We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Georgian Market Town Hotel”
Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Spalding
Reviewed 3 March 2013

If like us you like your hotels with a bit of character rather than sanitised plastic replicas of every other 21st century hotel in the UK then you will like this hotel. We booked two nights some weeks ago on a room only rate and were pleased with the cost. Were allocated a double room on the top floor room 28 and it was warm and spacious with everything you could wish for, comprehensive hospitality tray, fan, fan heater, hair dryer flat screen TV and a very comfortable double bed with sheets and blankets.... The room was quiet in the main, apart from the campanille bells which started at 8am in the morning, but to be honest this added to the character of the hotel, the beams in the room and the creaking floor boards completed the effect. Just perfect. The four locals ales on off in the pub were all on point and the only reason for four stars not five, unfortunately no on site restaurant, but Spalding has lots to offer in that respect - we did not have breakfast in the hotel but it looked great. Housekeeping was very good and all the staff we met were welcoming and friendly. Free off site parking and the hotels central location meant we parked the car on arrival and picked up on departure - added bonus was the colourful street market on Saturday - altogether a great weekend break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veryhappytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

We visited the Red Lion to while away an afternoon with some good beers but were disappointed that nothing local or different was stocked. After seeing the sign that this pub was in the UK Good Beer Guide 2013 our hopes were high but when presented with the standard Bombardier and Bass we were left underwhelmed. Not only this but the prices for these average beers was sky high compared to other pubs in the area. We paid £3 for two halves, whereas a pint and a half cost £2.70 around the corner for a nicer and more novel beer!
The surrounds were nice and the open fire was good to sit near as it was a cold day. The staff were pleasant and service was good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

Booked this at short notice, not expecting too much but my room was spotlessly clean, showers not the best but its certainly acceptable.
Staff are very friendly (borderline OTT) but all good.
If I rated this establishment on what I paid all boxes would be a 4 or 5.
I'm rating it on the same standard that I have, and will do for all others price irrelevant.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarryAshwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Stayed in this hotel for only one night. However, the staff were very friendly and professional with a good attitude towards customer service. The room was clean, well equipped and of a good standard.
Breakfast was okay, but they didn't do an evening meal which was disappointing due to my timetable. In the evening, I had to go and get some "junk" food from the plethora of outlets in the surrounding area. The hotel, however, had no problem with bringing food into the bar.
Generally a good hotel all round and I would have no problems staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Booked via internet for a saturday night stay. Very old Hotel overlooking the Market Place. Room was excellent and very well appointed, on a par with 4* hotels I have stayed in. Staff were very polite and helpfull. Parking is actually on the market place right in front of Hotel. There is no restaurant service in evenings but an excellent (Old Fashioned) bar. This was popular with Senior locals and accepts Dogs. (There were three very well behaved ones in). The breakfast was excellent and cooked to order. This hotel provided better service than most 4* hotels while charging 2* prices (Including the Bar).

Room Tip: Only saw one and that was with Shower only, but on the top floor (Of three). Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAHEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel in September 2012 whilst we were visiting friends in the area.

The hotel was refurbished to a high standard - about 40 years ago! In this regard it is identical to very many town centre hotels around the country - a bit dated but still fairly comfortable. Whilst it lacked the facilities of modern hotels we were quite happy with our stay at this hotel. It was slap bang in the middle of a vibrant market town (indeed, on the Saturday morning the market was - quite literally - right outside the hotel entrance).

On arrival we were met by Rick, who took charge of the hotel in the evenings. He could not have been more friendly or more helpful. The hotel car park is only 200 yards from the hotel, but because of Spalding's bizarre, one way system it was a 2 mile drive from outside the hotel to its car park. Rick had one of his colleagues guide me along the 2 mile route.

Despite the town centre location we had a good night's sleep each night and each morning we enjoyed a hearty cooked breakfast with the tastiest bacon and sausages we have ever tasted! The lad who looked after us at breakfast was quite a character - friendly and welcoming.

The Red Lion does not serve dinners - but this is not a problem as Spalding is a vibrant town with an embarrassment of riches so far as restaurants are concerned.

If you want a low-cost, but fairly comfortable hotel the Red Lion is well worth a visit - and Rick will make sure that you are well looked after!

Room Tip: Not an hotel for the disabled, or guests with limited mobility. There is no lift and bedrooms are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Just had an overnight stay at the Red Lion. It is in the centre of town and car parking is free during the week from the evening until 10am. A quaint old pub and the locals are really friendly. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the food is excellent quality. Great value for money. Will certainly go again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 52Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spalding
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Spalding Hotel
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spalding
275 reviews
13.7 mi away
St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
1,376 reviews
10.0 mi away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#3 of 6 in Boston
293 reviews
22.7 mi away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#5 of 7 in Grantham
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Address: Market Place, Spalding PE11 1SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Spalding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Spalding
Price Range: £74 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Red Lion
The Red Lion Hotel Spalding, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing