We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reccomended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
england
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Reccomended”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Have stayed here a few times and will always come back. Most comfortable beds in the rooms in the cottages, great amenities. Made to feel very welcome and special. Food excellent, fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kikiakabussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    57
    39
    32
    37
See reviews for
91
70
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I spent one night staying in the Clarence hotel Dalton on business. the hotel is rated at 4 star. I would suggest this is to high, I was allocated room 13 which is in the annex a large room with all the amenities you would expect from a hotel the room was clean the bathroom was of an adequate size but there was a load noise from the pipe work when ever the water was turned on which lasted 3-4 minutes after it had been switched off. the sleep quality was good bed comfortable with no noise from other rooms, the receptionist in the evening was very busy on the phone, I visited twice both times kept waiting for 10 to 15 minutes while he was on the phone in fact the second time a waiter from the restaurant, actual came over and answer my query.
I had a evening meal in the hotel which was very nice, presented very well the term too much quality not enough quantity comes to mind, the breakfast in the morning was very good with servings starting at 6:30 idea if you have an early start

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My daughter took us to Clarence House for drinks for my birthday treat. The bar was extremely welcoming with a log fire and comfy chairs, and, since it was Christmas, the decorations were superb too! The bar staff couldn't have been more courteous and made me feel like a cherished customer. It truly was a personal service. The lounge too, provides a wealth of comfy sofas to sink into whilst enjoying your drinks. I also caught a glimpse of the restaurant and the conservatory and will definitely make another visit! The ambience is wonderful and I would certainly recommend this lovely venue to anyone.Dalton should be really proud to have this luxury country house hotel at its centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I have never been to a place that was ill-equipped to provide a decent service..
Cattle Market
Food terrible
Lack of friendly staff
Not an experience I ever want to experience again
I advise anyone to avoid

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised. Clarence House has always been one of the most attractive in this area, but on this occasion, I had a very comfortable bedroom, study & bath/shower room and the meal was unique, tasty and just the right amount. The dining room atmosphere was very good, even though I was on my own. A pleasant experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank kensington3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The place was busy as it seemed be change of sitting, one lot out, next lot in. Nowhere to sit on arrival, staff rushed, bar far too small for amount of people trying to get served, reception rooms clean but dated. Lots of plastic plants cheapened the rooms. Lovely new toilet area but used paper towels spoilt the impression, obviously not been checked for a while. Food uninspiring and also caught in a time warp as most seemed to be coated in mayonnaise. Great for your Granny!
A lovely setting but missing its potential in so many ways. I'll try it again in another 10 years.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed on a business trip. This hotel has all the potential to excel - lovely public areas, clean and comfortable bedrooms...but the shortage of staff was painfully obvious.

Breakfast took an age - both in taking my order...and serving (despite the dining area being quiet) and check out was met with an unmanned reception (@ 7·30am!) Which was v disappointing and left customers feeling very negative as they left.

By employing one or two more staff, the whole experience could have been so so more pleasurable.




  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david8242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
0.2 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
11.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
16.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Mount Pleasant | Dalton in Furness, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room in Clarence House is decorated and designed to an individual theme using rich fabrics and upholstery in deep burgundies and fresh creams.For a very special night to remember, the supremely comfortable beds boast thickly padded headboards and feather top mattresses that wrap you in an all-enveloping warmth. 'The best sleep ever' praise all the visitors.Bathrooms are beautifully appointed and include luxury toiletries, while carefully chosen pieces of furniture enhance the bespoke feel. The modern touch has not been neglected, and suites feature communications facilities and work areas for business guests.This inviting environment is more indulgent living than impersonal hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence House Country Hotel And Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing