We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gordon Boswell Romany Museum

Gordon Boswell Romany Museum
Ranked #8 of 26 things to do in Spalding
Attraction details
Spalding
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I took my elderly mother to the Romany Museum on Easter Monday. We spent 2 hours looking at the lovely wagons and carts and over 30 mins watching a video with Gordon giving some history about each one. It would have been better to watch this first but nevertheless it was all very interesting. Gordon was around to talk to and we enjoyed meeting him and his daughter.
You can actually go inside the shiney caravans from the 70's full of glass, mirrors and china very OTT!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank FussySpalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Stukeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Was not aware of the Romany history, this certainly gave a good insight. Many items on display and knowledgable staff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 638sarahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aslackby
Level Contributor
95 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a place for young and old, to learn all about a very different way of life. superb exhibits and Mr Boswell takes great pleasure in showing visitors around and explain Romany life.
Very well worth a good couple of hours, you will come away enriched.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romany Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

There is an admission charge, the museum is the hard work of one Romany Family and is quaint, every thing-such as the coffee area, the seating for a video all looks very 1950s but somehow that appears alright for such a museum. It can be cold on a cold day, but the wagons are full of Romany items-china and glass with old bedding. The wagons vary in dates and Mr. Boswell has bought them from different people at different times. Mr. Boswell, himself is fascinating about his own childhood and his parents life. Worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank stephanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fascinating: well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Well signposted, so no difficulty in finding the Museum. Entrance was very reasonable, £5 each for senior citizens. Coach parties get an hour talk by Mr Boswell but for individual visitors, his lecture is played on a TV screen.
In practice we spent a lot of time talking to Gordon Boswell who is a charming man. The large display of caravans (vardos in Romany) is impressive in that all have been lovingly restored and fitted out with the apropriate kit. We shall be taking our grandchildren to see the museum in due course. Practical point: the Museum is closed from late October until late March - I suspect the exact spring opening date depends on the date of Easter.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gordon Boswell Romany Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gordon Boswell Romany Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing