We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE DAY OUT” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safari Zoo

Safari Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore, Discover, Adventure, South Lakes Safari Zoo. From the Swahili word meaning journey or expedition SAFARI ZOO is a unique journey into the animal kingdom. Come face to face with and discover Rhinos, Lions, Tigers, Bears, Hippos, Wolves, Snow leopards, Jaguar, Giant otters, Primates, Vultures, Penguins and much, much more at the UK's most interactive animal park and Europe’s only Safari Zoo.. You’ll have a fantastic adventure immersed with some of the rarest wildest animals on the planet. HEAR. TOUCH. SMELL. SEE feed your senses and the animals too - Hand feed giraffes every day, walk in amongst and hand feed penguins; wander amongst and discover kangaroo, lemurs, monkeys, free flying birds – including (for the brave) vultures and condors all living wild in the park. Daily interactive animal keeper led talks and animal feedings.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“NICE DAY OUT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Went here last monday and nobody told us about the long queue or the the amount of wasps all over the place, waiting in the queue to pay they were all over the place and really bothering people. Anyway, once in, it was nice to get so close to the animals and in some cases feeding them. overall, a nice visit, but noticed a lot of people younger children saying they were getting bored after a couple of hours.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank paul1lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,590
    615
    234
    90
    112
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the giraffes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had a great time visiting this park on the 11th of august. All animals looked healthy and happy. The park is also building larger enclosures which can only be a good thing. This park is very interactive, you can feed giraffes, penguins, kangaroos and ducks! There are also lots of monkeys and lemurs running free all around you. My only concern was for the 2 donkeys. Their enclosure looked too small and they looked despondent. They tended to stay on the path so you had to walk behind them to get passed. Only of the donkeys looked heavily pregnant and so we were worried she might 'kick out' when we walked behind her. If the donkey is pregnant I feel their enclosure should be closed to visitors to allow her peace and quiet. Easily the highlight of my day would be feeding the giraffes. They were amazing!

Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A fun day out about to get even better when it's extended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We recently had a very enjoyable day out at the Animal Park, easily reached by the train at Dalton station. Before we went we popped into the town to buy some lunch at the coop, the woman told us to keep out receipt as they give you discount, good tip saved me £5. I've also heard they don't charge a fee during the winter just accept a donation. We particularly enjoyed the giraffe feeding and the pen where you walk around with the animals. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

A hidden gem in the lake district a great day out loads of different species really impressed with this zoo the zebras, big cats especially the lions. terrace cafe overlooks giraffes. Free to go in winter months too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“South Lakes Safari Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a great place to get close to a variety of animals. Feeding time for the big cats is not to be missed. The queue to get in was a bit daunting, (August school holiday), but it was cleared pretty efficiently and the wait was not excessive. The whole site was easy to get around with a pushchair.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Badger4948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Safari Zoo also viewed

Newby Bridge, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to Safari Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing