We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Paradise!”
Review of The Lodge at REGUA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cachoeiras de Macacu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lodge at REGUA
riodejaneiro
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A piece of Paradise!”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Recently went there with my 5 year old daughter. We loved wandering the trails and paths, it is an amazing Garden of Eden! Saw so many birds, frogs, bugs, butterflies, a sleeping sloth, a porcupine, and more. The house and rooms is lovely and well kept, the hosts and staff very warm and caring. I recommend it for non-professional bird watchers like us! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casa-Beleza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, On
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We just returned from 7 days in paradise at Guapi Assu. Fantastic hosts in Nicholas and Rachel and wonderful accomodation. Loved the Caipihrainias at the end of a long birding day. Leo our guide was tremendous, knowing every little peep and calling in some great birds. The sunrises were spectacular and every day was packed with more and more birds, 283 in all. We could have stayed even longer to get some of the rarer species. Best part of the trip was meeting Robert Ridgely and his team who were staying for a few days while working on another field guide. It was an honour. I highly recommend this lodge for access to all the endemic Atlantic Rainforest species and many other gems.

Room Tip: Room # 1 is the best in the house, however even the smaller rooms are very cosy and packed with all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldbirderLondon_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Regua is one for the bucket list. We only spent three days there but could have spent weeks, and will definitely go back. The charm of Regua is that it offers so much: incredible birding, hiking into the mountains in search of the woolly spider monkey (one of the world’s rarest primates), leisurely walks around the wetlands and into the forest, trips into Rio (only a couple of hours away) – and for those who just want to sit and relax – breakfast on the veranda of their lovely Gaupi Assu Lodge, a converted farmhouse with breaktaking views, in the company of marmosets, hummingbirds and numerous other feathered visitors, many of them endemics.
And this is not just another tourist destination. Most of the forest is now owned by the World Land Trust, but prior to that, it was in Nicholas Locke’s family for over a hundred years, and they’ve taken the conservation of this most endangered habitat very seriously. The Lockes have replanted hundreds of hectares of rainforest, and restored the extensive wetlands below the lodge. They’re very involved with the local community, and run really well organised volunteer and educational programmes. Our whole visit was inspiring and what is so great is that by staying there, you not only have the most wonderful time but you are also contributing to conservation. And, by the way, the food, service and accommodation are all outstanding. Viva Regua!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Hosted by the knowledgeable and charismatic Nicholas Locke, and his wife Racquel, the bird lodge stands in one of the few areas of Atlantic Rainforest. AREGUA are striving to preserve the existing stands of primary forest and to restore deforested and wetland areas.

Accommodation was clean and comfortable and set in a well maintained garden with swimming pool and views of surrounding mountains and forest. Sit on the terrace and watch the humming birds feed in the garden.

There a numerous well marked trails and vary in difficulty from a short amble to a more steep and demanding trails. These can be walked independently, or with one of the well trained bird guides working from the lodge.

They can also arrange transport to make excursions further afield, and offer night drives to see owls, nightjars and giant snipe.

Food was good and freshly made, a complementary jug of caipirinha was welcome before supper.

This is a location for serious bird watchers and naturalists, however those seeking a peacefully get away from it all will also enjoy it.

You can drive from Rio yourself, or the lodge arranges an efficient and friendly transfer service.

I would recommend this location

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tofino, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

A great place to stay and wonderful project to restore the wetlands behind the lodge.
Food good and plentiful, lots of variety.
Friendly staff, rooms air conditioned and clean and comfortable.
Skilled birding guides and helpful generous owners and operators.
Swimming in the pool while listening to Tawny- browed Owls calling at night!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JustBirding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

I stayed at the bird lodge July 2008 with my 10 year old son and my sister, who read about the lodge through the RSPB. The lodge is a 2-3 hour drive in the mountains north of Rio and we arranged for the lodge to pick us up form Rio. The setting is outstanding and the views of the mountains breath-taking, especially during sunrise and sunset.
We went on several walks from the lodge up into the mountains and my son had the most fantastic time swimming under waterfalls, jumping into rivers from the river bank and swinging on vines into the water. We went on a horse ride through the farm land and were able to see some of the re-forestation work that the lodge is invlolved in. We went on a night walk to the swamp and saw caymen. The night sky was amazing.
During our stay at the lodge there was only one other couple there. They were avid birders and went off site daily to see birds. The lodge helped them arrange this and provided their guide for the excursions. We saw relativley few birds on our walks from the property itself.
The room we had was lovely, although it didn't lock. The pool was fun for my son. The grounds are very pretty and the bird feeders encourage humming birds, bats and monkies. The kitchen staff were kind but the food was not friendly either for vegetarians or children. Going during Brazil's winter worked out wonderfully for us with sunny days and cool evenings.
It takes a lot to impress 10 year old boys but this was a wonderful experience for him and a beautiful, relaxing setting for me.

  • Liked — The beautiful setting.
  • Disliked — The lodge forgot to pick us up from Rio as we had arranged.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

This is a great place for anyone wanting to see birds in particular but wildlife in general. In 3 days I saw about 140 bird species. A guide was provided and invaluable for finding forest birds. The hummingbird feeders attract dozens of birds and short walks take you to the jungle and to a marsh area that is also full of birds (and at least one alligator). It's off the beaten track and very quiet.

The lodge was clean and air conditioned, although as it was solar powered you were asked not to go overboard with that. I had a spacious 2 bedroomed flat to myself. There is a small outdoor swimming pool, very welcome to cool down in.

Food was plentiful and nicely cooked. I could specify in advance when I wanted it to be served - but I didn't always know what I was eating as the English speaking staff were away during part of my visit. Fridge with cold drinks was regularly restocked - honesty bar system and chilled mineral water dispenser availble. Avoid the ice, though, however tempting, as I didn't and needed antibiotics to deal with the stomach bug I picked up. Insect repellant is essential although its not a yellow fever or malarial area. Despite the bug I would love to return because its such a special place and the people were so friendly.

Helpful?
4 Thank buzzard2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cachoeiras de Macacu hotels
5.4 mi away
Sitio Pousada Agua Fresca
Sitio Pousada Agua Fresca
#5 of 11 in Cachoeiras de Macacu
28 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pousada San Mariz
Pousada San Mariz
#1 of 1 in Papucaia
17 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Palace Serra Verde Imperial
Hotel Palace Serra Verde Imperia...
#1 of 11 in Cachoeiras de Macacu
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Terra Ramos
Terra Ramos
#7 of 11 in Cachoeiras de Macacu
3 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pousada a Marca do Farao
Pousada a Marca do Farao
#8 of 11 in Cachoeiras de Macacu
3 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pousada Baiuca
Pousada Baiuca
#6 of 11 in Cachoeiras de Macacu
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at REGUA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at REGUA

Property: The Lodge at REGUA
Address: Estrada Guapiacu, Cachoeiras de Macacu, State of Rio de Janeiro 28680, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Cachoeiras de Macacu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Cachoeiras de Macacu
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Lodge At REGUA Brazil/Rio De Janeiro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing