We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel where you can't get food on a Sunday evening!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hotel where you can't get food on a Sunday evening!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Booked for an overnight stay on a Sunday.
Arrived at 8:30pm after a 6 hour journey and tried to book a table for dinner and was told that the restaurant was not open on Sunday evenings!!The receptionist thought that this was not unusual for a hotel and suggested a pub up the road - I ended up getting a takeaway from the local Chinese - I might as well have stayed in a Premier Inn.
Service from the evening staff(only one on duty) was indifferent.
Breakfast however was very good and the bedroom was large and comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 4 was very spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Google51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    59
    39
    32
    38
See reviews for
94
72
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

In our experience the Clarence House hotel is a restaurant, with some hotel guests. The staff were far more interested in their dinner guests than residents.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were shown to our room, the check in was brief and the only explanation we were given was that the only dinner option that evening was a carvery & the breakfast times for the following morning.

The initial impression of the room was positive, but then niggling issues like the wallpaper peeling off the wall and mildew around the shower screen began to appear. The extractor fan in the bathroom was incredibly loud, so loud you could hear the one in the room next door. Although you could also hear your neighbours talking and sneezing, a polite "bless you" seemed only appropriate under the circumstances.

Another feature of the room were the large lamps on the bedside tables, so big that you cannot safely get anything else on them. A glass of water can easily be knocked off.

The only information in the room was a brochure for conferencing facilities, no guide to the hotel & its facilities.

The service at dinner was appalling, we were sat at a table but not offered drinks. Were we to order at the bar that wasn't staffed, or wait to be noticed by a member of staff? We opted for a third option and so heckled a waiter who then fixed us our drinks.

The jug of water we were also given had three large chips in the top of it, sharp enough that it could easily have cut somebody.

After we had finished our main course we sat for at least fifteen minutes as the staff cleared the dining area around us, our plates were taken away but no desert menus followed. Eventually when the restaurant was empty aside from us we were asked if we wanted desert. We declined, having gone beyond the time when were hungry.

We didn't have a member of waiting staff responsible for our table, staff patrolled the dining area but nobody took responsibility for us.

Rather than spoil our evening further by complaining at the time, we chose to limit our time and expense at the hotel.

Throughout the rest of our staff none of the staff enquired as to whether we were enjoying our stay, or if they could help at all. Rhetorical questions are perhaps best left unspoken!

When we checked out we found that dinner had cost £30 a head and that it was a fixed price menu that included our elusive deserts. The individual on reception, who could have been the Manager for all I know as they did not introduce themselves, deducted it without argument (or any other words except those asking for payment).

To the Clarence House management, we are sorry if we got in the way of your diners during our stay. We won't do it again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TalkToMeGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Just spent a great weekend her the only down side was a party of 4 who were intent on getting their money back for their Saturday night meal after clearing all their food then then complained about the food being over cooked, Trouble was when they left we overheard them saying this did for a bet and duly we informed the management.
The bar staff were very friendly ,as were all staff, food was plentiful and well presented
The room we where allocated di not have any hot water but as soon as we made the staff aware of this we where moved, we were later told the boiler for this room was broken,
can recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Room 1 is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citylink4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I chose here as an ideal venue to catch up with a friend I've not seen for many years. I was right to do so, Clarence House is a restaurant that has thought about its guest in its very design. From the welcoming hotel reception, to the coal fire in the bar and the sumptuous seating in the conservatory. We were served with drinks immediately and given a moment to take in the surroundings and peruse the menu. We decided on the tempura prawns to start and fish and chips for the main meal after which we were escorted to the dining room. Both meals were delicious (light battered and not to greasy). We retired back to the comfy seats for coffee. Which we were permitted to drink at our own pace with no rush to present the bill. This was perfect allowing my friend to relax and chat about old times. As my title reveals after a pleasant dining experience, beautiful food in luxurious surroundings I was left wondering only one thing. Why don't I come here more often. Note to self to rectify that.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capturethemood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Went to a strange buffet/sit down meal experience at Clarence House. As ever the drinks were expensive and the staff surly but the meal itself is worth commenting on. The starters were a buffet but it wasn't a free for all we were marched up in order by the officious staff who hovered to make sure we didn't take too much. Then we were taken up table by table to a carvery where slices of meat and potatoes were strictly rationed. It all felt a little penny pitching to be honest. There was then a huge wait before pudding and coffee which resulted in the meal taking over 3 hours. Very, very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davehelen1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Very disappointing for £16.95 a head hardly any finger sandwiches basically 4 each with half the crusts on and half the crusts off, basically someone couldn't be bothered to do their job properly and far too many cakes filled with cream just to try and distract from the fact some of the cakes where slightly stale. Would never return think they need to seriously review what they are trying sell here. Having spoken to others about my experience I have heard the same comments from family and friends. Total bill came to £40.00 as two diet cokes where £6.00. Daughter also found a 2 inch long piece of string hanging out of her tiny cucumber sandwich. We where offered a complimentary drink but declined as we just wanted to leave. We took the remaining cakes away with us and left the whole serving of clotted cream and jam untouched as we just couldn't eat that amount of sickly cakes and not many sandwiches. We actually left and went straight to another restaurant to eat a proper meal as we where still hungry.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank MTodd77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The quality and experience at breakfast form your last impression after a hotel stay, we were not disappointed at Clarence House, it was excellent.

Lovely value for money hotel, we will stay again when visiting family.

Room Tip: Great breakfast - lovely conservatory restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
1.4 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
698 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
500 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
74 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#7 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
110 reviews
16.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Mount Pleasant | Dalton in Furness, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room in Clarence House is decorated and designed to an individual theme using rich fabrics and upholstery in deep burgundies and fresh creams.For a very special night to remember, the supremely comfortable beds boast thickly padded headboards and feather top mattresses that wrap you in an all-enveloping warmth. 'The best sleep ever' praise all the visitors.Bathrooms are beautifully appointed and include luxury toiletries, while carefully chosen pieces of furniture enhance the bespoke feel. The modern touch has not been neglected, and suites feature communications facilities and work areas for business guests.This inviting environment is more indulgent living than impersonal hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence House Country Hotel And Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing