We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whatuwhiwhi TOP 10 Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
US$141
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loredo Motel(Kaitaia)
US$87
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef Lodge Motel(Karikari Peninsula)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangonui Motel(Mangonui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
40
28
16
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
28
16
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape reingathe kitchenholiday parkstayed herefish cleaninga great place to relaxbig sitestunning beachstandard cabingas stationminute drivepeaceful locationgreat campmatai baycamper vanfridge and freezereasy access
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Having never been this far north before and never hearing of Whatuwhiwhi I, along with two other friends stayed in a cabin for a night whilst travelling around Northland. After a slight initial confusion with the number of people staying and the price of the room we settled in. Our cabin was clean and tidy and was equipped with some essential cookware if you required it, all facilities worked no worries. Served its purpose nicely. Beautifully located within metres of the beach. Can see it as a popular location over the Christmas and new year period when a few more people are around the place.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pilts018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette N, Owner at Whatuwhiwhi TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay in the park. We are centrally located to many lovely beaches on our peninsula, so making a good stop off for the north.


Jeanette.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A fabulous camp (we use Top 10 almost exclusively) handy to the berach - great access and safe sheltered bay.
The rooms were clean and tidy and the facilities neat and well maintained, the only gripes I have is the cleaning times clashed with what I would think most travellers would find very inconvenient - 6.30am - 7.30am is exactly when our group gets packed and gets ready to get on the road - there was no flexability in this time and it was quite inconvenient. The signage at the gate states ALL rooms have TV - this is in fact not correct -= only selected rooms have television and there is no way of getting it (even by paying extra) this caused some issues during our stay as we watch weather closely being motorcyclists.
All in all I would stay again (take any food etc with you as the only shop close by is attached to a garage and prices are hefty)

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room with an ensuite and a tv (if you need to check weather etc)
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette N, Owner at Whatuwhiwhi TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments after your stay with us.
I am sorry the cleaning times were inconvenient for your leaving hours. We have changed them to a later time, but it is hard to cater for the needs of everyone. The sign maybe a little miss leading, as our basic cabins don't have TVs,but you were able to view the sky channels in the communal lounge.

Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We'd seen mixed reviews of the site before getting there, but were really out of other options. We stayed for the night and enjoyed it and the next day so much, we stayed a couple more. Seems the negative reviews were linked to a specific party earlier in the season. The site owners were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful to a couple of Brits muddling through a road trip round this gorgeous island. As well as helping us with local activities, they gave us some good suggestions for other interesting locations on our route. Really hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Some of the pitches were a little precarious, but well worth the effort once you'd parled up.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mickinstilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed four nights in one of the Kitchen Cabins. Upon arrival the camp was very busy & looked crowded as it was just after New Year, however once we settled in there was lot's of space for everyone to do their thing. The amenities were kept very clean & were always readily available.

The kitchen cabin was well located with a great view over the camp & out to the water, as well as being close to all the amenities. An excellent location for the fisherman and equally as good for the sightseer, a good jump off point for a day trip to Cape Reinga, as well as the surrounding beaches such as the incredible Matai Bay.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay, would happily return if we were to holiday again in the far north.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dad_plus_two_Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette N, Owner at Whatuwhiwhi TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Many thanks for your kind words following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the park. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Booked to stay here for 3 nights from the 30th December - 2nd January. We only subjected ourselves to 1 night though.

On arrival the grounds look good, grassed areas, clean, extremely over crowded but that's the time of year.

Paid at reception once they eventually found our booking, then we went in search of our site for our campervan. And what a site we found. Concrete, and a bit more concrete, mixed in with some claustrophobia. We had very little room to get the van in, then once van was in we barely had space to set up a table on said concrete. To top of this site, we were 5 metres away from the Camping Ground Event Centre. Wow what a treat to be told that AFTER paying over $60 per night upfront.

Particularly enjoyed it when a large amount of the camping ground population decided to congregate at the back of our van near said Events Centre, was even more delighted when the campers took it upon themselves to sit on the back of our van. Absolutely wonderful. Then we became aware that the Events Centre was holding a New Years party the following night with a band etc. Playing 9- 12. There was no way we were staying in this place longer than we had to, given our experience in the first hour of being here. Funnily enough the 2 people parked lower than us felt the same, they had intended on staying longer however as soon as they arrived and saw the concrete and the noise of the popular Events Centre they opted for one night like us and bailed.

Credit where credit is due: the amenities were clean, the laundry facilities were the only plus of our one night stay, and the communal kitchen looked impressive with it's obviously new fit out.

If you don't mind paying over $60 per night to be crammed like a sardine in the peak times, have underage kids drinking near your van, or for your van to be swallowed by concrete, then this will be your heaven. Admittedly all the people in tents on the lawn looked happy.

Huge disappointment given the other Top10 places we had stayed in previously.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette N, Owner at Whatuwhiwhi TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for your response to your stay with us.
We are sorry you found the site and surroundings very crowded, but that is our busiest time, and campervans are booked to those sites as tents can't be put onto concrete.We held a children's fishing competition prize giving in the Event Centre opposite so did cause a some congestion in that area..

Regards
Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews