We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in hospet but not good”
Review of Hotel Malligi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Malligi
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hospet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Good location to spend a night if you're visiting Hampi. The Blue Mist restaurant had nice decorations, food at dinner was good and very cheap. Avoid eating at the Temptations (the one across the street)!!

Rooms- ask for the first floors!! We were "upgraded" to the suite on the 3rd floor, left the room for 15 mins and when we came back we realized monkeys got inside through the windows- that were unlocked! we needed to change 5 rooms on the same floor until we found one where the windows actually close well. Beware of monkeys- very cute but they're everywhere and will take anything in the room!! Rooms are basic, medium cleanliness. Had problems with hot water too. Breakfast- disaster. wasn't ready on time (important if you're leaving early for Hampi). Not much continental choice- cornflakes of 2 kinds was dry as if it was standing there for months and not edible. No cold milk. Bread toaster not working. Bad coffee. We left hungry and ate someplace else.

Room Tip: avoid 3rd floor because of monkeys and broken windows!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LianaBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Liana,

We thank you for choosing Malligi during your recent visit to Hospet.

At Malligi we continuously strive to offer our guest with exceptional services and products and at times things may go wrong as they sometimes do and we are sorry for the inconvenience caused due to the same.

The teak frames of the windows during winters and after continuous rain shrink and causes issues which is temporary. With the monkeys we are in there territory (Kishkinda - The legendary Monkey Kingdom) and it is against our culture to hurt them, most of the time they are for themselves and some time do their usual monkey business. Nevertheless necessary precautions and measure have always been taken to avoid confrontations.

Your feedback is appreciated as we are always looking for ways to better the quality of our service and standards.

We look forward to serving you again and we assure you the best of services as always.

With warm regards
Sundeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Malligi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

It was only a night stay but I like the hotel reason is value for money. Yes we can see monkey early morning in garden which is quite a fun. Good food and better hospitality. Little more improvement in professionalism is required but it is manageable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BalenduMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for choosing Malligi during your recent visit to Hospet.

We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, We at Malligi are committed to our Hospitality Promise and strive to maintain the highest standard of quality and service every day.

We look forward to serving you again and we assure you the best of services as always.

With warm regards,
Sundeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We had been to hospet to see hampi.Though we stayed in another resort we went to mallige several times.
It has 3 restaurants and the ambience is very good.The items in the menucard are very new and we tried many.All are tasty, especially we liked Italian pavbhaji and manchurian pizza.
We really didnot expect that standard restaurant in hospet.Because of holidays there was heavy rush and we had to wait.They are also short of manpower.They have to increase the seating capacity in blues restaurant.
We really enjoyed malliges food.



Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank ushadhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for experiencing our Restaurants during your recent visit to Hospet.

We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our Restaurants. Malligi offers the best of everything and we always strive to provide helpful and courteous services.

It is always a pleasure to serve and host people like you

With warm regards
Sundeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

As a big family we recently stayed in this Hotel from 13th October to 17th october.Hampi world heritage site is very close and we had a day's trip to Badami, Aihole and pattadakal.Rooms are clean and well maintained and service by the staff is prompt and friendly.The Travel desk is very efficient and they provided us with good guides for all our visits to the local monuments.Breakfast spread is good and it good cater to the various tastes.when we went on trip to Badmi they gave neatly packed Idli and Masala dosa as per our requirement.Chutney was packed in special ice boxes so that it does not get spoilt.we had twice lunch in their Restaurant the food was really good.The front office was friendly and very prompt.on the whole very good experience and strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nagarajvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi.

We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them. We always want our customers to leave happy and satisfied, thank you for letting us know how we did.

Thank you once again from all our dedicated team.

With warm regards
Sundeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have extended family in Hospet but for some undisclosed reasons we preferred to enjoy the hospitality of Mailge. We stayed there for 3 nights. The previous day of our arrival at Mailge a gentleman called up from the front desk and did inquire about our expected time of arrival. That kind of made me think good about my choice of hotel.However the rest of the events turned this feeling into a bitter one.Although the people at the reception are warm and the room neat and clean there is nothing beyond to look for in this place.We headed to a restaurant (one of the three which is a pure veg place.) only to be literally shooed away by the captain.He did not even have the courtesy to politely ask us to wait for at least 20 minutes of course the restaurant was crowded since it was a long weekend due to dasara. When we insisted on his behavior he did not even acknowledge instead yelled at us saying that he cant make false promises when he knows that he cant handle so many people :) .For the first time ever in our lives we had some captain in a place like Hospet talking to us so boorishly.We told him that he seems unfit for the job and walked to the next restaurant .

This next restaurant is another sample.After walking in since no one responded we waited for 5 mins and asked a server at a distance that we were five of us .He somehow reluctantly told us to sit at some place and we sat down waiting .After about 20 mins one person came and we ordered all the courses of meal together looking at the chaos.People started pouring in and some found places and some did not.Finally we did have a meal which came altogether and ate and slept .

The harassment started the next day where they serve the buffet complimentary breakfast for which you would have to show a slip that you get at the reception for the room number validity :).As soon as you walk in and you start the serving the person asks for the coupon.A kind of a cheap behavior. And mind you this is a highly racist place in the world.Foreigners are treated well and there demands of dosa and omlettes are met . When we place the same order the boys go and speak to the captain (who would be leaning besides the stack of plates as if he counts how many idlis or dosas would guests eat ),and comes back with an answer . "No sir no dosa available ".Before he does that he even tells us you need to pay for the dosa since it is not a part of buffet .Anyways this was day one we had better things planned did not want to drag the scene so just ate the worst spread of buffet and carried on .

Day 2 since we were during dasara we consoled ourselves that it would be perhaps for the crowd that we were seeing so many distinct unpleasantness.Our day 2 was Oct 15th a day after dasara and we walked in the same restaurant for morning breakfast .No improvement in the quality of service instead it looked like people ganged up against us and would treat us even more worse.I walked up to the captain and asked him if I can get a dosa after watching some other national have one .He politely said no madam sorry we had only 4 left and we gave away !.Now I took it up so seriously that I insisted if I can get an omlette and somehow he obliged and said yes but I had to pay .I agreed had one ,by the time I was having the last bite he came with a bill and I said add it up to the room charges.He asked me the room number for that .For a minute I did tell him to look up at the chit I had given him like a token for free food.Yet again thought waste of time talking to them and carried on giving him the room number .

BTW I had to mention there travel desk.The evening we landed we asked about the trails they had for site seeing and booked on for two days which we felt comfortable.They had promised us a Indigo and when we were about to start the trip the next morning we had a Toyota Liva !.We had no complaints started off the journey there and we saw Hampi and the Dam too ! .The driver was a very lazy person least enthusiastic and interested in showing around the place.We did miss some important places of interest.Somehow we did not bother much and since we had already gone around with him we checked if he can continue with us for day two and headed back to the room.

After the yet again bitter experience in the restaurant for breakfast on day two we came out and realised that we have now got the Indigo the promised vehicle as before and liva is gone.When we ask why this change they are trying to convince us that our journey would be comfortable in a Indigo rather than the Liva.I was like where was this concern missing the previous day ? The driver straight started heading towards Hampi.Thanks to my dad who asked him how far was Anigundi the schedule we had.The driver then asks us and changes the course of tour and takes us around the trail day 2 programmme.This driver was far better than the previous one active and well informed about the place .Somehow inspite of all the hurdles convinced that we had a nice time and came back.

Meanwhile that evening the previous days driver calls us asking for driver charges claiming that he has done a guides job also :) felt ridiculous since we had already paid him 200 for his day one worst service and told him that we will not be paying more.

We had no guts to walk in any of the restaurants to see the lousy faces who would make you feel as if you are in a refugee camp gobbling food well preserved for a rainy day.There room services are also pathetic.We ordered coffee a couple of times and just the word strong coffee fetched us an impossible drink to gulp down.

Day 3 the last day we were checking out we had no courage left to fight with so many idiots at the restaurant or even try the complimentary body bliss head massages.Felt so sheepish while paying the huge bill and carrying an equal or more amount of regret for having booked in a silly place like Malige.I think it would stop attaching itself any whims and fancies and just function as a budget hotel.That way there is no confusion for people like us who truely are in need of a vacation and would even pay for service.

Only solace rooms were cleaned everyday the old staff were much polite and knew the purpose of there job and well mannered .Wi fi complimentary was helpful.Pool is good and the instructor around is very warm and manages the whole thing very decently.

If given a chance I would not step into this place again .Hence will never recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivekhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi.

Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns in regards to your previous stay with us.

We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Reasons being this Dasara there was an unexpected surge of tourist inflow to this region. "Temptations" and "Blue Mist" being the most popular restaurants of Hospet town, we had Guests staying in other hotels, transit guests and the in-house Guests at these restaurants, We have lot of Bengali and Orissa staff it's also one time of the year where our senior staff get to travel for Dasara Holidays as that is their biggest festival of the year.
It was unfortunate that Orissa was hit with Phailin cyclone which created huge damage to the houses of our staff on humanitarian grounds we had to relieve more than 30percent of our other staff. nevertheless we managed hard to get few temporary staff to share the extra work wherein we failed to achieve our highest standard of quality and service.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

With warm personal Regards,
Sundeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

If in Hospet or Hampi , Malligi is without doubt the best choice. It works great both for business or fun trips. The ambience is really great. Good food . Absolutely co-operative staff right from the front desk to the restaurants. Choice of cuisines. The breakfast buffet has a really good spread and is ideal for business travellers who can do without much till their evening dinner

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reachmng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi.

We are very glad to note that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodation and services were up to your expectations.

We look forward to serving you again and we assure you the best of services as always.

With warm personal regards,
Sundeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I did not stay here, so I'm not sure how good the rooms are. We found this place when we were searching for a good restaurant to have dinner. First word that came to my mind when I saw this place and the ambiance of the restaurant was - "Expensive". But it was not!! There are 4 theme restaurants here. We chose the 'Waves' because it was open air. This place was crowded since it was the weekend. Even with less waiters, they managed to serve the food quickly. The restaurant was clean and neat. The food was very tasty and decently priced. Must try when you visit Hampi!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaheshBaliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for choosing Malligi during your recent visit to Hospet.

We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our Restaurants,

We look forward to delighting you again.

With warm personal regards,
Sundeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hospet
0.8 mi away
Royal Orchid Central Kireeti
6.1 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
205 reviews
3.2 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Hampi
Hyatt Place Hampi
#1 of 9 in Bellary
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Priyadarshini Classic
6.1 mi away
Shivavilas Palace, HAMPI (An ITC WelcomHeritage Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malligi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malligi

Address: 10/90 J.N. Road, Hospet 583201, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hospet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hospet
Price Range: £32 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malligi 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Malligi" is the first & the finest star hotel set amid 5 acres in the heart of Hospet town. Hotel Malligi is a perfect gateway to Hampi, the world's largest living heritage site and to explore Badami, Aihole, Pattadakal the splendors of North Karnataka. With more than 40 years in the trade of hospitality, Malligi offers the best of everything and Guests are pampered with exemplary personal services. Malligi has been awarded "The Certificate of Excellence " for the years 2012, 2013 and 2014 by Trip Advisor for providing great customer experiences and we have been Ranked No.1 on Tripadvisor & Holiday IQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Malligi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malligi Hotel Hospet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing