We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chequers Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here with a travelzoo voucher for 2 nights including 3 course meal. It was excellent value. The hotel looks lovely from the outside and does not disappoint when you get inside. We stayed in room 21 at the front but never heard any traffic noise. It was nicely decorated and very clean. There was lots of cupboard/drawer space. The meal and breakfast were both very good. The staff all very friendly. The lady who waited on at breakfast was exceptional. She was very bright and bubbly and worked so hard. Breakfast on Saturday was very chaotic and every time you went to get something it wasn't there so you had to wait and by the time they arrived with that something else had run out. They should have had more staff on. You could hear other guests in other rooms.






Abbey Road, Dalton In Furness, Cumbria LA15 8LF
(View Map)
Phone: 01229 462124 was very c

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennynorthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Another very good Travel Zoo deal but it needs one or two touches to make it excellent. Location very good, room (6) good but bathroom fittings kept falling off the wall. Restaurant menu limited and to be asked for a £15 supplement to have the beef was quite frankly an insult.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassionateGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We arrived a little early which wasn't a problem accept there was a wedding on so had to disappear for a bit. Lovely place for a wedding. 2 hours or so later we came back and checked in to our spacious and very clean room. We had dinner which was lovely and breakfast equally lovely.
Staff were friendly and efficient. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had room 17 which was towards the back of the hotel which I guess could have made it quieter but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a two day break at Chequers Hotel via Tripadvisor which included dinner on the first night and free bottle of wine with dinner on second night. The hotel building is interestingly decorated with reminders of its previous life as a school, the hotel seemed to us to be extremely well-managed and the staff are all both friendly and helpful. Our room was pleasant and well equipped with niceties such as water, vanity set, tissues etc., the bed was comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. The food was good quality and interesting, drinks not excessively over-priced. Breakfast was buffet service, but the warming dishes were topped up regularly, so nothing had sat there for very long. Additionally a good variety of cereal &extra toppings, fruit, yoghurt etc. meant we didn't need to eat much at lunch- time! If you're just thinking about whether to go there, then just do it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggiloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Recently stayed at the Chequers Hotel for a week end brake, pleasantly surprised by the accommodation, staff and fine dining..This was a nice central clean hotel central to the area. An added bonus was the quality of food on offer. Will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joecassandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed at a converted school now known as the Chequers Hotel, 15 minutes from the Lake District. I must say it was value for money due to the offer we took up from Travelzoo. 2 nights for 2 people with dinner on 1st night, breakfast on both mornings & a free bottle of wine if eating in the classroom,sorry,restaurant, 2nd night. The restaurant, Poaka Beck, served buffet breakfast which was ok, some things were just warm & left under the lights for a while, especially the bacon & toast. However it was adequate. The evening meals were great, the restaurant was never busy. Our first night was a Sunday and they let us pay for the Sunday Roast, with free wine, and we had the a la carte on the next day. This wasn't extensive but I paid a £10 supplement for fillet steak and it was well worth it. Staff were pleasant & we stayed in room 12, which was a family room in the corner of the buildings and was very dark. However it was comfy but I couldn't get the wifi on my iPad. Tip, go to the South Lakes Animal Park, 10 minutes away. Ask at reception for a letter to get admission for £10 rather than £15, we'll worth a visit, much more hands on than a zoo!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Me and my husband came for our birthdays on thursday 29th may. The staff were very friendly and pleasant couldnt do enough for you. The food was excellent and the room was very clean and tidy. Would definitely go again it was a travelzoo offer for two night.

Mr & mrs m wilson

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123celebration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
0.2 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
741 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
512 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
#5 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
337 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Address: 9-10 Abbey Road, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range: £67 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chequers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional, family run hotel close to Barrow-in-Furness, Duddon Valley, Lake District and South lakes Wild Animal Park. Offering a warm welcome, friendly service, clean and comfortable surroundings to corporate guests, holiday makers and families alike.• 25 well appointed en-suite bedrooms• Flat screen televisions• Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel• Free car park • Room service• Restaurant open 7 days per week offering fresh, seasonal ingredients freshly cooked to order.• Real ale available in our lounge bar• Function and meeting rooms available • Unique wedding room (Civil Weddings & Partnerships). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing