We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentines meal.”
Review of Hartleys

Hartleys
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Valentines meal.”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Lucky to book a table (with the help of a cancellation) at Hartleys.Heard about the place,some very good,some not so good, but on our experience,what a cracking little restaurant it is. O.k. we had to wait a while for drinks but from there in it was faultless. Garlic mushrooms and duck confit were spot on. The poor waitress had to inform us that one of us could,nt have king prawns with our steak cos they,d run out but put me on to the sirloin with stilton cheese and bacon,so glad she did. Steaks were cooked to perfection,hats off to the chef and hats off to the lass that served us.And if the waitress reads this, I feel bad about forgetting to tip you,i'll make it up next time chuck.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Washythewelder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    61
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food rubbish service”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my fiance decided to try hartleys after hearing some great feedback... we were seated promptly anf within seconds asked for drink orders ... ok i like good service but did feel forced . The wine was brought equally as fast not even pored and the waiter asked what we woukd like to eat . I hadnt opened my menu as id been sat for less than three minutes . The food was lovley but the waiter cleared our plates before we had finished eating . I normally have desert but just felt in the way so asked for the bill and left.. its a shame as the food was great just feel staff training could be a little better as its by no means a cheap meal.

Helpful?
Thank raberto24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Would go there over & over !!!”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent food...first ever visit & we were impressed immencely. Had starter & main, no room for pudding as ate everyting on the plates. Beautifully presented & service was polite & lovely.

Would recomend highly & definately goin back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicmac1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Steak was very good”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Went recently for a family meal. Wasn't blown over by the service, but the food was good. I had steak (as rare as possible) but was served more like medium/rare, still tasted very good though. I think the food is the best thing about the place, but perhaps is a little pricey.

Helpful?
Thank JonathonCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great little cafe/restaurant”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Six of us went for lunch and were very pleasantly surprised. The service was fine; nothing special. The food was definitely above average, no one had a single dish that was less than good. It was especially nice to see real kids meals; versions of the adult dishes, not reheated junk like many places. Prices were very reasonable considering the standard.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattfromlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hartleys also viewed

Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria
Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria
 
Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 

Been to Hartleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing