We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable 2 days”
Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chequers Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable 2 days”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just spent a couple of days at this hotel in room 6..Staff were very accommodating, food very well cooked and presented and plenty of it. Room was clean and spacious. If there was a downside it would be being unable to see out of the windows owing to the dirt on them but as we were rarely in the room except for sleeping, it was not a problem for us. Ample free parking which was a bonus, ideally situated for trips to the Lakes. Choice of eating outlets in town which is a 2/3 minute walk away . All in all, a very pleasant mini break and certainly worth repeating if the offer comes up again...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    79
    25
    13
    7
See reviews for
46
117
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel located in an old school. We arrived at 1.30pm only to be told because the days wedding takes priority the room wouldn't be ready until 4pm so we went for a walk around Dalton in Furnace, came back an hour later to have a drink in the beautiful gardens only to find the bar staff & receptionist watching the wedding, no one to serve us drinks although we waited 20 minutes so we went to the Red Lion just down the road & enjoyed a few drinks in their beer garden until our room was ready at 4pm. The bedroom itself was extremely small but we were on a Travelzoo deal so understand we wouldn't be given the more expensive rooms unless we upgraded. The evening meal was ok but nothing to get excited about, the second night we ate at the Brown Cow which was very good. When we came to pay the bill I was shocked to be charged for bottles of wine that we hadn't had, when I challenged this the receptionist said very matter of fact "this happens all the time," I would recommend everyone to check their bill thoroughly. This is a beautiful looking hotel & it's a shame I have to give negative feedback but it's important to review a hotel as you see it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lLiverpoolSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just spent the weekend at the hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel was lovely, the food exceptional and the staff warm, friendly and helpful. I would recommend the hotel. Even though there was a wedding at the hotel we did not hear any noise, nor were we sharing a bar area with wedding guests. Weddings are held in a separate bar/room. A big thank you to the hotel staff for making our trip special.

Room Tip: Explain your requirements to the staff as I am sure they will tell you/accommodate your requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just a short note to say that after having just spent the last weekend in Chequers I would recommend it to everyone. The hotel staff were all very friendly and so efficient even although there was a wedding on Saturday Night there were still enough staff to answer any questions. The Room was large and very clean with a POWER SHOWER in bathroom (my goodness just brilliant) no need for a bath. The meals were ample in size and well priced for whatever you may have wanted. There was also more than ample food for breakfast. Will most certainly stay again next time in the area.
Douglas

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Eventhough this was a "special offer" asked for a nicer room as it was a birthday trip. Given room 19, small, by the main road, ground floor no air-conditioning so opening the sash windows was a security issue. Decor good, nice touches ie bottled water, iron, discount for Safari Park, friendly and helpful staff, restaurant reasonable - no apple sauce for pork and extra gravy lumpy, starter hot sea bass strips on cold potato salad, chocolate fondant good. Asked if larger rooms, told in the Annexe, but that would mean going outside to get to breakfast (torrential rain on the Friday) so glad in the actual Hotel. Would go back if another "deal" available.

Room Tip: At the back away from the main road, upstairs so can open windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane-journeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abruzzo
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,349 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Utter disaster! What's the point if you can't sleep! I had rung before booking - assured of a quiet room! Arrived at Reception - again asked is the room quiet? Yes Sir - our quietest room - no traffic noise, on the rear!
OMG the rear where we rock !
Restaurant : 1 hour 10 mins is more than enough to wait for food! We had booked our table prior to arriving 8pm. We had food in front of us 9:10.

What was to be a nice weekend away ended up being a battle between us whether to simply forget the weekend away and return home.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Caporciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla S, Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review our Hotel. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologise that we didn’t meet your standards. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality, service has always been our mission. The Hotel is going through numerous improvements both cosmetically and administrative, with this some small clerical errors that have resulted in your discomfort. Our newly appointed staff member was not under the impression that the room that was appointed to you would be susceptible to noise coming from the School Prom on the Friday, but we are glad we were able to resolve the issue by moving you to room 12 which was further from the function venue, and met your standards. Our Staff and Kitchen is fully equipped and experienced to handle high pressured environments but as the saying goes “Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans” The function had a late seating which overlapped with the restaurant and resulted in a slight wait in the restaurant. We have put all possible measures in place to ensure that this won’t happen again. If you come back to our Hotel I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best

Kindest Regards
Marketing Manager
Karla Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We visited The Chequers on a Travelzoo offer and were not disappointed. We were greeted by a young lady named Karen who was not only helpful but knowledgeable. about the local area and also the hotel itself. The room was small and more suited to single occupancy. It was also on the ground floor which made it noisy when the bar was busy late into the night. In fairness they did have a wedding on so the bar was busier and noisier than normal I would imagine.We dined in the hotel on the second night and the standard of the food was better that any we have encountered in this type of hotel. Added to this the friendliness and efficiency of the waiter made this a memorable dining experience. We would not hesitate to return (preferably to an upstairs room)

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AggSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
0.2 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#7 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Property: Chequers Hotel
Address: 9-10 Abbey Road, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chequers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional, family run hotel close to Barrow-in-Furness, Duddon Valley, Lake District and South lakes Wild Animal Park. Offering a warm welcome, friendly service, clean and comfortable surroundings to corporate guests, holiday makers and families alike.• 25 well appointed en-suite bedrooms• Flat screen televisions• Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel• Free car park • Room service• Restaurant open 7 days per week offering fresh, seasonal ingredients freshly cooked to order.• Real ale available in our lounge bar• Function and meeting rooms available • Unique wedding room (Civil Weddings & Partnerships). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chequers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing