We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chequers Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunes Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chetwynde Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lisdoonie Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barrow in Furness(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Furness Railway Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambrose Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Majestic(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$70
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
122
87
30
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
87
30
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelsafari parkbrown cowevening mealfamily roomminute drivebuffet styleweekend breakan ironbunk bedsnice bathroommain buildinglake districtwould stay againbar area isfunction roomdressing table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here after a trip to the wildlife park which they provided us with a discount letter for. Fab quaint hotel rooms were modern,cosy and very clean with useful nik naks dotted around we had dinner at the hotel bar food was beautiful home made very good value. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki_Burton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for one night following a trip to the Wildlife Park. Its a lovely quaint little hotel and the staff were very friendly and attentive. We had breakfast and evening meal in the hotel and they were both lovely. The evening meal was a decent price for a hotel and nice big portions. We stayed in a standard double room, it was a nice size and very modern and nicely decorated. I would defo stay again :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at Chequers recently when double booked nearby and they came to our assistance. Weather appalling but hotel warm and comfortable and very welcoming despite being busy with wedding at time

Extra Fresh linen provided as booked in which was itself quick and efficient though need to ensure all staff aware of any unexpected arrangements such as ours

Room comfortable with excellent en suite .and undisturbed by nearby wedding disco which we were made welcome to attend

Excellent breakfast next day set us up for long journey back down M6 and staff very friendly throughout

Convenient for village with number of pubs nearby and other facilities and both train and bus connections to Barrow and Lakes within short walking distance though hotel could have been more up to date with connection times and frequency

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celticboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had friends visiting the area and thought this would be ideal place to have our Sunday roast. What a disappointment and embarrassment.
Table booked for 5.30, bar service helpful and pleasant, drinks brought to us while waiting for our meal. Dining area lovely and comfortable.

Roast beef and yorkshire pudding arrived on the plates, very impressed. However then a dish of new potatoes covered in ? tomato puree and burnt roast potatoes. Seasonal veg consisted of beetroot, cauliflower cheese and mashed carrots squashed onto one serving dish. Had to ask for gravy as only small amount on the plate.

We were asked by our waitress if all was well however I didnt want to make a fuss or make our friends feel uncomfortable. So didnt say anything at this time. However I did tell her while the plates were being cleared away that we were very disappointed with the meal. Poor girl I didnt want to upset her as it was down to the chefs low standards.
We were happy to leave without ordering dessert or more drinks.

Wont be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank ericolvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights for a family wedding & was impressed from the moment we arrived, the staff were very friendly & helpful.
It took 2 mins to check in, the room (in the hotel) was spacious, clean & modern.
Special touches like water, biscuits & chocolates as well as toiletries included were also a bonus.
The bed was extremely comfortable, the room quiet & bathroom had a lovely power shower & plenty of towels.
The bar area was relaxing & reasonable for a hotel.
The wedding venue was lovely & is quite deceiving from the outside as to how big it actually is.
The gardens were lovely to sit out in & enjoy a glass of wine or two & lots of shops, pubs restaurants in walking distance. Reception can also offer great discounts @ local attractions such as the Zoo & pool.
Will definitely stay here again, check their website for great deals.
A hidden gem...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews