We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic overnight stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Spalding
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were visiting family in, Deeping st James and booked this beautifully looking building for an overnight. Stay. Elegant and welcoming hotel with a personal touch. Room was amazing and wonderfully clean an Georgian feel to it. Well hosted by the owner. Would recommend you stay here if visiting deeping area.

Room Tip: All very good rooms....big keys for doors, fantastic ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    14
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
23
26
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crowland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We went for a birthday celebration. There w ere 4 of us, whilst the menu is not extensive there is. Nice selection. All freshly prepared, lots of lovely fresh vegetables and the overall quality of the food was very good. Service was prompt and with a smile. We found the staff friendly, very helpful as one of the party had some food allergies which was not a problem. We preferred the revamped ST Nicholas house, much softer, giving a more gentle ambience very relaxing and pleasant experience and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 802helent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

This Hotel has recently been taken over and the restaurant was recommended to me. There is a good choice on the menu.The food was hot,nicely presented and the service was excellent. The decor is tasteful and the gardens are beautiful and there is outside seating.I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

my husband and I stayed here a few years ago and the owner a very nice young lady told us the history of the place and showed us around the whole hotel and was rightly proud of the place, we met the chef Daniel whose food was to die for and everything was just perfect and a few friends of ours also stayed here a said just the same, when we was going to rebook for another romantic stay we checked out the pictures on the internet and they have now developed the stables that she said they were going to and it has all changed it looks ok but not the same only the bar looks the same so although it may now be ok it has lost the look it had before all the origanal fixtures and fittings the bathrooms were all origanl now they are modern and we wont book again for the romance of the place and the features so shame it has been changed

Room Tip: only the cream room looks to have kept some of the features
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

We stopped here for one night and it is a beautiful hotel. We stayed in the Cream Room at the front of the house. We could hear traffic noise but because of the secondary glazing it was not intrusive, although if you needed to open the windows it would have been.

The room was large and comfortable with everything you could possibly need. We had a comfy sofa in front of the TV which was lovely. The staff were a delight and the food very good indeed. The wine selection was excellent.

We will stop here again and we cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanenPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

This is a beautiful hotel, with friendly helpful staff. We had the large barn room which was like an apartment with a large lounge, small kitchen area and large modern bedroom and bathroom, all immaculate. The restaurant served an excellent dinner and all prices were very reasonable. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel to any one who enjoys a little luxury and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanmaria62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

One of the best hotels we have stayed at. We chose one of the barn rooms. You can park your car right by your room, and outside the room on a terrace was a table and chairs, which would be nice in the summer. We thought it was very quiet, and certainly did not suffer from road noise. The room door was a split, barn type, so in the summer you could enjoy the fresh air if you wanted.

The room has everything you could want. One of the most comfortable beds we have found in a hotel, high quality items in the bathroom, which was a beautifully maintained wet room. Tea, coffee, even cornflakes! Fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge. There was even an umbrella to keep you dry on the way to the main building, if it was raining.

The main hotel building is beautifully furnished and kept, and the food was excellent, we really enjoyed our meal, and the service too. Very friendly folk.

It certainly ticked all the boxes for us. Although out of town, it isn't far to many local attractions. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spalding
5.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spalding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Spalding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
12.4 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#4 of 6 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 29 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
19.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse

Property: St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse
Address: St. Nicholas House Main Road | Deeping St. Nicholas, Spalding PE11 3HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Spalding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Spalding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique country house. We offer a friendly relaxed environment to stay, in large suites and comfortable double rooms, the family rooms provides a double and a single room through an open archway, giving considerable privacy to the additional person. We also provide function facilities, for meetings, birthdays, anniversaries etc. We offer afternoon cream teas on Thursday, Friday and Saturday by appointment, As well as Sunday Lunches also advisable to book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse Spalding, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing