We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent site!”
Review of Camping Haliotis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping Haliotis
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent site!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We recently stayed on one of the private pitches using the site as a base for watching the Tour De Fnce stages. The private facilities were excellent, better than I thought they would be. Private toilet, basin, shower, razor & electric point (no need to use the radiator due to the gorgeous weather!) Nice touch was old fairground games which were fun, tennis courts, ping pong table, childrens play area. The only downside was the WIFI - we couldn't get it on our pitch and it was very patchy near reception, they said they were having some problems with it. Didn't use the pool but it looked nice. Bar prices high, if they were more reasonable it would have tempted more people to use rather than staying around their pitches. Food van visited nightly when we were there, we had pizza the first night. Used launderette, 4 euros for a wash, freezer in launderette to put your icepacks in - needed to be in for 2 days to freeze (prob due to the weather). Local Carrefour had everything we needed. If we were looking to visit the area again, we would definitely return & book the private pitches again.

Room Tip: Private facilities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPAALP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    59
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
83
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is one of the cleanest camping grounds we have stayed in. The sites are large, Amenities very clean, hot showers lovely laundry. Free internet in the office, with wifi also available. Easy walking distance to eateries and supermarket. Bike hire available and path behind to ride to Saint Mont Michael about 8k. Lovely swimming pool. Best hot chocolate in the restaurant. Close to the train station

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muldmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

For our 10th year we stayed at Haliotis, where we have seen many changes over the past three years. The site is of a very high standard, but, we were just a little disappointed that the main gate to the site closes at 8pm until July so that if you went for a meal you had to leave your car outside the gates until the following day and walk in fine if the weather is nice!!!! also many of the Resturants do not serve Dinner until 7pm, which does not help the gate shutting situation. The staff this year except one in the Reception has changed and the English language was a bit of a barrier but im sure it will improve as the season progresses.This year we stayed in a chalet and not our caravan due to unforseen circumstances, it was really comfortable, clean well equipped and the bedding supplied immaculate.we would not hesitate to hire one again if neccesary.We look forward to seeing you all again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean51039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawdesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here in September 2012 win our tourer with my parents on an adjacent pitch. On arrival we explained we wanted to be close together and we were given a variety of pitches to choose from, however we were out of season. the pitches were all really spacious and had great access even for our twin axle.

I was surprised there was only one toilet block for what seems a reasonably sized site, which was mixed to boot and the toilets are in an open row facing towards the pool, for those of us who prefer to do these things little more privately they are a tad indiscreet but not objectionable.

The pool was in a beautiful setting and was well maintained, in full season it may get a little crowded but when we were there it was great. The adjacent bar and terrace is a delight.

There are so many facilities on site with a petting zoo, outside fitness area, ornamental garden, outdoor games i.e draughts and chess and even shove h'penny. however my father noted that to only have one chemical disposal point did make for an extensive walk (in fact he took his by car due to the distance and his hip not being so good.

The local town is in walking distance and has a great local market, the shops run along a central street but there isn’t much variety, in the other direction is the supermarket which is also walkable and provides all your grocery needs,

The best day ( one among many) was the day we cycled to Mont Saint Michel. It is an easy cycle along a river tow path so safe for children and flat and easy. You can hire cycles on site although we had our own.

The site staff were very attentive and clearly took pride in their work and the maintenance of the site, it is impeccably maintained. Add to this the easy jaunt from Ouisteram and we will definitely return

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I stayed here for a week in September with my partner, it was very quiet as just out season. It was an easy 2 hr drive from Cherbourg (we took the ferry from Poole and returned via Portsmouth). The staff were very helpful. We stayed in a caravan which was very clean and had all the amenties we could have wished for including a power shower and heating. The interior decoration was a bit worn and there was no oven (mcrowave and hob instead), but for the cheap price, it was well worth the money. It was a 5 min walk into the town centre/supermarket where there are a few restaurants. You can hire bikes from the camp site and take a nice river path all the way to Mont St Michel (9k/30 mins) which was really nice. There were lots of things on site for kids, so I would recommend for family/couples.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripper089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goulburn
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights here in June and could not be more impressed. The facilities were immaculatley maintained and the staff could not have been better. The childrens facilities and the facilities available for adults and kids alike were many and varied, to mention just some, tennis court,golf driving range,animal petting area,jumping castle table tennis,outdoor Gym ,sauna and kids games etc.. We stayed in a tent and the sites were grassy and well hedged for privacy. The pool area was also great. The location was terrific ,an easy stroll to Pontorson centre ville.The main tourist drawcard for the area being Mont Saint Michel, which I believe is a don't miss for any holiday in France.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferryman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Camped in a tent for 8 days in June, unfortunately weather was pretty rubbish but it didn't detract from the fabulousness of this site. I had booked this site specifically because it wasn't overcrowded (which it wasn't) the pitches were extremely generous and we booked a luxe pitch so had our own wee lockable shower/bathroom which was an absolute boon as there was plenty of room to keep our clothes/bags safe and dry. It was myself and my husband camping but this is a brilliant family site, with a great pool, sauna, ping pong, bouncy castle, tennis, petting zoo, trampoline, park, lovely gardens and 10 mins stroll into Pontorson with a well stocked supermarche, creperies, brasseries etc. Only 9km from Mont Saint Michel. The bar closed promptly at 10pm (not sure if it's later further on in the season) but we had a full itinery so by the time we came home at night we didn't have the energy anyway......this site is much recommended. p.s the staff are great and for the most part speak great English and could mostly make out what we were trying to say in our terrible Frenglish lol

Room Tip: If you're camping or caravanning the Luxe pitch is fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontorson
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Montgomery
2.6 mi away
Hotel Rose
Hotel Rose
#2 of 4 in Beauvoir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
4.1 mi away
Auberge de la Baie
Auberge de la Baie
#1 of 1 in Ardevon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.6 mi away
Camping aux Pommiers
Camping aux Pommiers
#1 of 4 in Beauvoir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Haliotis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Haliotis

Property: Camping Haliotis
Address: Boulevard Patton, 50170, Pontorson, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Pontorson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Pontorson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping Haliotis 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, CampingAndCo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Camping Haliotis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing