We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal Orchid brand sucks - terrible customer experience, food, service, GENDER BIAS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Orchid Central Kireeti
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hospet
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Royal Orchid brand sucks - terrible customer experience, food, service, GENDER BIAS”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We gave the Royal Orchid brand a second chance (Which most travellers don't) after a sub-standard experience at Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden Mysore.

The experience at Royal Orchid Central Kireeti is terrible. The hotel is clean and spacious however that is the bare-minimum standard that every hotel can provide these days. We recommend that if you are visiting Hampi - you are better off staying elsewhere for the same price.

On Day 1: When we reached there, as per standard practice, we expected valet parking. The security guard dismissed us saying that "the driver has gone off for lunch so you have to find a spot yourself and park your car". Then, when I walked up to the reception and asked the hostess to pull up my booking, she asked me to wait in the other corner of the lobby. After 20 mins of wait, the hostess walked up to us. Even though the booking was entirely done by me, the she refused to acknowledge my presence and only kept addressing my husband as if I was invisible. She asked him for proof of identification even though the booking was in my name. My husband pointed out that "look, my wife here has done the booking"; in spite of that she pretended that I was not even there. When I gave her my pan card identification, she stupidly returned it to my husband when I was present right there. Such a pathetic gender bias exhibited by a woman to another in this era was offensive and highly infuriating.

When we were escorted to our room, the hostess again addressed my husband "sir, please see how this works." "sir, this is how the room temperature can be adjusted", "sir, this is the number to dial for reception", etc.

The Royal Orchid mission boasts about excellence in service - the following should give you an idea of how long it takes to provide simple room service. 2 cups of coffee: 50 minutes; dinner for two: 1.5 hours; drinking water: 2 hrs. We had to call up the house-keeping/room service at least times to follow-up on our dinner order. After such a long wait, we were presented with the most terribly quality food - rice partially cooked; pasta with no salt -- looked like a 2 yr old could have done a better job making it. The last follow-up phone call for drinking water was made at 11:00 PM only to be told that the "people at the reception had failed to inform the people in housekeeping about the drinking water request". Such miserable people coordination.

On day 2, we had breakfast in the hotel only to wake up to the most terrible breakfast. Idlis were cold and stale. The hotel staff were mindlessly wandering around and chatting/flirting amongst each other with no attention being paid to the guests at the table. Every time we needed water refilled, we had to literally call out to the staff to get their attention. They would come and fill one glass and not the other before eagerly wandering away to the chatter/gossip.

During dinner time, we were literally warned by the hotel staff that it is better to order the "more expensive" buffet than order a la carte. For even something as basic as jeera rice would be upwards of 20 mins. We were stunned to also hear other guests shouting at waiters that they were taking so long to serve them - at one table, they had to wait for "50 mins to get a plate of french fries".

Despite a poor experience at Royal Orchid Brindavan, we decided to give the brand a second chance only to be terribly disappointed again. We will never recommend this brand to anyone again. Whatever maybe the grandiose mission of your brand, Mr. Chander Baljee, it will all come crashing down one day as the ground-reality of the experience and the lack of care and attention towards customers (esp. treating women with such disrespect) is appalling.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RupaBala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROC-Kireeti, General Manager at Royal Orchid Central Kireeti, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Madam,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Central Kireeti – Hospet !!!

We appreciate you taking some time off your schedule to identify the shortcomings. We note with regret the negative experience you had with our front desk staff and during your meal hours, please accept our sincere apology for all the inconvenience.

We will certainly work on the area of improvement and your valuable feedback has been addressed with concerned department managers and request you to treat this as an exception to our usual standards.

We are determined to make a positive impact the next time around, and we sincerely seek another opportunity to serve you.


Warm Regards,


Dhanraj Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    369
    123
    28
    16
See reviews for
322
218
32
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Pros -

* Value for money at Rs 4500 per night for double room.
* This hotel is perfect base in hospet area to explore stunning Hampi ruins ( approx 30 mins drive )
* Rooms are decently decorated & hotel atruim / lobby oozes out a 4 star / 5 star type of feel .
* Swimming pool is nice and clean but not heated.

Cons -

* Housekeeping is not doing job properly and room had spider webs behind the curtain area and dirt here and there . ( Housekeeping did clean it later on but they don't do it on their own ) . Tea bags were laid on the desk which also had dirt.

Average -

* Food quality is just OK. Nothing bad . Nothing exceptional either. You can manage.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROC-Kireeti, General Manager at Royal Orchid Central Kireeti, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Central Kireeti – Hospet!!!

We appreciate you taking some time off your schedule to identify the shortcomings of our hotel and we would like to express our sincerest apologies for the same.

Please be assured that all your comments have been duly noted and brought to the attention of concerning departments for review.

Once again, thank you for your review. We will look forward to host you again in future and assure you of the best of hospitality at all times.


Warm Regards,


Dhanraj Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Had dinner with family yesterday. As walk-in guests, we were given only buffet option...not sure why? Very little choices on buffet line when compared to other Orchid hotels. The buffet dishes were empty whenever we visited.....more than three instances. Though the staff tried their best, one would expect a hotel of such reputation be on top of their game to ensure their patrons get a memorable and pleasant dining experience.

Overall, it was a poor experience. Hope they take necessary corrective actions at the earliest.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shashi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROC-Kireeti, General Manager at Royal Orchid Central Kireeti, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Central Kireeti, Hospet!!!

We thank you for taking your valuable time to write about us. We will certainly take the positive note on the area of improvement.

We would be obliged if you will give us an opportunity to serve you again and witness the difference that your constructive feedback has made to us.


Warm Regards,


Dhanraj Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Overall a very nice place to stay, on the edge of the town - away from the noise of the town. The staff is courteous - you may have to be patient with them if you have specific request. The restaurant has limited but sufficient menu. The rooms are well-appointed, clean & comfortable. Hotel desk organized a full-day guide for us for Hampi at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: avoid 501, 601, and 701 - there is continous noise from the nearby water treatment plant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROC-Kireeti, General Manager at Royal Orchid Central Kireeti, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Central Kireeti – Hospet!!!

It is a pleasure to note that you have enjoyed the services and facilities during your recent stay at our hotel.

Once again, thank you for patronage. We look forward to serving you again and assure you of the very best in hospitality at all times.


Warm Regards


Dhanraj Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed there for 3 to 4 nights with my relatives (3 family) and enjoyed every bit of it. Very nice hotel, looks neat and clean, very cooperative staffs and an excellent food quality in the restaurant. I must admit that the open air restaurant,just in front, is just awesome.. superb ambiance and beautiful lighting. Just ideal for family holidays...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subrata102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROC-Kireeti, General Manager at Royal Orchid Central Kireeti, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Central Kireeti – Hospet !!!

The team at Royal Orchid Central Kireeti joins hands with me to thank you for choosing us. We are delighted to learn that your stay experience with us was cordial.

Once again, thank you for the review. We would love to welcome you again during your next visit to Hampi.


Warm Regards,


Dhanraj Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Hi,

I stayed in Royal Orchid Central Kireeti from 20th Nov to 24th Nov and all I can is excellent service on all fronts. We were not disappointed with of the amenities or services provided.

One suggestion is they could add more items to Indian Cuisine as the choices are limited.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool or paddy fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandu3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROC-Kireeti, General Manager at Royal Orchid Central Kireeti, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Central Kireeti – Hospet !!!

Thank you very much for the superb feedback. It is indeed a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our continuous effort to create a wonderful experience of warm hospitality and perfect service for all our valued guests. As mentioned by you, we will positively add more items to Indian Cuisine.

I look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to our hotel.


Warm Regards,


Dhanraj Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Beyond any doubt a very good place as far as price/quality goes, certainly for an out of the way provincial place like Hospet/Hampi and absolutely much better value than all the 'cottages' rented out in Hampi village proper. Located 300 meter from the railway station, an easy walk, but set back from the road and very quiet.

Reception staff are very nice and polite, the rooms are spacious and well-maintained. Special mention: the wifi-connection (paying) was super-fast when I was here. Don't know how that came to be in such a remote place but I got more bandwidth than in most 5* business hotels in metro cities.

The travel desk was also helpful and the rates for renting a car + driver are very reasonable and not the usual extortionate hotel tariff. The restaurant cooking staff also know their stuff. For me a simple test is to ask for an egg-white only low fat masala omelette for breakfast. You'd be amazed how many times they still serve you something with whole egg in it or that it drips with grease. Not here, preparation was perfect. When you ask for something that's not on the menu (I requested missi roti and also some sprouted mung beans with plain curd) they're eager to help out and prepare everything.

So far everything's perfect but there are some rather strange deficiencies that mainly have to do with service:

a) Although the hotel website proclaims that there are 3 restaurants, there really is only one and although the food is very tasty and they do vary the buffets, the emphasis is clearly on catering for tour groups. A la carte dining is available but when things are busy it can take a long time to get your food.
b) Sometimes the staff drop the ball; several times I requested some room service items (cans of diet coke, not exactly a complicated order) and had to call twice or even three times before they were delivered.
c) Waiters in the restaurant occasionally forget items or bring the wrong item when ordering a la carte. As I said, the emphasis lies on tour groups and serving larger groups very quickly via the ubiquitous buffets.

I think management should provide more guidance and follow up to junior serving staff and that should remedy the outstanding issues, which are minor things in the big scheme. But as far as the restaurants are concerned they should either operate the 3 mentioned on the website or modify the site because the present situation is just not honest and open toward the clients. This didn't bother us during our stay and as I said, I believe the hotel offers tremendous value for money and can certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenophon2NewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROC-Kireeti, General Manager at Royal Orchid Central Kireeti, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Central Kireeti – Hospet!!!

Thank you for recent stay at Royal Orchid Central Kireeti and for your valuable feedback. The concerns highlighted will be taken on top priority with an assurance of the improvement and initiative to a change for our valuable guests like you.

The information of the opening – shortly food and beverage outlets like Ginseng & Twilight are updated on our website long back and we will try to open on of the outlet very soon for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Orchid Central Kireeti and giving us yet another opportunity to meet your expectations.


Warm Regards,


Dhanraj Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hospet
0.8 mi away
Hotel Malligi
Hotel Malligi
#1 of 8 in Hospet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
6.2 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#3 of 6 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Hampi
Hyatt Place Hampi
#1 of 9 in Bellary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Priyadarshini Classic
6.1 mi away
Orange County Hampi
Orange County Hampi
#1 of 1 in Kamalapur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Central Kireeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Central Kireeti

Property: Royal Orchid Central Kireeti
Address: Station Road, Hospet 583239, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hospet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hospet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Orchid Central Kireeti 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Orchid Central Kireeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing