We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chequered history”
Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chequers Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Chequered history”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just returned from an enjoyable two night break via Travelzoo. Excellent value for money.Chequers Hotel is an interesting old Church School building full of history which the current owners have displayed.We were a group of four and were all in the annexe ( two minutes from reception ). Our friends first floor front, whilst we were ground floor side. Our room had plenty space even with a double and two single beds. The room only had windows to the front and was a little dark as we had to keep the blinds part closed as other guests had to pass to gain access to the upper rooms. Noting the comments on Trip advisor re lack of air conditioning, we stuck a small desk fan in the car boot which kept the air circulating. The included first evening three course meal was well prepared and well presented. My sea bass and crayfish risotto was very good. We considered reporting the Chef to health and safety for the dessert of Eton Mess. It was so tasty, we tried not to eat it all but couldnt resist. Two full English breakfasts with wonderful scrambled eggs just about finished me. It would be unfair to single out any one member of staff as all were friendly and efficient. Beer and wine charges were average for Hotel fare. A good break.

Room Tip: We had room 5. very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emgee205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    80
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
51
119
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leyland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week and we were very impressed. It's a lovely old school which has been converted into a hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We had an evening meal on the first night and all the food was excellent. If there was a downside I would agree with LiverpoolSteve that our room was cramped. We also went on a Travelzoo deal so I assumed the same as Steve that we hadn't been given the more expensive rooms. But we met two other couples who were on the deal also and they said the same. However, saying that, we would go to stay at this hotel again as everything apart from the room size was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just spent a couple of days at this hotel in room 6..Staff were very accommodating, food very well cooked and presented and plenty of it. Room was clean and spacious. If there was a downside it would be being unable to see out of the windows owing to the dirt on them but as we were rarely in the room except for sleeping, it was not a problem for us. Ample free parking which was a bonus, ideally situated for trips to the Lakes. Choice of eating outlets in town which is a 2/3 minute walk away . All in all, a very pleasant mini break and certainly worth repeating if the offer comes up again...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel located in an old school. We arrived at 1.30pm only to be told because the days wedding takes priority the room wouldn't be ready until 4pm so we went for a walk around Dalton in Furnace, came back an hour later to have a drink in the beautiful gardens only to find the bar staff & receptionist watching the wedding, no one to serve us drinks although we waited 20 minutes so we went to the Red Lion just down the road & enjoyed a few drinks in their beer garden until our room was ready at 4pm. The bedroom itself was extremely small but we were on a Travelzoo deal so understand we wouldn't be given the more expensive rooms unless we upgraded. The evening meal was ok but nothing to get excited about, the second night we ate at the Brown Cow which was very good. When we came to pay the bill I was shocked to be charged for bottles of wine that we hadn't had, when I challenged this the receptionist said very matter of fact "this happens all the time," I would recommend everyone to check their bill thoroughly. This is a beautiful looking hotel & it's a shame I have to give negative feedback but it's important to review a hotel as you see it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lLiverpoolSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just spent the weekend at the hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel was lovely, the food exceptional and the staff warm, friendly and helpful. I would recommend the hotel. Even though there was a wedding at the hotel we did not hear any noise, nor were we sharing a bar area with wedding guests. Weddings are held in a separate bar/room. A big thank you to the hotel staff for making our trip special.

Room Tip: Explain your requirements to the staff as I am sure they will tell you/accommodate your requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just a short note to say that after having just spent the last weekend in Chequers I would recommend it to everyone. The hotel staff were all very friendly and so efficient even although there was a wedding on Saturday Night there were still enough staff to answer any questions. The Room was large and very clean with a POWER SHOWER in bathroom (my goodness just brilliant) no need for a bath. The meals were ample in size and well priced for whatever you may have wanted. There was also more than ample food for breakfast. Will most certainly stay again next time in the area.
Douglas

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Eventhough this was a "special offer" asked for a nicer room as it was a birthday trip. Given room 19, small, by the main road, ground floor no air-conditioning so opening the sash windows was a security issue. Decor good, nice touches ie bottled water, iron, discount for Safari Park, friendly and helpful staff, restaurant reasonable - no apple sauce for pork and extra gravy lumpy, starter hot sea bass strips on cold potato salad, chocolate fondant good. Asked if larger rooms, told in the Annexe, but that would mean going outside to get to breakfast (torrential rain on the Friday) so glad in the actual Hotel. Would go back if another "deal" available.

Room Tip: At the back away from the main road, upstairs so can open windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane-journeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
0.2 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
710 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
#5 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
329 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
351 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#9 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Property: Chequers Hotel
Address: 9-10 Abbey Road, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chequers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional, family run hotel close to Barrow-in-Furness, Duddon Valley, Lake District and South lakes Wild Animal Park. Offering a warm welcome, friendly service, clean and comfortable surroundings to corporate guests, holiday makers and families alike.• 25 well appointed en-suite bedrooms• Flat screen televisions• Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel• Free car park • Room service• Restaurant open 7 days per week offering fresh, seasonal ingredients freshly cooked to order.• Real ale available in our lounge bar• Function and meeting rooms available • Unique wedding room (Civil Weddings & Partnerships). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chequers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing