

Wont be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericolvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights for a family wedding & was impressed from the moment we arrived, the staff were very friendly & helpful.
It took 2 mins to check in, the room (in the hotel) was spacious, clean & modern.
Special touches like water, biscuits & chocolates as well as toiletries included were also a bonus.
The bed was extremely comfortable, the room quiet & bathroom had a lovely power shower & plenty of towels.
The bar area was relaxing & reasonable for a hotel.
The wedding venue was lovely & is quite deceiving from the outside as to how big it actually is.
The gardens were lovely to sit out in & enjoy a glass of wine or two & lots of shops, pubs restaurants in walking distance. Reception can also offer great discounts @ local attractions such as the Zoo & pool.
Will definitely stay here again, check their website for great deals.
A hidden gem...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a family reunion and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The family rooms are spacious and comfortable.
Linen and towels were good and clean and fresh (tra la la)!
Service was warm and friendly.
The hotel is a very short walk into Dalton in Furnace and walking distance from the Clarence Hotel if you are there for a function.
Also on the doorstep is the Brown Cow Pub which serves excellent food.
Short drive into Barrow.
Breakfasts were ample and well prepared, although the weekend buffet style struggled with the volumes at times.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Just wanted to say thank you for an enjoyable stay. We took advantage of your internet 2 Night stay offer. The hotel is better than it looks in the photos..... peaceful, modern, up to date, clean and has everything you'd expect to find at a 5 Star. Despite two function taking place during our stay your efforts and hotel layout ensured we were not disturbed. Compliments to the chef too as at both times breakfast was the best we'd had in years. Evening meal did not disappoint either, excellent choice, taste and plenty of it, good job a comfy bed wasn't far! The location to the lakes made it an ideal choice, with many sights only a short drive away. Definitely a far better option than choosing some of the hotels offering an overpriced lake view! We've already been showing friends and family your site and hope to visit again very soon! It's so hard to find hotels with a personal touch where you don't fear for your life when you arrive, we're very impressed and credit is definitely due to you guys, thanks again :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Great place for a wedding, food was very good quality room layout brill to. Night time Hotel DJ a disappointment though with poor song choices book your own DJ is my advice. Stayed in a room overnight which was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast choice very good for all tastes. Great venue for a wedding even down to the church looking room the marriage takes place in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnydontdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
0.2 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
710 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
#5 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
329 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
351 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#8 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Property: Chequers Hotel
Address: 9-10 Abbey Road, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chequers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional, family run hotel close to Barrow-in-Furness, Duddon Valley, Lake District and South lakes Wild Animal Park. Offering a warm welcome, friendly service, clean and comfortable surroundings to corporate guests, holiday makers and families alike.• 25 well appointed en-suite bedrooms• Flat screen televisions• Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel• Free car park • Room service• Restaurant open 7 days per week offering fresh, seasonal ingredients freshly cooked to order.• Real ale available in our lounge bar• Function and meeting rooms available • Unique wedding room (Civil Weddings & Partnerships). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chequers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing