We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Mons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Mons
Ranked #1 of 17 Pontorson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Nice B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a two night stay at this B&B. Our ultimate goal this road trip was to see Mont - St- Michel before heading for Paris . After much research we settled on Pontorson as the stopping point . Located approximately 7 km. away from Mont-St-Michel. It was the perfect way to avoid the crowds and overpriced hotels in Mont-St-Michel ,not to mention the dread of trucking heavy suitcases up steep cobbled roads . It was a great find .
This was the first time we have stayed in a B&B in France and it was very pleasant . We had only a 2 hour drive from Nantes and so arrived early . The room would not be ready until 5 p.m. However they were very accommodating . Parking was available on the street directly in front of the Villa . We stowed our luggage in the breakfast room and when we returned found the owner had delivered it to our room. He had advised us that we had plenty of time to drive to and see Mont-St- Michel during that afternoon . He also gave us very good advice on restaurants in the village . We did the civilized thing , had an excellent lunch , so good in fact we booked again for supper .and then drove to glorious Mont-St-Michel . We returned to a lovely room with a great view out the front of the town and a rear facing window over the garden . It was spacious ,very clean and quiet . The following day after a very nice breakfast we left early and on the owners advice visited the villages of Cancale , Dol-de-Bretagne,Dinon ,Dinard finishing in the largest village St Malo where he recommended we stop for lunch before returning . A big thank you to the owners of Villa Mons for making our stay so enjoyable .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
62
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok,
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Villa Mons is in a terrace house on the main street bang in the middle of Pontorson slightly adjacent to the Town Hall. However, the building must be very old due to the architecture and wooden beams but Tomoko and Damien have modernised their B&B tastefully with calm clean colours, probably reflecting Tomoko's Japanese personality. There is a nice quiet garden at the back but we didn't make it out there although another couple did have their breakfast outside on 1 morning. The B&B is less than 10 mins walk from the train station with shops and restaurants around. We chose to stay outside of Mont St Michel in order to enjoy some quiet non-busy touristy evenings yet just 10 Km away. Our room was on the top floor with high attic roof, spacious double bed, a sofar and a day bed as well as coffee making facilities, bottled water, table & chairs. WIndows on two sides as well as in the large bathroom with very nice toileteries. Breakfast was superb - quality & quantity. We were advised to visit Mont St Michel to see it lit up late at night - car parking was free after 7pm - and it was well worth going there the day we arrived. We returned for a fuller visit the following day and visited the Abbey and museums.
The only problem at Villa Mons was to do with the Wi-Fi, there was very strong signal but all 4 of us only had very intermittent and unstable connections on our various devices (laptops, iPhones, Samsung Nnotes). We were there for two nights and it was unpredictable when one/some of our devices would suddenly get connection - which marred an otherwise excellent stay.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms and we saw 3 - all were beautifully decorated with nice size bathrooms. I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangkok_10900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomoko-Damien, Propriétaire at Villa Mons, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you Sunettra for your kind and long review.
Sorry for the wifi which is now fixed (the wifi extender at the second floor was out of order and replaced).
See you perhaps one day in Bangkok !
Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at this lovely B & B. The owners, Damian and Tomoko, were more than helpful. Breakfast was fresh and abundant and the place was immaculate! In addition there was a really wonderful restaurant around the corner that treated us as family. Can't say enough about this B & B. Truly an awesome place!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor. The room was large and the Bathroom was large and equipped with everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmary42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Really nice place, super clean, well designed and very welcoming. Breakfast was amazing! I would avoid staying on the island at any cost, the places there are too old and over priced. Villa Mons is just perfect if you want to visit Mont-St-Michel, only few km drive away if you are with a car and also good bus connections exist if you need public transport.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

If you are thinking of visiting Mont St Michel and the neighbouring towns like Dinan, St Malo, Cancale, you can't go wrong staying in this humble abode. Let me start with the hosts, both Tomoko san and Damien are gracious and accommodating people. You will always feel welcome and never imposing. We stayed in a room for 3 and it was spacious, clean and very comfortable. It is exactly what you see in photos posted in their website.

The little touches were nice as well, like bathrobes, quality towels and toiletries. Breakfast was great in a very homely atmosphere. Most of all, you get great hospitality. On the 3rd day, we had to leave at 5.30am for a 7am train ride from Rennes (about an hour away). Tomoko san was so gracious that she packed breakfast for us and got up early to help see us off. If you are thinking of exploring the region, this is a B&B I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yeemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomoko-Damien, オーナー at Villa Mons, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for the very kind and warm comment, Chong-San!! We are very glad to know that you and your family could enjoy here. And we hope that we could see you again someday! Thank you again and have a lovely day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed here for a few days whilst on holiday from New Zealand & the experience was outstanding from beginning to end.
The hosts were really friendly & put up with my various requests with the utmost charm. They happily produced rail & ferry timetables which made the ongoing travelling very easy.
Room spacious clean & very comfortable. Breakfast really good & plentiful.
Pontorson is an interesting town very handy for all the local sites: Dinan St Malo & especially Le Mont St. Michel which is only 10 mins by car or a leisurely 40 minute cycle.
I would very happily stay again & totally recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomoko-Damien, Propriétaire at Villa Mons, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thanks Mister Poppe for that very kind review.

All the best,

Warm regards,

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

You will arrive to a very friendly welcome as you are presented with your own comfy slippers to help you relax and preserve the decor. We stayed in a lovely spacious double room, beautifully decorated with exposed oak beams. Tomoko was a perfect host, she couldn't do enough for you, very friendly and very gentle. I would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMathewKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomoko-Damien, Propriétaire at Villa Mons, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Once again : Happy birthday Mathew ! and thank you for that so cute comment.
Say hello to your wife who has a so gentle smile.

Tomoko & Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontorson
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Montgomery
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 4 in Pontorson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Relais du Roy
Le Relais du Roy
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De La Tour Brette
Hotel De La Tour Brette
#4 of 4 in Pontorson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mons

Property: Villa Mons
Address: 28 rue Saint Michel, 50170, Pontorson, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Pontorson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pontorson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House, Bed & Breakfast near from Mont Saint Michel (9km). In the historical quarter of the city of Pontorson. 4 big rooms with private bathroom. Garden and lounge. Private lock-up garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Mons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing