We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travel Zoo Break.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chequers Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Travel Zoo Break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Great short break.We arrived early and was not expecting room to be ready but it was,we we greeted by very welcoming receptionist who gave us good advice about the area.Our room was very nicely decorated and bathroom was good.We were on a deal which included 3course meal on first night.The food was very good but have to say I would have had steak but a surcharge of 10 pounds was ridiculous as the menu price was only a couple of pound more than the main that I chose,also there was a 5 pound surcharge on the scallops which on the menu were only a pound dearer than chosen starter!!!!! I felt breakfast choice was a little basic but ok,have had a lot better.The staff we encountered we all very pleasant.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dickocj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    79
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
43
117
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gwent
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Charming room with all the trimmings of a 4* hotel including a ceiling fan (invaluable during warm weather), modern ensuite bathroom with huge walkin shower and lovely fluffy white towels. Clean, very comfortable bed with pristine bedding. Excellent evening meal (one of the best steaks I have had in a very long time), desserts to die for. Staff couldn't do enough for you - but note to management - please get the dumb waiter repaired, we so felt sorry for waiting staff having to run up and down stairs with food. Hotel itself is very quirky and has been refurbished to a very high standard, convenient for visiting south lakes.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank AvrilmastWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We checked in late Sunday pm and were told that as they only did Sunday roast dinners on Sundays we couldn't have the 3 course a la carte meal until day 2. This didn't bother us too much but we chose to eat elsewhere 1st evening as we didn't particularly fancy a roast dinner. The room was clean but very dark and dingy as the window was very small for the size of room and we had to switch the ceiling, wall and standing lights on during the day to achieve some half-decent light in the room. The room had no telephone to contact reception and also felt slightly damp. Breakfasts were ok and the staff serving were friendly and helpful. On Monday we spent a lovely day on Lake Coniston and at the end of the day were looking forward to our 3 course a la carte meal. However, after perusing the a la carte menu that evening and anticipating a delicious meal, we were extremely disappointed to be told that there was a surcharge for the scallop starter, all 3 of the beef main dishes as well as the venison main dish. Also, the lamb had sold out. That left us with a choice of corn fed chicken, belly pork, fish and chips, sea bass and a vegetarian dish if we wanted to take advantage of our "free 3 course meal" (there were only 10 choices in total of main dishes). I complained that the choices left to us were very poor and if I didn't like fish and wasn't a vegetarian, I was in fact left with either corn fed chicken or belly pork! Hardly "a la carte"!! We complained that the Travel Zoo offer did not mention anything about surcharges on certain dishes but the waiter argued that the offer was for a 3 course meal "up to £26" and that some of the dishes on the menu would exceed that if chosen, which was true enough but still very misleading as we weren't to know what the individual dishes would cost when booking the break. My husband suggested that if he just had the rib eye steak and scallops and no dessert it would not exceed £26. The waiter went away to check if that could be done and returned to say that was ok. By this time I was feeling the opposite of relaxed and also embarrassed and annoyed that we were having this palaver with the menu! So my husband had 2 tiny scallops (which he said were nice) and a very nice rib eye steak. I chose a 3 course meal within the £26 limit (had the belly pork which offered me 3 fork-fulls of meat and the rest fat). My starter and dessert were ok. It must be said that the staff remained very polite and helpful throughout the evening. We also became aware of another couple apparently on the same Travel zoo break who were very annoyed at the unexpected surcharge and argued their point with the waiter and then asked for the manager who told them that if they did not pay the surcharge for the requested beef dishes, the chef would not cook them! All in all an extremely disappointing evening. On checking out the following day I did not expect to have to pay anything and was surprised (or maybe I shouldn't have been) when presented with a £10.50 surcharge for the rib eye steak. I stated that that hadn't been the agreement with the restaurant staff the previous evening and the receptionist immediately turned snooty and abruptly dismissed me with a brief "fine" and turned her back on me! We would definitely NOT recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Higher floors might have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EvaLeighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla S, Owner at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we respect all reviews and are continuously making improvements within the Hotel to improve our guests overall experience.
We are disappointed that you were disappointed. However let me explain the economics of the Travel Zoo deal. The hotel only receives a fraction (circa 69% after fees) of the price, that (You) the customer pays to Travel Zoo. From this figure you are provided with: 2 nights’ double accommodation, two 3 course meals and a free bottle of wine on the second evening. We cannot possibly include “expensive to purchase” items, such as; King Scallops, Prime Local Steak and Venison Haunch, within this deal (OR rather we could, but we’d be out of business pronto!). When purchasing a meal you are buying the Chefs expertise and time, not just the ingredients.
We will look into the issue of limited meal choices, as ordinarily there are a further 12 or more specials of the day to choose from.
I hope this clarifies matters for you.

Kindest Regards
Managing Director
Karl Benn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely couple of nights in this part of the lake district. The hotel is old and charming and comfortable.
We had an excellent 3 course dinner which was included in the price. I could not fault this meal. The staff were fantastic helpful and very friendly.
Would recommend it

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

From the outside, this is a lovely looking hotel in a cracking location but sadly things were not quite so good inside. The staff were very friendly but not particularly organised, I paid on arrival and was asked to pay again on departure. To makes matters worse, when I questioned why my room was dearer than the price quoted on the chart in reception it was suggested that the chart was out of date and to get the best deal I should have gone to Travelzoo - that will teach me to book directly with the hotel! The room was very clean but small. Breakfast was good-when we eventually got served, nobody seemed to know which orders had been taken and which had not- and the bar was comfortable but not particularly welcoming. Our experience was not helped by the noise made by departing guests (boxing event first evening and warring guests leaving a wedding party on the second night) which made sleeping difficult. Overall this was an average hotel with the potential to be much more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wmsallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited this hotel through a travelzoo deal and it was excellent value for money. The room was on the small side and I was a little disappointed when we opened the door. It was furnished by IKEA with a open unit for the wardrobe and it felt as if everything was done on the cheap. The deal included first evening three course meal was well prepared and well presented and very very good. The second night we got a free bottle of wine with our meal (had to pay for the second night). Again it was excellent. The first morning breakfast was brought to the table but the second morning it was a self service buffet. What they did for breakfast was very good, my issue is what they didn't do. No croissants or Danish pastry's. The staff were all friendly and efficient. The quality of the food was good enough for me to forget about the room and I would recommend this hotel..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnshireRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel looks great from the outside and the staff are generally helpful and friendly, but it had too many little niggles for me to want to return.
Bar area is rather bland. Not what you would expect from the outside.
Breakfast was disorganised as the guests didn't know what to do or where to go although the food was excellent.
Matt well in the room was broken and caused door to jam but the room was very clean.
Cant buy peanuts etc. with your drink - you have to go and use a machine outside the toilets.

Room Tip: Stay away from the court yard if you want a sunny room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
0.2 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
10.6 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Property: Chequers Hotel
Address: 9-10 Abbey Road, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chequers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional, family run hotel close to Barrow-in-Furness, Duddon Valley, Lake District and South lakes Wild Animal Park. Offering a warm welcome, friendly service, clean and comfortable surroundings to corporate guests, holiday makers and families alike.• 25 well appointed en-suite bedrooms• Flat screen televisions• Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel• Free car park • Room service• Restaurant open 7 days per week offering fresh, seasonal ingredients freshly cooked to order.• Real ale available in our lounge bar• Function and meeting rooms available • Unique wedding room (Civil Weddings & Partnerships). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chequers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing