We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with outstanding food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel with outstanding food”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel four times but not normally had an evening meal here. As my Wife was with me and the weather a little wet we decided to have dinner in the restaurant. Pre dinner drinks were accompanied by fine and delicious canapes of outstanding quality. The meal was excellent and one of the most memorable we have had. Breakfasts were very hearty with many choices.
One slight niggle was every time you wanted a drink you had to sign a chitty. With only a small number of guests I would have thought it very easy to keep a running total so you could sign off at the end of the evening. Not good when you are brought another drink to the table and have to sign each time.
Overall, I would not let that put me off and I will certainly return and eat in the restaurant

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room in the main hotel. Previously I have been in the courtyard and have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieCobra60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    57
    39
    32
    37
See reviews for
91
70
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Having stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions with the exception of the heating problem See previous reviews! The service, rooms, food was excellent. I found the bar staff in particular very helpful and provided a very good service to his customers. I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends they just need to sort out the heating although a portable heater was provided until the heating eventually came on. To the manager of this hotel put some money in the gas meter and get the heating on ! Also purchase a front door bell

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Hotel is beautiful and it probably has great potential to be outstanding but... it just didn't work for us. Call it bad luck... see below for you to judge.
We got there at 8pm: first impression was that of a cold, although very professional, reception from the manager (also maitre-de-salle in the restaurant). Radiators were not working - we were told that they had been ok up to the night before, however in 3 days they never managed to get them to work. We were given electric heaters, which certainly helped (although bathroom remained cold).
The following morning (excellent breakfast) we booked for dinner in the restaurant at 7.30pm, following reviews on this website. Comes 7.30pm, ths is what happens: our reservation had not been registered. They find us a table and start taking our orders by 9pm. We have 2 kids, devastated after a day out in the Lake District: we get served when one is already asleep (10pm), and the other can barely stay awake. Food was good, but frankly we were no longer in the right mood to enjoy it.
Next day, we come back from our day trip and our room has not been cleaned, plus now not only radiators are still off, but there is no power in sockets. They call an electrician who cannot sort it out, so we are moved to another (better) room. Through all this, the feeling is that they were always trying to make up excuses rather than acting on our requests. And believe me, we are not unreasonable / fussy at all.
So, all in all: beautiful structure, good food at the restaurant. But management and service were disappointing several times, and certainly I would not recommend the restaurant for dinner with young kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarencehsehotel, Manager at Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Clarence House prides itself on the service the staff provides to ALL guests of the hotel and we are the first to hold our hands up if things go wrong.
However:
1. If you put up the do not disturb sign on your bedroom door. WE DO NOT DISTURB THEREFORE THE ROOM DOES NOT GET CLEANED.
2. If you make a reservation in the restaurant and turn up late. WE HAVE NO CONTROL OF THIS ALTHOUGH WE WILL DO OUR VERY BEST TO ACCOMMODATE YOU.
3. If you tell use not to clear your table. WE DO NOT CLEAR THE TABLE AND THIS DOES SLOW SERVICE. Although you did depart the restaurant at 9pm.
4. If radiators are turned off. WE WILL COME AND TURN THEM ON FOR YOU IF YOU WISH.
5. If there is an electrical fault. WE CALL IN A PROFESSIONAL.
6. If you rude and abusive to my staff. WE WILL ASK YOU TO LEAVE!!!!!!!!
7. If you threaten us with a bad review on trip advisor unless we discount the bill.
WE WILL NOT BE THREATENED.

I AM SO SORRY TO ALL WHO ARE READING THIS RESPONSE AS WE ARE A COUNTRY HOUSE HOTEL AND ARE NOT USE TO ABUSIVE BEHAVIOR OR THREATS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We visited Clarence House for lunch on a friend's recommendation, and we are so glad we listened to her! There was a roaring log fire and welcoming staff who seated us right next to it and never once hurried us through the experience. I ordered tea as it was so cold outside, which was silver-served, and there was a selection of local beers for my boyfriend to sample, which were also very nice.
We shared a blue cheese, walnut and poached pear salad to start, with warm bread rolls. We then both had an enormous burger each, with fat-cut chips and homemade coleslaw. Everything was fresh, with amazing attention to detail, and we immediately asked to book lunch for the next day, which we were unfortunately unable to do due to our own schedule. We will return, hopefully to stay with you, but thank you for a wonderful, leisurely afternoon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank broadwayrachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Having attended a wedding this Sunday I felt I had to write how superb it was. From the arrival to leaving I could not fault a thing. The staff were happy and very attentive, the food out of this world not rushed and the flavors incredible and surroundings just perfect for a wedding day. Having attended weddings in many different venues around the country Clarence House stands out as one of my most favourite.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Our wedding at Clarence House was awful I was so disappointed, it's a lovely setting BUT, wrong starter, forgot mums flowers , two rooms we were told we could have we didn't so 81 guests in 2 small rooms and nowhere for us all to sit before meal. Mic didn't work, burning candle fell on my flower girl she was so upset, music wouldn't play at reception, we were assured it would. Staff looked totally miserable. Was assured the cake and drinks would be served in beautiful orangery, we couldn't go in!! Altogether it was awful we are still very upset about it .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polperro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in the family room with husband, two kids and dog! Was amazing room was beautifully done and spotlessly clean! Greeted by very friendly gentleman on arrival. Breakfast next morning was first class, my husband had the haddock and poached egg and said it was best breakfast he has ever had!! Loved every minute only one problem we didn't stay long enough will definately be back for visit!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natemilybea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
0.2 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
11.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
16.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Mount Pleasant | Dalton in Furness, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room in Clarence House is decorated and designed to an individual theme using rich fabrics and upholstery in deep burgundies and fresh creams.For a very special night to remember, the supremely comfortable beds boast thickly padded headboards and feather top mattresses that wrap you in an all-enveloping warmth. 'The best sleep ever' praise all the visitors.Bathrooms are beautifully appointed and include luxury toiletries, while carefully chosen pieces of furniture enhance the bespoke feel. The modern touch has not been neglected, and suites feature communications facilities and work areas for business guests.This inviting environment is more indulgent living than impersonal hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence House Country Hotel And Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing