We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more new owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spalding
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lincolnshire Poacher
Ranked #9 of 15 Spalding B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2013

More new owners to this pub but what a difference. nice basic menu with something for every ones taste, not expensive and fancy, helpful staff and as for the landlord, he made us most welcome. It was my daughters last night before her wedding and the eight of us were made to feel special. He took the time to take photos of us all as we enjoyed our meals and laughed and joked all night which made the evening great. All the food is fresh and not frozen and they have been awarded four stars for the kitchen. We only had the meal and drinks so do not know what the accommodation is like. It has tables outside facing the river Welland where meals and drinks can be taken. Very pleasant surroundings and is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Go on a nice hot day and sit outside and enjoy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

we got to the poacher at about 13.30 and checked in. (this i checked with the landlord when booking) which was a plus as most places you cant check in till after 17.00. we were shown to our room which turned out to be a big let-down. two single beds which were on a slant & a room that was so dull & dreary & for £35.00 a night each, i was very disappointed. the pub itself downstairs is very charming as i think its probably a listed building (lovely olde world black beams) so we werent expecting anything modern, but old fashioned to say the least would be a compliment! the carpet was brown, the sheets on the bed were brown, blue quilt covers & a purple & a blue p/case on the flat, hard pillows! there was a seat in there that was like a 'directors' chair which was all stained & only one small mirror in the room, above the only sink which was on the far side of the room, so consequently, you had to shower in the 'en suite' (which i use loosely!) bathroom, then worm your way round the beds to the other side of the room to clean your teeth or wash your hands after being to the toilet. the towels were faded black, and the bathroom, oh my lord! the shower was like a box cubicle where you had to slide the door open to enable you to turn around & the shower head was all clogged up so water was only coming out in shall we say fast drips! the toilet wasnt even connected to a proper drainage system, it was something like one of those saniflo toilets & blocked up constantly, even after flushing when nothing was down there! i went to the loo on arrival, flushed the toilet & brown water came up and made a hell of a racket for about 10 mins after flushing! we reported this to the barmaid, who rang the landlord who tried his best to unblock it as no plumber available. the landlord Tony has only been there a few months & is a lovely friendly man, i hope if he decides to take the poacher permanently, he makes it his 1st job to do something with those awful rooms. breakfast was served & cooked by Tony himself who gives you achoice of times from 07.30-9.00 which i think is a nice touch & was ok but a bit sparse! on leaving he wished us a safe journey & hoped that we would return someday, well Tony, if you are reading this, we would love to return as your hospitality was second to none, but you will have to do something about those awful rooms for me to come back!! oh, forgot to mention, if you want an early morning call for around 06.30 you dont have to book one, the roadsweeper kindly obliges, same time every morning for about 10 minutes. (sorry Tony, dont blame you for this)!

Room Tip: bar on hand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shazbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Pub now in the hands of an experienced and enthusiastic licensee (Tony Shilling) Three real ales (London Pride, Abbott and Harvest Pale) Accomodation and food services shortly to be reinstated. Worth checking out

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Braintree, Essex
523
Reviewed 29 May 2006

We were let down on self catering accommodation (this really wasn't our weekend) as the owner decided not to be available at the property nor answer the telephone (we're nice people honestly!). So suggest being wary of the Poachers Den in Holbeach, or perhaps places with the name Poacher in although that's being generalist!

We managed to find the Lincolnshire Poacher at late notice (8pm) by chance when driving by and they kindly agreed to let us take our dog into the room. We had a twin room which was accessed via three doors and two very steep sets of stairs. The carpet was light mustard in colour, stained with lots of black fluff - very grubby. The curtains also had dubious looking stains on them. Neither of us wanted to walk on the carpet without shoes on.

The bathrooms were either end of the corridor and neither were clean. The shower was dirty with water stains and limescale and the shower head had been replaced with a cheap plastic one that was ineffective and sprayed everywhere but where it was meant to! The mats around the toilet and shower also looked grubby. It wasn't a place to dwell in.

Breakfast next morning was nothing but appalling. Everything including the half mushroom we had each was deep fried!!! The tea I asked for was served in a large teapot half filled with water but had THREE teabags - it was like very strong coffee.

We were glad to leave, perhaps we should have complained but sometimes it's just easier not to and warn other people against the place. So we wouldn't recommend unless you are miles and miles from home like we were.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPowner, Owner at The Lincolnshire Poacher, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2008

We were slightly disappointed with this review as we never received a complaint directly. Having said that, this was sometime ago and I am confident that anyone staying at the b and b would be happy that the rooms etc are clean and the staff welcoming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank sesy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spalding hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Spalding Hotel
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spalding
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Spalding
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cley Hall Hotel
Cley Hall Hotel
#1 of 15 in Spalding
196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Woodhouse Farm Lodge
Woodhouse Farm Lodge
#2 of 15 in Spalding
68 reviews
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Pode Hole B & B
#11 of 15 in Spalding
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lincolnshire Poacher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lincolnshire Poacher

Address: 11 Double Street, Spalding PE11 2AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Spalding
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Spalding
Price Range: £40 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Lincolnshire Poacher Hotel Spalding
The Lincolnshire Poacher Spalding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing