We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficent, convenient & affordable”
Review of Hotel Ariane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ariane
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pontorson
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Certainly not the most romantic of hotels but one of the best value on the doorstep of Le Mont St Michel. Comfortable beds, good wi-fi and a powerful shower - overall a good experience. However, be careful parking your car outside on the street - we had an attempted robery of a bike from the roof (on a bike rack) which messed up the rack (at least they didn't get the bike - it was well locked). Not the hotel's fault - however they weren't at all helpful when we told them what hapened. Like most hotels of this calibre, the extra cost breakfast is not worth paying for. We didn't dine in the restaurant but rather went to a different place on the main street. Not a lothappens in Pontoson after dark so don't be expecting a wild night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreshEire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Booked to stay 1 night and decided to stay a 2nd night as we arrived afternoon and rather than have our selves under too much pressure as we wanted to visit Mont St Michel booked 2nd night and no problem wiht hotel in doing so. Loved the old building, new building modern and clean. Breakfast typically contintental and fine for us. Parking secure. Perhaps the bath was alittle on the small size but functioning no problem. Hotel staff friendly (Owner in particular) and helpful with local information.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Great place to be based for a stay in the area. Close enough to the Mount and a sweet little village/ town. The original hotel is really lovely ( lovely terrace for drinks) and they have added the new modern section very cleverly. Rooms were of a good size and with nice decor. Nice and clean. Bath was a bit on the small side ( but it was a bath!). They have a good bar for an after dinner drink - my husband found a 1973 cognac which he said was incredible- sat in the garden enjoying the Ambiance. Breakfast was good - nothing spectacular but nicely presented and tasty. Can recommend.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Julesfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed here one night. I booked the wrong date but the owners were kind and allowed me to alter the accommodation by letting us stat a night earlier than planned. Lovely people.
Tastefully decorated, the rooms were large in comparison to other French hotels, the breakfast plentiful. Beautiful greens and plenty of area to relax.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to book near MSM. Away from the crowds. Pontorson is a beautiful clean well cared for town, picturesque and peaceful.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Heard no trains even though we were right on the tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Unlike some of the other reviewers, we had no problems with checking in and found the staff (I believe the owner, who checked us in, and the buffet waitress) quite nice and polite. I would agree that the breakfast is less than perfect but we followed a huge bus tour so maybe that had something to do with it. Parking was free (and I was able to park under a tree for shade!). It was easy to find. The room was a little run down, but clean and fairly spacious. Close to Le Mont and a good location. And, yes, it's close to the railway tracks, but the trains must run quietly during the night so I didn't hear them. If you go there, check out the old house just "kitty corner" to the hotel. It has the most amazing water tower - looks like a tree grew up around the cistern!
One complaint - would have liked to take my coffee on the hotel patio but signs on the buffet said taking food out of the dining room was STRICTLY forbidden!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnetteinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This hotel is clean, and the rooms are bigger than most hotels we came across in France. Tooks us a long time to check in because there was nobody at the front desk. Finally caught a maid and asked her to find someone. She didn't have any luck either. Finally got a room. No air conditioning, but it was fine for one night. They have a sister hotel around the corner and just across the railroad tracks that is suppose to be a better value, but they didn't have any rooms available there.

Room Tip: Walk across the railroad tracks and check their sister hotel for a room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveMyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The Ariane is similar to what you might find in the Alps; a cut above dormitory. Clean, functional (mostly) but boring. Just a place to stay. We arrived at about 20:00 (8pm) and the buffet dinner (which smelled very good) had already stopped taking people. The check-in person asked if we would be having breakfast at the hotel (9 euros I think?) and I said no, we'd be getting it on the road, to which he replied, in an unfriendly manner, "Why? It's much better here." He could have presented it as an option we would have considered, letting us know what they offer etc., but his brusque mannerism was off-putting.

If you're from the US, please note this place has a euro-style shower/bath facility that you're likely going to have issues with. No shower curtain, and the shower head is attached to a long flexible hose that you have to hold yourself. Trying to do so without getting water on the floor is nearly impossible; it's almost a two-person job. You'll frequently find "interesting" shower arrangements in France, but most have compromised over the years to offer an approach that works both ways (the flexible hose attached to a fixture so you don't have to hold it if you wish, and either curtains or doors).

If this is where you've got to stay, it's not terrible, but it won't be a memorable high point of your trip either.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chain_Reaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontorson
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Montgomery
4.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eugenie
Eugenie
#2 of 4 in Pontorson
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel De La Tour Brette
Hotel De La Tour Brette
#4 of 4 in Pontorson
64 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,367 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Digue
La Digue
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariane

Address: 50 boulevard Clemenceau, 50170, Pontorson, France (Formerly Hotel de France et Vauban)
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Pontorson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pontorson
Price Range: £46 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ariane 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ariane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariane Hotel Pontorson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing