We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely site”
Review of Camping Haliotis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping Haliotis
Certificate of Excellence
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely site”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here after our visit to Disneyland so this was our wind-down part of our holiday. The camp site is in a great position within walking distance of the lovely town of Pontorson , Carrefour supermarket is in walking distance too so no need to move the car to get some shopping done.

The reception area is great with lots of room to park up as you wait for your pitch. We choose the private pitch which has your own shower , toilet and you share your washing up sink with another pitch.

The pitch we had was plenty big for our big 8 man tunnel tent and also to park the car on too. We had a great position just opposite the childrens playground which is a fantastic playground with bouncy castle, trampoline and then all the usual playground bits and pieces.

The swimming pool is lovely with a nice sun trap - the pool was a little chilly but it was early June but we still all had a dip and they kids didnt seem to mind.

The beautiful Mont St Michel is only 9km away and worth the trip or you can hire bikes and cycle to it all the way on the cycle tracks but they do get very busy.

There is a lovely pet farm which we visited every day with rabbits, guinea pigs, , goats, ponies, geese and a lovely garden area.

The site isnt very big which suited us fine and was quiet by 10pm which was also great for us.

My only problem with this site was the noise of the busy main road from our pitch - I think if you were at the other end of the site you wouldnt hear it as much but it was very noisy in a tent and I really couldt sleep with it.

But all in all this was a lovely site and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safron1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    60
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
83
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a lovely site. Spread out so you don't feel crowded, nice sized pitches. A lovely clean pool area, comfy sun loungers & a nice social bar area. The staff on reception speak English so you have a good information point. The town of Pontorson is on your doorstep. Lovely flat cycle oath runs along the back of the site so an easy cycle to Le Mont St Michael & this helps avoid the 12.30 euro car park charge which we thought was extortionate for just 3 hours car parking. Carrefour us just along the road so easy to stock up. We never had to wait for showers if toilets & these were always clean & tidy. The weather being fab helped & this site at 14 euro per night with an Acsi card puts UK campsites to shame.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Lovely location with great facilities. The toilets and showers were spotless. The staff were very helpful. The campsite is close to local amenities and attractions. Would definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob551721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have just come back from our holiday in France, on our travels we had a week at this campsite.
As a treat on our journey we decided to book a luxury site with private toilet block and shared sink with the pitch behind.
Everything was fine until the lovely people on the pitch behind us left and 2 caravans were put on the the 1 pitch, the people were horrible, they left the sink in a terrible condition (when we could use it!) they left all the washing up in the sink and when they did wash up the stuff was left on the draining board and not moved. they used our pitch to let the children play on (because there was no room on theirs with having 2 caravans, 2 awnings and a gazebo on there 1 pitch) their dog was constantly off the lead fouling on our pitch and using our caravan to urinate up, there was litter all over the place, we tried to ask them to clean up the sink and not to leave there stuff around but they pretended not to understand us (they were french) so we went to the reception to ask them to have a word, which they did, and this made matters worse, we had insults and swearing shouted at us every time we went outside our caravan (surprisingly all in English !!!!!!) and at nighttime our pitch became the men's urinal, we complained over and over again and nothing was done, my children were terrified to leave the caravan without me or my husband. We had 5 days of hell.
We asked to be moved and we were told there was no pitches available but walking around the site there was always empty pitches.
Managers need to have a word with the staff about customer relations because the way we were treated was disgusting

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Melmason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Our first time trailing the caravan abroad, and we needn't have worried. The Brittany Ferry experience, the drive from Cherbourg (approx 2hrs, quiet motorway driving), the welcome we received on the site, and the fantastic pitch (equivalent to a super pitch over here) all combined to ensure our first experience of Brittany was an extremely positive one. Camping Haliotis site is a small one, with very friendly staff, located within the very pretty village of Pontorson, where there is a large supermarket and a couple of nice restaurants. The pool is lovely with a small bar and comfortable seating area for those not swimming to enjoy a cool holiday beer, and take advantage of the free wi-fi. Within easy driving distance is the remarkable Mont St Michel which is definitely worth a visit (about 10-15mins drive); St Malo, Dinan, Dinard and Dol et Britagne are also close by and all worth a visit. We spent 8 days here and would definitely recommend it for a great family holiday!

Room Tip: The Grande Comfort Pitches are great because you get additional space, and the ones above these (can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We returned this year again to Pontorson, having booked for two nights. Due to circumstances beyond our control, we needed to stay longer and this was no problem to very pleasant staff. We left to continue our holiday and returned at the end if July to a pre- booked emplacement. And again no probs. great place to stay with our caravan, very highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hedley52a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was a clean, well organised campsite. Not really our thing (very corporate) but it was very family orientated with a good range of activities for families who are more campsite based. Good staff and you can order bakery breakfast to be delivered after 8am. A little late for us but never the less a good service.
The pool was very cold _ too cold for the 1 y/o to be comfortable. We ditched for the bar and let daddy take the more hardy 5 y/o.
Quiet and safe at night and good sized pitches. The location is pretty disappointing - pretty much in a dead village with a very disappointing restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontorson
3.9 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Montgomery
4.1 mi away
Auberge de la Baie
Auberge de la Baie
#1 of 1 in Ardevon
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
La Digue
La Digue
#9 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
12 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Rose
Hotel Rose
#2 of 4 in Beauvoir
163 reviews
2.6 mi away
Camping aux Pommiers
Camping aux Pommiers
#1 of 4 in Beauvoir
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Haliotis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Haliotis

Property: Camping Haliotis
Address: Boulevard Patton, 50170, Pontorson, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Pontorson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Pontorson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping Haliotis 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with CampingAndCo, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Camping Haliotis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing