We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - most interesting museum and excellent guide”
Review of Casa Jose Saramago

Casa Jose Saramago
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Tias
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Brilliant - most interesting museum and excellent guide”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We visited Casa Jose Saramago in April 2013 and were completely amazed by the experience. You get to see the house where Saramago lived for his last 18 years as well as the neighboring library and museum he and his wife established. A personal guide (who in our case was extremely knowledgeable and super-friendly) shows you around the house and you can then browse the library and the rest of the museum (and the little shop) at your own leisure. Throughout the tour - which took about 1 hour - we were given little electronic guides to explain the various articles and sites, which was very useful (in addition to the explanations from our guide). It was very unusual to be given such a personal insight into the live of one of the best authors of our times and even if you are not a fan of Saramago, I'd highly recommend a visit if you are at least a little bit interested into literature or the arts. The museum is open from 10-14.30 Monday-Saturday and entry is 8 EUR per person - definitely money well worth spending.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank foodlover1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    29
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the nicest tours I made”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We visited José Saramago's house and library in Tias and experienced one of the nicest, most personal tours ever. All the staff are highly dedicated to the legacy of José Saramago and have many stories to tell. The tours are almost private, wandering through the rooms you feel the spirit of Saramago still there. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank fg2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of Lanzarote”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The 2 hours we spent at this house were some of the best times ever spent in, what effectively is, a museum. The tour is worth every penny and should not be missed. This place has something that is very difficult to put into words. Go there and find out for yourself what it is!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank sangcailloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Posh "Through the keyhole" Jose Saramago's house in Lanzarote”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Posh "Through the keyhole- Saramago's house
http://acasajosesaramago.com/

I'm nuts about all things Portuguese so I was delighted to discover that the house where Jose Saramago exiled himself was up the road from our holiday stay in Tias Lanzarote. the official notice says that you must book a day ahead. When my PA rang we were told to come that day.

Our guide, who spoke excellent English, gave us a general introduction to the house in the tiny courtyard. We each had a pre-recorded guide to the rooms and items of interest were numbered. Our guide took questions after we had listened to the recording. The English recording was excellent and so was the Portuguese one. Our guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

It's strange to see the room where the great works of a Nobel prize winner were written. He had a view down to the sea and pictures of his favourite writers - James Joyce, Fernando Pessoa, and Dostoiefski to name a trio.
The living room has a collection of pots round the room and a whacking great TV. The kitchen is the most fetching room and a nice touch is that you get offered a cup of coffee, Delta, a Portuguese brand that the writer preferred.
You get a look round the. Garden as well.

The cost is 8 euros. There was no charge made for the seven-month old. He was fussed over something rotten. When he can speak he'll be able to say "I've been round Jose's house me. What about you?

One oddity. In the study we were asked to read aloud an extract from another Portuguese writer, Almeida Garrett
«E eu pergunto aos economistas, políticos, aos moralistas, se já calcularam o número de indivíduos que é forçoso condenar à miséria, ao trabalho desproporcionado, à desmoralização, à infâmia, à ignorância crapulosa, à desgraça invencível, à penúria absoluta, para produzir um rico?»

"And I ask the economists, politicians, moralists, how many individuals must be condemned to misery, overwork, demoralization, infamy, crapulous ignorance, invincible disgrace, absolute penury, to produce one rich man? "

The house is on Jorge Luis Borges street and his library is also included in the trip.
...
And yes, you do exit through the gift shop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila do Conde, Portugal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Portuguese nobel winner”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Simple but nice visit to the house from the portuguese writer of nobel prize.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Magictrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Jose Saramago also viewed

Lanzarote, Canary Islands
 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Casa Jose Saramago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing