We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceptive...”
Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chequers Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceptive...”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

From the outside, this is a lovely looking hotel in a cracking location but sadly things were not quite so good inside. The staff were very friendly but not particularly organised, I paid on arrival and was asked to pay again on departure. To makes matters worse, when I questioned why my room was dearer than the price quoted on the chart in reception it was suggested that the chart was out of date and to get the best deal I should have gone to Travelzoo - that will teach me to book directly with the hotel! The room was very clean but small. Breakfast was good-when we eventually got served, nobody seemed to know which orders had been taken and which had not- and the bar was comfortable but not particularly welcoming. Our experience was not helped by the noise made by departing guests (boxing event first evening and warring guests leaving a wedding party on the second night) which made sleeping difficult. Overall this was an average hotel with the potential to be much more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmsallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    80
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
51
119
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited this hotel through a travelzoo deal and it was excellent value for money. The room was on the small side and I was a little disappointed when we opened the door. It was furnished by IKEA with a open unit for the wardrobe and it felt as if everything was done on the cheap. The deal included first evening three course meal was well prepared and well presented and very very good. The second night we got a free bottle of wine with our meal (had to pay for the second night). Again it was excellent. The first morning breakfast was brought to the table but the second morning it was a self service buffet. What they did for breakfast was very good, my issue is what they didn't do. No croissants or Danish pastry's. The staff were all friendly and efficient. The quality of the food was good enough for me to forget about the room and I would recommend this hotel..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnshireRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel looks great from the outside and the staff are generally helpful and friendly, but it had too many little niggles for me to want to return.
Bar area is rather bland. Not what you would expect from the outside.
Breakfast was disorganised as the guests didn't know what to do or where to go although the food was excellent.
Matt well in the room was broken and caused door to jam but the room was very clean.
Cant buy peanuts etc. with your drink - you have to go and use a machine outside the toilets.

Room Tip: Stay away from the court yard if you want a sunny room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I am biased as I am a Cumbrian ,know the area well and my wife and I live about 60 miles away!!
We were on a Travelzoo deal 2 nights 25th and 26th July 2014.Worth every penny.
Excellent accomodation.excellent food and very friendly,helpfull staff .The restaurant is upstairs in the main building via staircase in the bar and no lift.If guests have mobility problem I am sure hotel staff would make a table up in the bar area.

Would the owner please repair the lift from kitchen to upstairs restaurant.The hard working staff must get exhausted running (and I mean running) up and down all the time!!

There was a wedding party on the Saturday-no problems at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49Banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Booked in here with business...usually stay a the Premier Inn in town...and was so pleased we did. Room was clean, tidy and the bathroom had all you needed including a powerful shower

The food at dinner, on the two nights, and breakfast was good value for money. All the staff we met were cheerful polite and helpful. Have already booked for a return visit in a few weeks time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1953Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My partner an I stay recently for 2 nights. We found the hotel to be really nice and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The rooms there seem to be all Apartment type rooms so you are not in a long type corridor with 15 other people, which I found alot better. Breakfast was enjoyable and not at all greasy. The only downside for me was the bed was slightly small and uncomfortable, which is why I have have knocked it down 1 overall star. We did however enjoy our stay very much. It is in the better half of Dalton with a very good pub literally less than 300 yards away called the Brown cow,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston Super Mare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent last weekend at this small hotel and found it very nice. We would have liked our room to have been better placed as it was dark during the daytime because of having to keep the blinds almost closed for privacy. The staff great and friendly, couldn't do enough for the guests. Both the breakfast and dinner brilliant, a very good chef as the dinner especially was cooked to perfection and very well presented. There was a wedding taking place on the Saturday but it didn't deter the staff from looking after the rest of the guests whilst it was going on. Loved the look of the hotel, very stylish but kept to the original Old School House look. We enjoyed a 2 mile walk, setting off from the left of the hotel along a railway track on one side and fields on the other. Got to visit Barrow in Furness (worth a visit) as well as other interesting places. Would like to visit again one day!

Room Tip: Ask before booking if you can have a room in the actual hotel rather than the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarrieH239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
0.2 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
712 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
#5 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
329 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
351 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#7 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Property: Chequers Hotel
Address: 9-10 Abbey Road, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chequers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional, family run hotel close to Barrow-in-Furness, Duddon Valley, Lake District and South lakes Wild Animal Park. Offering a warm welcome, friendly service, clean and comfortable surroundings to corporate guests, holiday makers and families alike.• 25 well appointed en-suite bedrooms• Flat screen televisions• Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel• Free car park • Room service• Restaurant open 7 days per week offering fresh, seasonal ingredients freshly cooked to order.• Real ale available in our lounge bar• Function and meeting rooms available • Unique wedding room (Civil Weddings & Partnerships). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chequers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing